We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average holiday inn, in business area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
Ranked #144 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
maastricht
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“average holiday inn, in business area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

this holiday inn offers the usual comforts of this chain, very predictably. the rooms are somewhat basic, I've certainly been in better Holiday Inns, although I was in some sort of VIP room. staff was efficient and friendly. breakfast was good. I was there for 2 days as a conference delegate in the nearby (7 min walking) RAI conference center. for this purpose the hotel is ideally situated, but for everything else the location is not great. it's quite far away from the interesting sights in Amsterdam. recommended for business travel only.

Room Tip: highest floor has nice views of amsterdam, if you're facing the right way
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExploringScientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear frankv_belgium,
Thank you very much for having taken the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay during the conference.
We would welcome the opportunity to be your hosts once more in the future.
Kind regards, Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    581
    283
    89
    52
See reviews for
241
320
48
433
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel many times whilst attending trade shows at the RAI, most recently last month

It's easy and cheap to get from Schipol by train and only a 3 minute walk from the station to the hotel (use the side entrance to avoid walking all the way round outside the hotel)

Reception is efficient and friendly, the rooms are always clean and comfortable although lacking in free bottled water.

Bar staff are excellent, and have been there for years. Bar food is pretty good too.

I no longer bother with breakfast as the service is poor and slow with a general lack of staff. Self service coffee doesn't work as the machines are too few and very slow. A few years ago it was a lot better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TandSReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear TandSReading,
Thank you for having taking the time to write your comments and post them on Tripadvisor, your feedback is extremely important to us.
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our breakfast service. We recently have implemented a number of changes in our continuous aim to improve both service and quality of our breakfast. Your comments will be discussed with our Managers as a part of this process.
Kind regards, Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We're just getting off of Viking River cruises in Amsterdam and couldn't get to our hotel museum quarter for the night we arrived. I went on Priceline looking for a hotel in the museum quarter and was recommended for the Holiday Inn Amsterdam. The price seemed reasonable and the hotel looked nice and it was supposedly in the museum quarter. After €37 cab ride from the central station area we arrived in a business park at this hotel. There was nothing in the neighborhood except businesses. It was a 45 minute tram ride it back into central Amsterdam and or taxi the next day to our hotel and the museum quarter was €17. The hotel itself is nice but the location sucks for tourists. I will not trust Priceline again when making a booking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimboflyguy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Jimboflyguy69,
Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay, we are very thankful for your review.
We are sorry to read that the location didn't meet your expectations and we would like to apologize for that. The Holiday Inn Amsterdam is indeed located in the business area close to Amsterdam RAI and the RAI train station.
We do hope that you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards, Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
378 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel is by the RAI Convention Centre about 20 minutes by tram from the centre of the city. It is very much aimed at short stay business people. Check-in was efficient if impersonal (no recognition of being member of their Rewards Club unlike in most of their hotels). The rooms are a good size with fairly comfortable beds - but the pillows were solid and lumpy - again unlike at most IHG hotels which usually have a selection of pillows. As a result sleep was very disturbed. The bathroom has an over-bath shower with poor pressure water such that I had to be very close to the wall to get enough water to wash the soap off. There is a wall mounted dispenser of shower gel/shampoo with no conditioner though this was OK for me. The towels were rather old and thin. Breakfast was very poor. The staffing levels were very low and everything including obtaining coffee was self-service. There were queues to enter as there was often nobody at the entrance to check people into the room. There was one coffee machine providing one cup at a time. Large queues built up as this was extraordinarily slow leading to many bad tempered people trying to get away quickly. For a hotel which is expensive it was frustrating to find that the internet cost 22 euros a day. even though the website said that rooms have international power outlets, there were only mainland European sockets in my room and I had to obtain an old adapter with a 25 Euro deposit. Overall this was one of the worst Holiday Inns I have been in (and I have stayed in a lot). It is time they stop relying on captive corporate clients and offer better service and reasonably priced (hopefully free like many hotels now) internet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Will S,
Thank you very much for your feedback with regards to your recent stay in our hotel. Feedback like this gives us the possibility to adjust our services and products where needed.
We are sorry for the inconvenience you suffered during your stay but we hope you will give us another opportunity during your next stay to show you that this was an exception to the rule.
Kind regards,
Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Visit to Amsterdam for Conference at the RAI conference center. Hotel has perfect location near conference center, bus, train and tram.
Staff helpful in finding appropriate room in fully booked hotel and obtaining restaurant reservation. Good restaurant in hotel (try the sate).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VandenBergh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear VandenBergh2,
Thank you very much for having taken the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you had such a pleasant stay.
Kind regards,
Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Our family of four stayed here in a recent visit to Amsterdam. The hotel is a bit of a way from the center, but is easy to get to using the trams, so that was not a big problem.

The room was quite comfortable with decent amenities. I do find the lack of free wifi a bit of an annoyance, though to be fair, they do make it clear that this is the case, so there were no surprises.

It is mostly a business hotel and likely caters to the RAI exhibition centre. There did not seem to be an exhibition while we were there, and hence we were able to get the rooms at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Bubingo,
Great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your trip to Amsterdam and the stay in the Holiday Inn Amsterdam.
We are looking forward to be your host again during a next trip.
Kind regards,
Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Very cosy and comfortable place to crash down, peaceful room with all amenities, bar inside the room, Probably only disadvantage I thought was that its farthest from the Amsterdam Centraal train station, so travel time is around 30-35 mins to station, If you want to catch a train and flight soon, I would not suggest this, but anyhow tram connectivity is quite good.
You are assured to be getting the quality when you stay in Holiday Inn
Two thumbs up !!

Room Tip: This hotel is towards the end of city centre (end of town) Pick a High floor room for a nice panoram...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anujit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Anujit,
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.
If I may make a suggestion: please contact our reception when you are planning your next trip. Next to the hotel there is a trainstation with takes you directly to the airport (only 2 stops).
Kind regards,
Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Amsterdam City
Novotel Amsterdam City
#119 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,632 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Amsterdam - Arena Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#103 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,642 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
1.6 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#43 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Amsterdam

Property: Holiday Inn Amsterdam
Address: De Boelelaan 2, 1083 HJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#93 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#99 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Amsterdam located south of Amsterdam city centre is an ideal hotel for both business and leisure travellers. RAI train station is a 3-minute walk offering a direct 10-minute service to Schiphol Amsterdam Airport. From RAI station you can also easily catch a metro or tram to Amsterdam city centre, both only a 15-minute ride. RAI Convention centre, at 600 meters, is within walking distance of the hotel. Holiday Inn Amsterdam is also close to all main offices on the Zuid-As and the World Trade Centre. The Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum are only a short tram ride away. Alternatively you might fancy a relaxing 30-minute walk through the popular neighbourhood Oud-Zuid to reach Amsterdam s renowned museum district or a walk trough leafy Amstelpark just across the street. You could also opt for renting a bike at reception to discover the city as a true local. All our 264 spacious rooms have been recently renovated, in addition to our comfortable and stylish Open Lobby. Holiday Inn Amsterdam features 11 multifunctional meeting rooms, a fully equipped fitness center and the largest and liveliest Open Lobby of Europe. Providing you with loads of space to work, eat & drink, relax and socialize. Get comfortably installed and treat yourself on a delicious STARBUCKS coffee from our To Go Café. WIFI Internet access is available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. Please note that this is a full non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing