We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Ranked #88 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
High Point
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

I enjoyed my stay in the Amsterdam Marriott. It is super close to many downtown locations. It is easy to walk from the hotel to many shops, restaurants, museums, and the Heineken Experience. It is easy to take the train to Lelylaan from the Airport, and Tram 1 from Lelylann to the hotel. The hotel is clean and nice, and the staff is very helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,081
    1,136
    332
    102
    59
See reviews for
723
782
118
513
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

This was our second trip to Amsterdam after a cruise. The first time we stayed at the Renaissance which is nearer the Central Station and many "first time" activities. This time we wanted to do the museums, so opted to stay here. We liked the rooms better in this Marriott, and the food in the restaurant, though pricey (what isn't in Europe?) was excellent quality. The location was perfect for canal cruises and other transportation. People in the hotel were very helpful. We will stay here again...using "points".

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

Great location, easy walking distance to shops, museums, main sights etc...
I felt the Hotel was expensive, but you know what higher standard you get with a Marriott.
The room was lovely and a reasonable size, with the staff both efficient and friendly.
Disappointed that there was no free wi-fi in both room or Hotel lobby and no tea/coffee facilities in the room! With coffee for two costing I believe 12 Euros.
We didn't use the Hotel Breakfast at 26 Euros! Go over the road to Cafe B&B for 12 Euros.
I would stay there again but would recommend a higher floor overlooking the main street/canal.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and take a travel kettle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TimmyB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

It´s a great hotel with the best location in Amsterdam. Excellent service, rooms and buffet breakfast. But it has the most arrogant and unfriendly concierges I have ever met, at least the two I had to deal with in different ocasions, so I guess it´s a trend there. The doormen, maitre and waiters are very helpful though, so if you need help or advice, they´re the ones to go to.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GTAPOmpanoBeach_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

family freindly, great location, room & staff. we anjoyed our stay. expensive but well worth. we didn't take the breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sualit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
118 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

One of the nicest Marriott's in Europe. Stayed in one of the corner kings which was spacious and offered comfort and amenities in line with what you would expect from a good Marriott in the States. Club lounge is on the ground floor and open on weekends. Has a self service guest laundry (this is unusual in Europe) which also makes this a convenient place to stop in the middle of an extended European trip. The bus from the airport stops in front of the hotel. Do get an Amsterdam tourist card (sold at reception) as cost of attractions add up quickly.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

Located on a busy road at the southern end of the city this is standard Marriott fare.

Personally I don't like the location as I prefer being on the quiet canals and I don't like having to walk through the busy Leidseplein to get to the decent restaurants.

No free wifi and no tea and coffee making facilities in the room so not suited to the business traveller.

Radisson Blu is a better business hotel (free wifi and tea and coffee making facilities) in a nicer, more central location (Rusland).

However if you're here for a short weekend to visit the Van Gogh/Rijks Museum the location is perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for 8th floor or above to avoid traffic/streee
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazzles78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#92 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,081 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#42 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,722 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#60 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Marriott Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Address: Stadhouderskade 12, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amsterdam Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by blossoming colourful tulips and peaceful canals, Netherland's capital charm continues at the Amsterdam Marriott Hotel. Guests will find comfort in knowing that our hotel has easy access to popular destinations for dining and entertainment as well as fashionable shopping. Just a few blocks aways, guests will also find the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amsterdam Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing