We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old hat” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
Ranked #141 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Old hat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel every year for the last 8 years with my company. It seems not improved over that time. The hotel is old and dated and in desperate need of an upgrade in nearly all aspects. Last stay, I had a corner room... the internet worked... IF I stood in the doorway of the room. The rooms are reasonable, but no more than that. The bathrooms are tired and often more than a little grotty.
However there are good points. The staff are excellent and truly make this hotel. From reception, Ingrid and team, who greet me personally every time. To the staff in the bar, Zia, Leo and Pedrag for example. These are the reasons that I love this place. They make this hotel in every way. Their personalities and the way they look after me/us is wonderful. Thank you to them for making my stay always a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s4stacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    571
    277
    89
    48
See reviews for
230
317
47
426
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed 2 nights to check out Amsterdam, did not want to spent money much on accomodation and choose this hotel.
location is perfect to reach downtown by foot. Bus station right in front of the hotel.
check in was quick and without problems in 5 minutes done. Room was clean but small, we were little dissappointed by the roomsize but spent anyway only the night there. The staff was very friendly and we did not have any problem at all. service was good and the breakfast was delicious. Many choices and good quality food.
The hotel is very close to a huge carpark if you come by car its very convenient. I Can really recommend this hotel for its location and service,
price is as well top and just for sleeping enough.
Check out was like check in, easy and quick.
If amsterdam, than go to this hotel if the budget is limited.
We saw many international traveller in the hotel and knew we have choosen the right place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ling x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for BBWF 2012 in October. Hotel is very nice, and for everyone working at the fairground the best possible location (300m walking distance), with tram station almost in front of the door (50 m). I loved great breakfasts.

Only downsize is the ridiculous price of the internet connection! Also, after paying 22 eur per day (what I pay for month of my fiber service at home), I would expect it to at least work fast. But upload speed was below 100KB/s (and this is on wired connection in the room). Surprisingly wifi worked better - up to 500 KB/s uplink, and downstream above 1MB...

Rooms are average - old... with stupid LCD TVs that can be seen only if you stand in front of them (if you watch it from bed, almost no colors are seen due to cheap model with limited view angle of screen).

Personnel is friendly and professional.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JakaMele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersel
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed with our family (2 grown ups + 2 children) in the Holiday Inn Amsterdam. Location ok / friendly people / good food (breakfast / dinner).
When we arrived at our room we were however struck by a terrible stench. Possibly someone had vomitted in the room. Windows were open (and couldn't be closed - we had to ask someone from housekeeping to close them as it became to cold) and even then there was this nasty smell. Perhaps bad luck?
There were 2 beds (one for the children and one for the grown ups). These were a bit to small however.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Luc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Luc W,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. I am so glad you liked the friendliness of our staff and the great location of our property. Please allow me to apologize for the unusual smell in your room and any inconvenience the windows may have caused you. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you give us a chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Holiday Inn is at the end of the Amsterdam RAI line. Access the train at the main central train station. Once at the hotel, take the #4 tram into the city for easy access. Basic Holiday Inn hotel in excellent condition, with nice restaurant and bar. Andjelina at the front desk was very helpful, as were all of the staff. Get a 24 hour train pass from the concierge. Enjoy good rates while having access to all that Amsterdam has to offer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoWithGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
152 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Good location if you're in town for a show at the RAI Center. Only a 5 minute walk, close to train from the schipol, close to tram # 4 to downtown. Small rooms, but adequate. No amenities in the bathroom, housekeeping was hit or miss.

I stayed there for Hortifair three times and during each of the three stays I had to stop at the front desk every day to remove breakfast charges and mini bar charges. I did not eat breakfast there but my colleagues did, when I went in to sit with them, I was automatically charged for breakfast. Every time I put water in the refrigerator or took it out, it registered as a mini bar charge.

One morning I did ask if I could just have coffee. The breakfast staff said sure, $21.00 Euros. But when I had a coffee in the bar after breakfast was over, the coffee was $3.00 Euros.

Beware, check your bill there. Upgrade because you're a card holder, forget about it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siam-Orchids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Executive room was small but well laid out, good internet connections, not free but charge does cover 2 devices. Ample choice in continental breakfast and no waiting even at "busy" times. Front desk staff were always very pleasant and helpful. The hotel is 5 minutes walk to the RAI train station, which takes 10 minutes to Schiphol: very convenient. Dinner in the hotel was OK, no more, but at least not overpriced. I was at the Novotel across the street for a meeting, internet connection there was much more erratic, and my colleague who stayed there confirmed that was an issue. Its a 10 minute walk to the RAI center, wide choice of restaurants on the block immediately past the RAI. Indonesian looked excellent but was full when we stopped by, we went to Pakistan curry house which was still very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Amsterdam City
Novotel Amsterdam City
#117 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,576 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Amsterdam - Arena Towers
0.7 mi away
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#101 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Amsterdam

Property: Holiday Inn Amsterdam
Address: De Boelelaan 2, 1083 HJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#86 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#93 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#99 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Holiday Inn Amsterdam located south of Amsterdam city centre is an ideal hotel for both business and leisure travellers. RAI train station is a 3-minute walk offering a direct 10-minute service to Amsterdam Airport Schiphol. From RAI station you can also easily catch a metro or tram to Amsterdam city centre, both only a 15-minute ride.RAI Convention centre, at 600 meters, is within walking distance of the hotel. Holiday Inn Amsterdam is also close to all main offices on the Zuid-As , such as Ernst & Young, ING, ABN Amro, Baker & McKenzie, Akzo Nobel, Accenture and the World Trade Centre.The Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum are only a short tram ride away. Alternatively you might fancy a relaxing 30-minute walk through the popular neighbourhood Oud-Zuid to reach Amsterdam s renowned museum district. You could also opt for renting a bike at reception to discover the city as a true local. All our 264 spacious rooms have been recently renovated, in addition to our comfortable and stylish lobby. Holiday Inn Amsterdam features 13 multifunctional meeting rooms, a mini-gym and a cosy bar & restaurant. WIFI Internet access is available free of charge in all public areas and rooms from the 9th 15th floor. Please note that this is a full non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing