We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very nice hotel !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
Ranked #131 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Very nice hotel !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I just spent one night at Holiday Inn Amsterdam whilst on a business trip. The hotel was well located for the RAI Exhibition centre and it was easy to visit Amsterdam centre by Tram (€2.80). My room was clean and tidy with lots of piping hot water and the bed extremely comfortable. Also, very importantly the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient, which is all ways nice when you're travelling. I'd have no hesitation in returning to this hotel and would recommend to others visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnAmsterdam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Gary C,
Thank you for taking the time writing a review on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Amsterdam.
It is great receiving your positive feedback on the rooms, our hotelteam and the location. We are looking forward to your next review on Tripadvisor or the IHG website.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    508
    253
    84
    40
See reviews for
209
282
42
384
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I just returned from a business/leisure trip to Amsterdam and loved this Hotel. Granted I was only there to sleep and eat in the morning. The room has obviously recently been refreshed and renovated and the rooms are spacious. The shower, temperature and water temperature was all one of the best I've experienced. The only critical feedback is the TV is too small! The Hotel is a 2 minute walk to the 4 Tram and a 5 minute walk to the Train. The city center is only 15 minutes away, while the airport is just 10. If you can't stay in downtown Amsterdam, or prefer to stay right outside the city, the Holiday Inn is the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbabyBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear jbabyBoston,
Thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor about your stay.
We indeed refurbish some of our rooms and it is great to read that you had a positive experience. The comments regarding the TV will be noted. Perhaps this could be a change in the future.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

From the outset the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. Hotel has all the amenities I need, is well maintained (everything in the room does work) and clean. Conveniently situated near the RAI convention centre with easy access by train or taxi to the airport. A very good first impression

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erhard W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Erhard W W,
Thank you for leaving your compliments regarding the location and our hotelteam on Tripadvisor.
We really appreciate it and we would like to be your host again in the future.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Great Hotel!
Lovely people, clean and comfortable rooms, VERY comfortable bed! fresh and variegated breakfast. About 15 min. from Schiphol airport. 1 min. from a tram station, 25 min. by tram to the center.
too bad the WIFI isn't free..
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichalMais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear MichalMais,
Thank you for taking the time writing a review on Tripadvisor.
Your comments regarding our team and the property will be shared within the hotel.
Our internet service is something we are constantly monitoring and improving. Perhaps in the future this service will be included.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The Holiday Inn Rai, is situated very conveniently if you have a congress or event at the congress center Rai Amsterdam. Great access by train, metro, tram. Friendly staff and a decent restaurant onsite make this a convenient location.

The rooms are spacious with good beds. The carpets have been there for a while but look clean.

But they don't offer free Internet, and if you want it, it is pricey, I ended up buying a prepay sim card which was significantly cheaper. In this day an age I don't think a business hotel should charge for internet at all.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbertVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear RobbertVV,
We appreciate that you left a review on Tripadvisor regarding your stay.
The Holiday Inn Amsterdam is indeed convienently located near the RAI and public transportation.
With regards to the internet, I would like to inform you that we continue to evaluate it and make improvements where possible.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during a short city break and couldn't fault the hotel or staff. The hotel is a good distance from the centre of Amsterdam but the RAI train and tram stations where less than 500 metres from the hotel. There were four trains an hour from Schiphol airport, (you need coins for the machine, otherwise it means queuing at the ticket booth) and its a ten minute two stop journey. We arrived very early at the hotel and was going to leave our luggage to check in later but the staff checked to see if our room was ready and allowed us to check in early, even swapping rooms round to find one more suitable for our needs. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of food. Staff very cheerful and helpful with ideas of places to visit etc.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsCheggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear MrsCheggy,
Thank you for leaving such a nice review on Tripadvisor.
It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and that we could accommodate you with an early arrival. We always do our best to provide a room upon an early arrival.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Nice accommodations. Rooms very clean and well kept. I would recommend the Holiday Amsterdam to anyone. The restaurant was very nice, somewhat a limited menu but I found that it is not uncommon in the Netherlands.


  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Lynn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Lynn E ,
Thank you very much for your nice comments and compliments about our hotel and rooms.
We look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel and to receiving your next review on TripAdvisor or on our own review page of our hotel.
Kind regards,
Pascal Aartman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Amsterdam City
Novotel Amsterdam City
#95 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,261 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
1.0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#109 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Amsterdam

Property: Holiday Inn Amsterdam
Address: De Boelelaan 2, 1083 HJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#94 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#101 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Holiday Inn Amsterdam located south of Amsterdam city centre is an ideal hotel for both business and leisure travellers. RAI train station is a 3-minute walk offering a direct 10-minute service to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol. From RAI station you can also easily catch a metro or tram to Amsterdam city centre, both only a 15-minute ride.RAI Convention centre, at 600 meters, is within walking distance of the hotel. Holiday Inn Amsterdam is also close to all main offices on the Zuid-As , such as Ernst & Young, ING, ABN Amro, Baker & McKenzie, Akzo Nobel, Accenture and the World Trade Centre.The Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum are only a short tram ride away. Alternatively you might fancy a relaxing 30-minute walk through the popular neighbourhood Oud-Zuid to reach Amsterdam s renowned museum district. You could also opt for renting a bike at reception to discover the city as a true local. All our 264 spacious rooms have been recently renovated, in addition to our comfortable and stylish lobby. Holiday Inn Amsterdam features 13 multifunctional meeting rooms, a mini-gym and a cosy bar & restaurant. WIFI Internet access is available free of charge in all public areas and rooms from the 9th 15th floor. Please note that this is a full non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing