We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #20 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

We had a short two day trip - our fist - to Amsterdam. Chose this hotel because of location and reasonable price. One block from central train station made it great to get to and to get back to the airport. Staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. Room was available even though we arrived early in the morning. Great assistance with sightseeing recommendations (the two day I Amsterdam pass was well worth it) and also restaurant recommendations. Room was clean and the bed was comfortable. We didn't hear any noise from the street. Have stayed in more luxurious rooms but this had all we needed and more. We loved Amsterdam and plan to return. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fjbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,719
    1,024
    159
    45
    24
See reviews for
336
1,296
186
534
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

We travelled in a group of 20 and despite that checking in was fast and efficient. I like the newly refurbishment of the hotel, lounge with fire place and library. The rooms are newly renovated with latest amenities, and modern design with comfort in mind. Location is central; easy assess to shops nearby. Would stay there again if in Amsterdam

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vivi003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
184 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

I am a regular traveller and stay in Crowne Plazas regularly. By being a regular and loyal traveller, I get good service at most Crowne Plazas - upgraded rooms etc. At the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam, after its renovation (which made this hotel a no-go zone for ages), I get the level of service that would not get me reaching for my wallet.
Nothing bad, just nothing good - no welcome back, no friendly chat, slow service and quite honestly the rooms are average - poor for a renovation.
I stay here on loyalty points, if I am paying I stay at the Radisson Blu - now they understand service.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hawkwind1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

I agonised re writing this - but I would want to know, so I am sharing it with you.

The hotel since my last visit is great - lots of money has been spent, the decor is fantastic - really really good, full marks.
Some of the staff are somewhere between rude and arrogant.. Stupid things at first - the shower in the room did not work, I reported it, I got the feeling I wasn't being listened to, and sure enough it still wasn't working on the 2nd moning. my key would not work on the 2nd day... no sorry for the fact I had walked all the way to the room and had to queue for it to be reset, before walking all the way back again .
A query why my Platinum membership did not get me inot the Priority Lounge (which it does it all other Crowne Plaza hotels) again no sorry - just "we don't do that." - this despite I bought the hotel 3 colleagues ..... they wanted to go to the Hilton.
Then the real cracker..... over dinner a mouse ran across the restaurant counter, where breakfast was served the previous morning. Guests screamed - the waiter just flicked it off the polished granite with his cloth - then carried on as if nothing had happened. In 30 years of business travel, some of it in very dodgy hotels I have never seen such a thing - the odd cockroach yes - but never mice in the restaurant. - I complained to reception (instantly deciding that this was not where I wanted to eat) - no sorry, more of a "that sort of thing happens all the time, do you really want to ttalk to the manager about this?" response! The manager arrived in my room and said much the same sort of thing - blaming the tunnels that are being built for the metro - he did apologise once - BUT this is not some 1* back street hotel or hostel, this is at least a 4, maybe a 5 star luxury hotel just refitted . I do not pay their rates to have mice running around the public areas of the restaurant - and if they are there I expect serious compensation - not a muttered "sorry they are everywhere". This is not good enough - and such a shame given the money that has been spent on the new fittings - mind you if they can not be bothered to look after them (faulty shower above) it is all a bit academic, as it will soon be shabby and not nice - a bit like some of the staff

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank awoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel property. We liked the hotel furnishings as much was recently upgraded. The staff was friendly and helpful for us. Location is nice in being close to Central Station and Dam Square. Because I am a Platinum member with ICH, we received a voucher for complimentary breakfast at the hotel's restaurant and a discounted price for others dining. We did eat there because of that-be aware that full price for buffet breakfast is 30 euros. It was a nice buffet.
The only complaint I have on the property is that it is noisy. We were on the first floor facing the street and heard trams and traffic all night-keeping us awake.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srjuris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

This is a hotel that ticks all the boxes. If you are going to stay in Amsterdam ... stay here!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank sclarkdundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

I was at the Crown Plaza city center for two nights; as the name says, its location is right in the city center between central station and dam square on Nwz. Voorburgwal behind the damrak.

The check in was fast and corteus; as we were a party of four, we got two rooms, one on the first floor and another one on the second floor.

We booked a superior room not on the club floor; the rooms were beautifully and modernly decorated and they were a good size, very comfortable bed, working desk, coffee and tea making facilities, large lcd TV (with hdmi connection and audio in to plug your ipod, lan) tea table and chairs. Wifi connection is quite expensive, but there is the business center with two computers connected to the internet and it's free to use. The bathroom had a tub with shower and was not that big. The heated floor was a nice touch.

The room on the first floor was overlooking the back courtyard of the hotel, so not much of a view, the second floor room instead was at the corner of the building and had a view over Nwz. Voorburgwal. Although it was overlooking the street, no noise was heard.

The lobby lounge has a modern fireplace and it's a nice place to relax or read a book.

We also used the complimentary sauna at the fitness center that is open 24h and it was great when the outside temperature was near to zero.

Breakfast was quite expensive at 30 Euros; there is a café right on the opposite side of the hotel where you can get a full american breakfast with coffee and fresh orange juice for half the price.

We asked the concierge for a restaurant suggestion, but he just handed us the card of a very touristic Dutch restaurant close to the hotel; but as it was not our first time in A'dam, we asked for something not touristic, so he didn't help that much.

For a contemporary decor, location in the middle of the action, but away from the hustle and bustle, safe area (security is also granted by the elevators that need the room key to work) the Crown Plaza is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadster76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,278 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#18 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 959 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 541 reviews
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#22 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing