We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location/excellent hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Ranked #23 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great location/excellent hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2010

Highly recommend this hotel. Perfect location in the heart of Amsterdam. Rooms and service were excellent. Recommend purchasing tourist passes from concierge as you avoid lineups at attractions with these pre-purchased passes at no extra cost. ie Van Gogh museum etc

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,815
    1,067
    165
    47
    25
See reviews for
358
1,366
194
562
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

We enjoyed the short weekend stay and service was exceptional. Room was huge with 2 double beds and all facilities including LCD TV, fridge, etc. Food was very good and location was ideal for getting into the tram, taking the train or going on a ferry. City centre was right next door which gave us the opportunity even go on night walk from the hotel. Overall, a memorable stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kozhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

We spent Saturday night at the Crowne Plaza with two other couples. The hotel is furnished to a very high standard with excellent facilities. The location couldn't be better. Just a few minutes from the train station and very central to all attractions. We love the Jordaan area and found it the best place to eat and drink.

This is our second visit to Amsterdam. We love the atmosphere and the friendly dutch people and will definitely return again, hopefuly

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexLove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
112 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2010

If you want location, its right in downtown, but very quiet. Rooms are big. Windows dont open, but it didn't seem to bother. Shower is great. Staff is very helpful. Good value. Good food in room service. Dont bother getting a taxi or tram from Central station. Its just 5 min walking or less. Good internet in the TV system for a reasonable price considering the convinience. You dont have to carry a notebook or go downstairs

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto_MJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2010

Overall nice clean hotel in a great location. You are close to some great places to eat and some great places to drink. Also close to many different coffee houses.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feef0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2010

When me and my wife reached Amsterdam we booked at the Renaissance Hotel which is the next bulding accross crown plaza. I was given reward points for an OFFER price only to find out on that day that my reward points wasn't enough and got rejected from the offer given which was only notified on the day of arrival! this was a huge bump and i was furious because its a weekend so alot of the rooms were booked or have to pay the price which was 250 euros! My good willing clever wife said we should for another hotel because she said its ridiculous! which i completely agreed on! we went hotel hunting and went in to CROWN PLAZA hotel! we looked at the loby have this feel of comfort welcoming immidiately staff approached us if we needed some assistance! thumbs up for me! we enquired for a room and given a good price especially for the week in AMSTERDAM we thought about it for a few minutes comparing other hotels! We took Crown Plaza on! is that feeling you get yes i will come back to this hotel again. the room was great clean stylish and the bed was a very comfortable bed! everything was good and we had a blast! check it out and you will know what i mean! And the Location IS 5 MINUTES FROM EVERYWHERE!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b00b00hunns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2010

Lovely clean hotel within walking distance of most of the main sites. You can walk to the station in 5 minutes. The staff were friendly and helpful. We didn't eat in the hotel because we wanted to try local restaurants and there are loads in the area. I would definitely recommend it and stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#68 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#92 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,081 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#51 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam

Property: Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton De Witt is the first Kimpton hotel outside the Americas, a true debut in Europe. The hotel is situated in the heart of Amsterdam's vibrant city centre and near Amsterdam’s Centraal station. Set within three original Renaissance-era buildings, it features 274 guest rooms, including 15 signature rooms and suites, and eight meeting rooms. Wyers Bar & Restaurant, run by Executive Chef SammyD, offers American comfort food with a Dutch twist. In line with Kimpton’s innovative and playful approach to design, the hotel features a “house within a hotel” – a four-storey ‘Little House’ which was once the childhood home of Dutch playwright, P.C. Hooft and dates back to the 1500s. Other distinctive features include a flower shop within the hotel and a Miss Louisa Coffee & Beignets walk-up window for locals to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing