We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If in Amsterdam definately consider staying here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
Ranked #144 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“If in Amsterdam definately consider staying here”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I recently visited Amsterdam with a group of friends, and some of us shared a room. Any concerns we had were quickly dispelled when we arrived. The room was booked through a discount site, therefore were excellent value. However, the prices of the rooms advertised at the desk were way beyond what any of us would have paid. All of thought that the €83 per room per night paid was good value, as it also included a breakfast. This would have cost Euros 22.50 if paying seperately. The rooms were clean, a good size for sharing, comfortable, quiet and had reasonable bathrooms though not many little extras. We didn't bother with the TV or internet as this was expensive. We had to pay a returnable deposit to use an international plug. The hotel is situated at the very end of the tram No4 line which goes directly into the centre of Amsterdam. You can purchase a 24 hour cards for €7.50. The railway station that will take you straight to the airport is just across the road and costs 2.50 each way. Coming to the hotel get off at RAI. Everyone was helpful and spoke English. I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blossomcat41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    587
    285
    91
    52
See reviews for
242
322
48
441
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

There ain't much in the vicinity of this hotel but a major highway and a minor railway station, both connecting to Schiphol Airport. None of the charming restaurants or pubs of Amsterdam is nearby. But that is not my most critical point, the bed is uncomfortably hard and in my case was slightly tilted to the outside. As my primary reason to stay in a hotel is to sleep, I am not tempted to return. The bathroom feels cold with creamy colored tiles, and the bath has in so many American hotels is not made to lie in, but to stand. Water quantity is the shower is minimal at around 8 am.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DutchLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear DutchLion,

Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. I'm deeply sorry your stay was negatively affected by the hotel location, uncomfortable bed and condition of the bathroom. I have noted your comments and I will make sure that this will be looked into to improve the quality and service that we offer to all of our guests.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
162 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for business purposes for two nights on a bed and breakfast basis. Although it was not in my agreed rate I was offered a Priority Club floor and free internet access as well as a special discount while checking in thanks to my membership. The front office employees as well as the concierge were very respectful and helpful both at check-in and check-out. The room was quiet and the bed was comfortable; the bathroom was of quality design, there was a coffee/tea maker in the room but no tea or coffee were served free. The major bottleneck in the room was that all the windows were locked and you could not get any fresh air into the room. The top floors (including the priority club floor) are the best if you want to see the city lights otherwise the area is mostly business district and there are no places of interest to see. The distance to the city centre is however not far away, taxi fare costs between 10-15 Euros depending on where you get in/out.
Breakfast served was of high quality and included both cold and hot buffet and a good choice of varieties; the area is however not very large, you might need to share your table with others if you arrive there at the morning rush hour. I did not have to use/evaluate other amenities of the hotel.

Room Tip: 14th floor is the priority club floor and 15th and 16th are executive floors; these floors are ideal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMO_Istanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bassoues, France
Level Contributor
177 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I was visiting Amsterdam with a group of friends. We had booked the hotel through a discount site. The actual prices of the rooms shown at the desk were way beyond what I would have paid. However, I think we got really good value for money at €83 per night. The rooms were clean,comfortable, quiet and had adequate bathrooms though not many little extras. The television worked on BBC1 and 2 with many other international channels. I was very disappointed to find that one had to pay an exorbitant price for the internet of €8.50 per hour so did not bother. The bar was good and the breakfast excellent, though again had it not been included, at €22.50, I would not have bothered. The staff were kind thoughtful and very willing to help. The hotel is situated at the end of the tram No4 line and goes directly into the centre of Amsterdam, a €7.50 card that you buy on the tram lasts for 24 hours, it is also a 2 minute walk to the station that takes you into the airport (get off at RAI for the hotel) we took a taxi which was a big mistake as that cost us €30. Everyone speaks really good English.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
130 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

If you need to go to an event at the RAI conference centre, you're jetting in from Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, don't mind paying (and paying way too much) for WiFi, you can do no better than staying at this overpriced, somewhat tired and dark hotel. This hotel, which could clearly do with a spruce-up in the general areas and in the rooms, is with the Novotel across the road, the main convention hotel for the RAI. Not as modern and colourful as its neighbour, the dark-brown Inn has gone past its sell by date. Welcome at reception was friendly and efficient, the room (508) was OK but with two large beds too small to navigate around. Too much furniture we couldn't do anything with. The bathroom was OK too, but what hotel still has toilet bowls with continental shelfs? Flushing and showering wasn't exactly made a pleasure by the low water pressure. One good thing: a mini bar. Too many hotels do without them these days. How about a nice light decor for the bar and two friendly and efficient barmen in it? What really stunned us: 45 euros for 3 days WiFi where most hotels offer it for free. Mediocre hotel, great location for RAI, expensive for rooms and WiFi and drab styling. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaxiFaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Highly recommended hotel for short stay passengers as its proximity to the airport is an added bonus. The friendly staff makes your stay very pleasant and the rooms are clean and very spacious and clean shower/bathroom. I had a very pleasant stay and since I missed my breakfast as I overslept (forgot to ask for a wake-up call), they kindly packed me some to take with me to the airport. The staff were all very accommodating and helpful from the chauffeur, to the cleaners and the receptionists.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is exactly what you expect from a holiday inn: good accessibility, comfortable rooms, wifi etc but it is grossly overpriced when they quote rates of between €150 and €250 a night. My advice would be to book a more upmarket hotel in the centre of town in advance and benefit from pre pay rates (if you can). If you are stuck the holiday inn will definitely provide you with a comfortable nights sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallymcchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Amsterdam City
Novotel Amsterdam City
#120 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,660 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Amsterdam - Arena Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#100 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
1.6 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#40 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Amsterdam

Property: Holiday Inn Amsterdam
Address: De Boelelaan 2, 1083 HJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#93 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#99 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Amsterdam located south of Amsterdam city centre is an ideal hotel for both business and leisure travellers. RAI train station is a 3-minute walk offering a direct 10-minute service to Schiphol Amsterdam Airport. From RAI station you can also easily catch a metro or tram to Amsterdam city centre, both only a 15-minute ride. RAI Convention centre, at 600 meters, is within walking distance of the hotel. Holiday Inn Amsterdam is also close to all main offices on the Zuid-As and the World Trade Centre. The Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum are only a short tram ride away. Alternatively you might fancy a relaxing 30-minute walk through the popular neighbourhood Oud-Zuid to reach Amsterdam s renowned museum district or a walk trough leafy Amstelpark just across the street. You could also opt for renting a bike at reception to discover the city as a true local. All our 264 spacious rooms have been recently renovated, in addition to our comfortable and stylish Open Lobby. Holiday Inn Amsterdam features 11 multifunctional meeting rooms, a fully equipped fitness center and the largest and liveliest Open Lobby of Europe. Providing you with loads of space to work, eat & drink, relax and socialize. Get comfortably installed and treat yourself on a delicious STARBUCKS coffee from our To Go Café. WIFI Internet access is available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. Please note that this is a full non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing