We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location + outstanding service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
Ranked #154 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Special thanks to Arthur at the hotel restaurant for his outstanding service. You really make a difference with the fabulous customer service attitude.

Excellent location walking distance from the convention center.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Epeniche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

791 - 797 of 1,533 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2011

Being platinum card members, we had requested for an early check-in and high floor both of which was not given. We were made to wait for an hour and then tried to be put in an average room on a low floor; which we refused after looking around it.After another wait at the reception we were finally served by a senior staff who was helpful and apologetic about the misunderstanding and gave us a much better room on the 10th floor(priority floor no11 had no family suites) and even send us an apology note along with a plate of fruits and wine(we returned the wine as we do not partake alcohol); which I thought was considerate.
Good thing was the hotel's proximity to the RAI station both for travel to the airport and the city by train and metro respectively. Also the tram station stop is much closer ,for city travel.

Room Tip: Get hold of some senior staff member to check-in!
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
Thank alzoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrAartman, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2011

Dear Alzoy,

Thank you very much for your review. At Holiday Inn Amsterdam we really appreciate your feedback so we can improve and maximize our services towards our guests.

Your comment with regards to our front office staff will be taken up directly with the responsible person. As you will be aware as a frequent traveller we strive to educate and develop new staff for the future. As we are proud to do so, this also brings along that at certain moments they do not react upon situations like our senior staff would do.

It is good to hear that our senoir staff in the end gave you the service as expected.
They always strive to offer genuine personal attention to all their guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in the Holiday Inn Amsterdam on your next visit to Amsterdam!

With kind regards

Pascal Aartman
Holiday Inn Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Have been staying a lot in this hotyel for the last 8 months. Never been disappointed. Great Service. Excellent bar and bar staff.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yves_marien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrAartman, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2011

Dear yves_marien,

Thank you very much for your kind review. At Holiday Inn Amsterdam we really appreciate your feedback so we can improve and maximize our services towards our guests.
It is a pleasure to hear you enjoy the service of our staff and in particular our barteam.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in the Holiday Inn Amsterdam on your next visit to Amsterdam!

With kind regards,

Pascal Aartman
Holiday Inn Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

This hotel is situated just outside of the main city so does not suffer from late night revellers passing by your window.

The bar staff (Zia, Leo and Pedrag) are allways on hand to assist and although the menu is limited they and the chefs (Maurice and Arjan) are prepared to cook you something off menu so long as you give them some forward notice.

The reception staff are also friendly and always on hand to help with any questions.

The rooms are comfortable and of a great size, especially when compared to other hotels in Amsterdam. Beds are very comfortable and a range of pillows are available to suit.

Located within a 5 minute walk of the number 4 tram that will take you straight to central station (and all the stops in between) and also within 5 minutes from the Station Rai where there are regular train links to Schiphol Airport and with regular metro's to the city.

Within 15 minutes walk are some good restaurants, including an Indonesian, Thai, Japanese and Italian.

The Rai exhibition station is within 10 minutes walk.

Whether for business or pleasure I would recommend this hotel for a pleasant and hassle free stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NadsF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrAartman, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2011

Dear NadsF,

Thank you very much for your kind review. At Holiday Inn Amsterdam we really appreciate your feedback so we can improve and maximize our services towards our guests.
It is a pleasure to hear you enjoy the service of our staff and the quality of our rooms.

Although we offer a variety of dishes in our restaurant this indeed won't stop us from suggestions from our guests and serve this when possible.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in the Holiday Inn Amsterdam on your next visit to Amsterdam!

With kind regards,

Pascal Aartman
Holiday Inn Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Firstly a huge than you to Zia and his team in the bar for their wonderful service - When ever in the Dam this is my first choice, the staff making this seem like a Crown Plaza rather than an HI..(Use Interconti at all levels).. Within a few steps you have access to train, trams, metro and buses making this a perfect base. Far enough from the busy center to sleep but close enough to get to all the attractions you might want to visit. If on a budget train is only 3 euros from Schiphol and you will be in the hotel in 15 minutes. Pick up a 24/48/72 hour public transport ticket and you get everywhere for so little (metro/bus/tram), A final note again - if Zia is in the bar you cannot miss one of his Martini jiggers... l

Room Tip: all room are good, even choose your pillows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank king_Shoreham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrAartman, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2011

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. At Holiday Inn Amsterdam we really appreciate your feedback so we can improve and maximize our services towards our guests.
It is a pleasure to hear you enjoy the service of our staff and in particular our bar team.

Indeed they always strive to offer genuine personal attention to all our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in the Holiday Inn Amsterdam on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Pascal Aartman
General Manager
Holiday Inn Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights with my family (includes small kids). The location is close to the tram - 1 minute walk - and within 15 minutes you're in dam square. The receptionists were not so helpful and didn't give the feeling they'll do what they can to help only what they have to... I asked if they could call and reserve a taxi for the airport but because I gave them the number and didn't use their taxi station they refused...good point for kids - a big park is near by with lots of playgrounds and minigolf. Bad point for kids - restaurants are 15 minutes away.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drorcohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Beware!
Don't mind the Hotels polite response, that will be added on as a routine.
We fell for the " if its so far away, its probably good" drill. It's not! the hotel is simply awful.
Our room had miny queen size beds (they measured them, and claimed theyre standard...) the service was below any standard; rude and impolite. For 3 consecutive days we asked for our bathroom to be fixed, and got various responses all rude. Finaly Miriam when confronted said, "we fixed what we can...", which was little.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank israelifamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrAartman, General Manager at Holiday Inn Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2011

Dear Israelifamily,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience with the Holiday Inn Amsterdam. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience the hotel staff services may have caused you.

I can assure you that the size of our queen beds are the regular size used in all hotels.
As we discussed already in person during your stay you made a reservation for a family room with a maximum of two children sharing the room with their parents. Upon arrival we noticed that you were together with three children. Although it is against the policies we have made special arrangement to make it possible for you to stay with all three children in one room.
Myriam as you mentioned have made a lot of efforts to comfort your stay in every possible way. We regret the fact that even this was not up to your expectations taking in consideration that we made very special arrangements to host the complete family in the same room.

It is our goal to consistently provide great service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

With kind regards

Pascal Aartman
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Amsterdam City
Novotel Amsterdam City
#121 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,928 reviews
4.4 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#39 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,494 reviews
3.9 mi away
XO Hotels Park West
XO Hotels Park West
#65 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,025 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Amsterdam

Address: De Boelelaan 2, 1083 HJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#87 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#99 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $114 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Amsterdam located south of Amsterdam city centre is an ideal hotel for both business and leisure travellers. RAI train station is a 3-minute walk offering a direct 10-minute service to Schiphol Amsterdam Airport. From RAI station you can also easily catch a metro or tram to Amsterdam city centre, both only a 15-minute ride. RAI Convention centre, at 600 meters, is within walking distance of the hotel. Holiday Inn Amsterdam is also close to all main offices on the Zuid-As and the World Trade Centre. The Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum are only a short tram ride away. Alternatively you might fancy a relaxing 30-minute walk through the popular neighbourhood Oud-Zuid to reach Amsterdam s renowned museum district or a walk trough leafy Amstelpark just across the street. You could also opt for renting a bike at reception to discover the city as a true local. All our 264 spacious rooms have been recently renovated, in addition to our comfortable and stylish Open Lobby. Holiday Inn Amsterdam features 11 multifunctional meeting rooms, a fully equipped fitness center and the largest and liveliest Open Lobby of Europe. Providing you with loads of space to work, eat & drink, relax and socialize. Get comfortably installed and treat yourself on a delicious STARBUCKS coffee from our To Go Café. WIFI Internet access is available free of charge throughout the entire hotel. Please note that this is a full non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing