We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Amsterdam to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Boelelaan 2, 1083 HJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #136 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed for 5 days while on business. First the good: Hotel is very close to the tram line as well as the metro/NL rail (Amsterdam RAI). No transfer needed from AMS . For other train travel its very easy to take the Metro to Amsterdam Amstel then a greater selection of trains to the rest of the country. Also the price was right. Staff was friendly, however, avoid the lobby early evening. This hotel seems to cater to groups… very large groups who take over the lobby and the elevator.
The Bad: the room was “ok”. I found it to be clean but I think that the ageing furniture and décor could be causing the appearance that the hotel/room was dirty. I did have trouble sleeping as i found the matress to be very very soft. One area that was very dirty was the windows (on the outside), as so much that it was hard to see out. The surrounding area is mostly business with little to no activity after 1700. As I was at the hotel for five nights I found that I always did not want to travel for dinner, after a few nights eating at the bar/restaurant I found the menu to be lacking (and expensive!). One night I ventured over to the Novotel next door for dinner prices were similar, much better service, and much larger selection. It also seemed that the Novotel had more activity going on.. the Holiday in was quite every night, once the groups were processed through the restaurant the place was dead.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ski58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear ski58,
Thank you for providing us with feedback on your stay.
Great to read you appreciated the location of the hotel and the connections to the public transportation system.
It is unfortunate that you felt there was nothing to do after 17:00. Within a 10 to 15 minute walk in the direction of RAI you reach a few streets with different types of restaurants and bars. Our reception can provide directions and tips.
Should you ever require any tips or assistance our reception can assist you.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Just had the most comfortable stay her with my 2 kids , my niece and my nephew. They all loved it. Rooms were very clean and beds were so comfy, I didn't want to leave. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Tram and train were very close by. Breakfast so yummy! I defo will book into this hotel again next time I'm in the Netherlands. Thanks, holiday inn. X

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Linda P,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.
How wonderful to read you and your family enjoyed your stay at the hotel and the services and facilities we provide.
We are looking forward to welcome you and your family back in the future.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 7 nights. Dining room, breakfast and dinner in the restaurant was of a good standard we encountered a serious problem in cleaning the room and the bathroom. Even after we asked several times the representative of the reception to take care the room and the bathroom cleaning nothing was done. Every evening when we returned from a trip we had to ask for clean towels. The bed sheets was not refreshed. except a careless bed arrangement, In the bathroom was unpleasant smell and the floor was dirty.

Room Tip: We stayed at the hotel for 7 nights. Dining room, breakfast and dinner in the restaurant was of a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barukh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Barukh H,
Thank you for providing us with feedback on your stay.
It is great to read you enjoyed the food our restaurant serves.
I do apologise about the inconvenience you experienced with the housekeeping service. This is ofcourse not our standard and rooms should be cleaned daily. Due to environmental concerns we do not provide new towels on a daily basis, except when this is requested or the towels are on the floor. This will definately be discussed with the housekeeping manager to make sure this will not happen again.
Thank you again for your feedback as this helps us to improve our service.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Slightly disappointing stay,
On arrival I was pleased to find we had been upgraded to an executive suite on one of the top floors.
On entering the spacious room I saw a large round bed, and excitedly started trying doors looking for another.
This however quickly descended into annoyance when I discovered rather than that being a twin room the upgrade meant we were in a double.
Eventually I managed to acquire a fold out bed from a member of staff, but that was just unnecessary hassle.
Luckily though they must have expected my frustration and annoyance, and kindly netted off the balcony so I couldn't swan dive off!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Pete H,
Thank you for providing us with feedback on your stay.
It is unfortunate to read that the complimentary upgrade was not successful. We always check if there are any specifics mentioned in a reservation regarding a request for a double or twin. Somehow this must have been overlooked. We hope that despite this inconvenience the remainder of your stay was positive.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Will come again just for the comfortable beds.
Easy access to trams which take you directly into Rembrandt square or central. Would recommend.
Food is nice and the selection is great. You can get a mixture of everything.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saharalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Saharalou,
Thank you for leaving your review on Tripadvisor.
It is great to read that you enjoyed our beds and the location of the hotel.
We are looking forward to welcome you again during a future stay in Amsterdam.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Our room is not for guest and it will be suitable for conference and seminar. We asked room change. I made a reservation almost two month ago, but this room is terrable and my wife hate it. We hope we get another room tomorrow.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anhyun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Anhyun K,
Thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor during your stay.
I do hope that your room move was successful and you our now enjoying your stay. Should there be anything else during your stay, please contact our Manager on Duty as he or she can assist you directly and solve any inconveniences.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Just back from a 3 night stay at the Holiday Inn. We had a brilliant time. The hotel was spotless and the staff were so friendly and helpful. We had such a laugh with Zia in the bar. Zia is a gentleman, was so welcoming and made us laugh so much. The food was excellent. There was a fantastic breakfast buffet and the chicken satay with peanut sauce was so yummy I had it for dinner on 2 of our nights there. Ok, the hotel is a little bit out but the tram station is just outside the hotel and that takes you into city centre in 15mins for 2.80 euros. The beds were so comfy and it was so peaceful at night as it was a bit out of city centre. The hair dyer is really good so you wont need to bring one. You need to bring hair conditioner thou as there are only shampoo and shower gel supplied. The reception staff and porter were really lovely. Aurthur in the restaurant was a lovely lovely man. You are very lucky to have such great staff in this hotel! Please say hi to Zia. We are missing him already. Would for definite stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunflower992014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear sunflower992014,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.
It is great to read you had such a wonderful time in Holiday Inn Amsterdam. We do take pride in our hotel team and we believe our team makes the difference. I will definately share your compliments with our team and will forward your kind hello to Zia.
We are looking forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Novotel Amsterdam City
#98 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,000 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Amsterdam

Address: De Boelelaan 2, 1083 HJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#94 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#101 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Holiday Inn Amsterdam located south of Amsterdam city centre is an ideal hotel for both business and leisure travellers. RAI train station is a 3-minute walk offering a direct 10-minute service to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol. From RAI station you can also easily catch a metro or tram to Amsterdam city centre, both only a 15-minute ride.RAI Convention centre, at 600 meters, is within walking distance of the hotel. Holiday Inn Amsterdam is also close to all main offices on the Zuid-As , such as Ernst & Young, ING, ABN Amro, Baker & McKenzie, Akzo Nobel, Accenture and the World Trade Centre.The Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum are only a short tram ride away. Alternatively you might fancy a relaxing 30-minute walk through the popular neighbourhood Oud-Zuid to reach Amsterdam s renowned museum district. You could also opt for renting a bike at reception to discover the city as a true local. All our 264 spacious rooms have been recently renovated, in addition to our comfortable and stylish lobby. Holiday Inn Amsterdam features 13 multifunctional meeting rooms, a mini-gym and a cosy bar & restaurant. WIFI Internet access is available free of charge in all public areas and rooms from the 9th 15th floor. Please note that this is a full non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#