We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Ranked #83 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2012

very good hotel .. the staff spoke very good english and was very helpfull!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aggeliki I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,922)
There are newer reviews for Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,822 - 1,828 of 2,922 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2012

Good standard hotel in an excellent position. Marriott you always know what to expect and are seldom dissappointed,

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This is the perfect conference hotel, but I would not choose it as a place to spend my vacation. The rooms are large and comfortable. The heating/cooling system is not optimal, though. Pretty noisy ventilation and a draft if AC is on. Internet is far too expensive if not covered by the conference charge. Excellent breakfast and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mourspe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed here for two nights on a weekend trip. We were unsure which property to book (Renaissance near the train station or the Marriott further away). This was the first trip to this city for the 5 of us. I chose this hotel between the two based on reviews about the room size compared to the Renaissance, since I was using points price was not a factor (but I think both were similarly priced for the time we were there). I was also concerned about being too close to the red light district with children, which is where the Renaissance is located (near). Since the Marriott was still in the city and close to the museums, it appeared to be central enough and it was!

Parking at both hotel garages was still 45 euros per night! But you can park in one of the many Park & Rides that ring the city and pay 8 euros per day with transportation to/from the city center included--this is good for 4 days.

The room was indeed big enough, and we had a roll-away added, although the room could have easily fit another roll-away, they would not put two in :-( . It was definitely on par with a Marriott hotel room in the U.S. as far as room size, with nice amenities, and nice bathroom. No WI-fi in the room, but they do have a cable to connect to, which I prefer. Very comfortable beds, and very clean, of course. I always tip the maids, but they kept the room super clean even before tipping. Bathroom was a little on the small side, but very well kept and supplied. Coffee in the room, with a small stocked fridge too.

The club level continental breakfast is wonderful! The espresso / cappuccino / latte machine was humming. The staff was on top of the large amount of guests, and so the lounge was very clean. They offered the normal heated trays of scrambled / hard boiled eggs, meats, cheeses, good pastries - all the standard stuff - in a very comfortable lounge. Club level also offers an evening happy hour that includes soft drinks, beer, and wine, plus hors d' oeuvres that can fill you up. Desserts were very good too! And the fridge in the lounge always had a variety of waters, sodas, and juices available. Free WiFi was available in the lounge.

The only drawback of this hotel is it did not have a pool, but neither did the Renaissance, so it was a wash. This hotel has a huge gym (larger than any I've seen in europe) and sauna.

Hotel lobby was very pretty (modern decor). We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant, with the exception of the club lounge.

Our experience with the staff was very positive. Very polite & friendly! I recommend buying any sightseeing tickets with the concierge and avoid the ticket lines. Plus, you can charge them to your room!

This hotel, while not appearing to be in the center of town, was just fine, and close enough to all the museums, etc. we endeavored to see. The hotel is located in a very nice part of town, 15-20 minute walk to Anne Frank's house, 2 minute walk to the canal cruise dock, 5 minute walk to Rijksmuseum, 8 minute walk to the Van Goegh museum. The huge park is right behind the hotel, but it was a bit chilly to be going there. We walked everywhere, but could have also taken the trams, but the exercise and all the canal ambiance was great!

Would definitely stay here again, and highly recommend the room/club upgrade!

Room Tip: I like the main street view from a high floor, since you're reminded your in Europe even though...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank usaflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Pure american standard style hotel: large and comfortable rooms, obsequious but not so friendly service. You are in Amsterdam but this could have been everywhere in the word. I don't like the building design but the inside design is fine (but not breath taking). The location is convenient as close to museums and well deserved by public transportation, but not in core center town.
Overall it's ok except the prices. The room itself is expensive but let say the price is fair. But at that price you could expect some free services. And nothing is for free. Internet : 20€ a day, breakfeast : 26€! etc...

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voyageur072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

The location is superb, just across many restaurants and some tram stations.
Service , breakfast and the room are at the highest level.

Room Tip: High floor
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaarB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I've been lucky enough to stay at this Marriott when on business in Amsterdam. I've been waiting for a chance to bring my family and show them the hotel and city. As was the case in all of my previous visits, our stay was great and the city interesting/easy to get around in. First a little about the hotel:

Staff - first class, professional, and extremely helpful. Everyone speaks English (in fact everyone in the city does)

We had interconnecting rooms - 723/725. Large, spacious, clean, and a great view of the city. The only drawback was that there is no wireless internet but this was being installed during our stay and will be available next month.

The executive lounge - very nice. Complete breakfast buffet and snacks/drinks after 5:00. A great perk if you can get access.

The location - perfect. Across the street from one of the most active parts of the city and near the museums. Everything is walking distance (street car stop is nearby if you get tired).

We had hamburgers at the cafe downstairs and they were excellent. On another night, we had dinner at the steakhouse and it's the same caliber as a Ruth's Chris/Morton's.

Some travel tips:

For us, 2 days in the city was enough to see the major sites.

Rijksmuseum
Anne Frank House
Red Light District
Canal tour
Rembrandt House


The city is easy to get around in and you can walk to almost anything. I did stop at the "3 Bottles", a several hundred year old bar near Dam Square that was featured on Anthony Bourdain's "Layover" show about Amsterdam. Order a "Walk in the Woods" and take the first sip with your hands behind your back (see the show).

I've been to a lot of Marriotts and this is one of my favorites. I'll definitely come again.



****

Room Tip: Higher floors are better than lower
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank EworksMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#84 of 371 in Amsterdam
3,298 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#40 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,934 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#17 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 371 in Amsterdam
746 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $215 - $552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amsterdam Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by blossoming colourful tulips and peaceful canals, Netherland's capital charm continues at the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel. Guests will find comfort in knowing that our hotel has easy access to popular destinations for dining and entertainment as well as fashionable shopping. Just a few blocks aways, guests will also find the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amsterdam Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing