We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for business travel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
Ranked #131 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good for business travel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Good for business travel but no free wi-fi, overall though room and service was good and nice food. I have used it more than once whilst travelling to Amsterdam on business. I would use again. Maybe not great if you are travelling for pleasure as not close to the fun side of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnMcCarthy1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear JohnMcCarthy1979,
Thank you for leaving a review regarding your stay on Tripadvisor.
It is great to read that you enjoyed your business trip to our property.
Perhaps during a next visit our Reception or Porter can show you some attractions close by as the area does offer some entertainment.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    511
    254
    84
    40
See reviews for
210
283
42
386
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uithoorn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I work as a hostess and i had booked a fee rooms for my customers. Everything was completed in this hotel. Clean rooms, excellent food and mots of all; service with a smile! I would like to recommend this hotel to others Also with a smile ;)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dakotauithoorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear dakotauithoorn,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.
Great to read that you recommend the hotel to your customers and that you appreciate the services and facilities we provide.
We are looking forward to your next review on our site or on Tripadvisor.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I stayed here on business while at a conference at the nearby Rei Centre.Not the most attractive location - its the business district - but a tram for the city centre stops right outside the hotel and its only 15 mins by taxi from Schipol .(Plus 2 mins from a train station which also goes to Schipol)

The room was spacious and clean with twin beds ,each much larger than a normal single . Internet had to be paid for but was stable and worked for 2 devices. This is a no frills hotel - no shower cap , bath gel etc and soap dispensers are fixed to the wall .(The one for the bath and shower was particularly inconvenient - too low for the shower and too far away if sitting in the bath!). Fortunately I had brought my own soap!

Restaurant was quite good -I ate dinner there twice. For breakfast I had the room service continental breakfast which was generous and came promptly.

There was no hotel information in the room though or room service menu apart from the card to hang on the door for breakfast.

So no real complaints (apart from the soap dispenser) , but if you want extras and luxury touches then this isnt the place!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emerillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear emerillon,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
It is great to read that you enjoyed your business trip to Amsterdam. It is true that our hotel is located near the business district, but as you pointed out so well the public transportation is close by and takes you swiftly into the city centre. Your compliments regarding the restaurant and the room service are also highly appreciated.
Thank you for providing us with feedback regarding the soap dispenser in the bathroom. We will definately take your advise in consideration.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vila Velha, ES
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Location is great near the subway and tram station, employees gentles and great rooms!! I had a very nice stay. The only problem is that as a bit far from the downtown and the Schiphol Airport but thats okay because its really near the station

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GiulliaArriva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Giullia M,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay.
Your compliments regarding the hotel team and the rooms are highly appreciated.
It is correct that we are not located at the airport. By train it is 2 stops and by taxi about 10 minutes. The city centre is accessible by tram and within 15 minutes you reach the centre.
Perhaps during a future stay our team can give you some advise about what the area has to offer.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Very nice hotel, only to bad there isn't a swimming pool and it isn't located in the centre of Amsterdam. The fitness room was very nice. The rooms where very clean and there was a big bathroom with a bath

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Maren S,
Thank you for leaving a review regarding your stay and your compliments on the room and fitness centre. The fitness centre is recently renovated so it is great to read that you like the space.
We are sorry to read that you were disappointed that there is no pool and that the property is not located in the centre. On our website we do not mention that we have a pool or that we are located in the city centre. The city centre is only 15 minutes from the hotel by tram.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I stay at the hotel once each year and hire the meeting rooms. Maurice manages them and is extremely helpful and responds immediately to any requests. Anne Meils in the front office is also very good as well. I can recommend the Hotel for any business event and it is located close to the RAI so if you are doing an exhibition there it is very convenient.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Neil W,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.
Your compliments regarding Maurice and Anne will definately be shared with them and we are looking forward to your next stay.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

As an IHG Platinum member, I always stay in an IHG hotel. I have stayed in this hotel many times, all of which were for business trips. The hotel location is very good- just a short walk from RAI station. The rooms are clean and the hotel is quiet - giving an excellent sleep environment. So if you are going in for a quick night's sleep with a business meeting in the morning, this is a reasonable choice.
But if you have to stay for an extended period, then it is not recommended to stay here. Try the Crowne Plaza nearby in Zuid if you want to stay with IHG. Or just check in to the Novotel hotel across the road from Holiday Inn.
The service in this hotel is extremely poor - the staff has never learnt how to smile. If you come in before 2pm, the rooms are never ready. They don't even have a lounge for their own members to wait. The bar is ok to sit, have coffee (excellent coffee) and catch up on mails. But you have to keep reminding them for the room or else it takes hours for them to get the room ready. I have had this experience several times.
The worst experience was today - when I had a late baggage arriving for me. I had informed the hotel that the baggage will be coming in. I came back from work, asked for the baggage and was informed that it hasnt arrived. I went to the airport to collect my bags. After a lot of investigation, it turned out that the bag was lying in the hotel.
When I came back and asked to see the duty manager, she promptly came up and started defending the hotel's actions saying that there was a slight communication error. A 'slight' error that had made me go all the way to the airport, spend over an hour complaining to KLM staff, and come back all the way to the hotel. The manner in which the duty manager responded to my complain made me realise that this is probably the worst Holiday Inn in the world in terms of customer service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anirvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear anirvans,
Thank you for providing us with feedback regarding your stay.
First of all I would like to apologise for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I do not recognize the experience you had in the team we work with, but this will definately be looked into. Depending on the availability an early arrival should always be possible and if you are waiting for a room then a message should be send to you when the room is ready.
Your feedback regarding the duty manager will also be looked into as the duty manager is there to assist you with any issues.
Despite the inconveniences we appreciate your compliments regarding the location of our hotel, the bedding and the bar. We hope to be your host again in the future and if there are any issues please contact the duty manager.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Amsterdam City
Novotel Amsterdam City
#93 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,269 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
1.0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#110 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 943 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Amsterdam

Property: Holiday Inn Amsterdam
Address: De Boelelaan 2, 1083 HJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#94 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#101 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Holiday Inn Amsterdam located south of Amsterdam city centre is an ideal hotel for both business and leisure travellers. RAI train station is a 3-minute walk offering a direct 10-minute service to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol. From RAI station you can also easily catch a metro or tram to Amsterdam city centre, both only a 15-minute ride.RAI Convention centre, at 600 meters, is within walking distance of the hotel. Holiday Inn Amsterdam is also close to all main offices on the Zuid-As , such as Ernst & Young, ING, ABN Amro, Baker & McKenzie, Akzo Nobel, Accenture and the World Trade Centre.The Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum are only a short tram ride away. Alternatively you might fancy a relaxing 30-minute walk through the popular neighbourhood Oud-Zuid to reach Amsterdam s renowned museum district. You could also opt for renting a bike at reception to discover the city as a true local. All our 264 spacious rooms have been recently renovated, in addition to our comfortable and stylish lobby. Holiday Inn Amsterdam features 13 multifunctional meeting rooms, a mini-gym and a cosy bar & restaurant. WIFI Internet access is available free of charge in all public areas and rooms from the 9th 15th floor. Please note that this is a full non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing