We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Ranked #25 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ashford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

This hotel has/still being renovated until september 2009. The new rooms are amazing, lovely purples and dark wood. The beds are massive and so amazingly comfortable! You could probably fit about 5 people in the bed its that big!

It was our one year anniversay so i asked beforehand to have white wine, chocolates and a bowl of fruit in the room when we arrived. It was a lovely touch and it wasnt too expensive.

amazing location, just 5 mins walk from the station. and a few mins walk to where the canal boat trips start.

We went on the candlelight canal cruise, this was amazing and we would definatly do this again when we go back!

There are lots of shops/restuarants nearby so its a very good place to stay but its quiet at night which is good. About 10 mins walk to the green light district, with coffee shops and bars. 15 mins walk to the red light district!

We loved Amsterdam and would definatly go back and would recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkLondon2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,815
    1,067
    166
    47
    25
See reviews for
359
1,366
194
562
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2009

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza for two nights. Checked-in on Friday and leaving on a Sunday.

The location is pretty good, almost across the street from the main station and at a walkable distance to the city main attractions.
I did not see any construction works going on. The only things closed for renovation were one of the restaurant and the fitness area.
My room was on the 5th floor with a view on the back of the hotel. It was quiet, a good size and newly refurbished. The bathroom was big and looked nice. LCD TV and mini-bar (extra charges) available as well as a kettle and complimentary coffee and tea.

Wireless internet is at a pricey €20 for 24hrs! If you can, bring your own network cable and you will enjoy free wired Internet access.

Staff was pretty friendly and polite.

I will most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enelym1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2009

The hotel is indeed renovating, as some people have already mentioned, but it's looking stunning!!!
I always use this hotel for my clients and they love it. All of them talk about the amazing beds. Haven't used it myself yet, but soon will HAVE to try. It's now completely modern and up-to-date with cool inroom technology (even USB port for the TV).
The receptionist told me that the rooms are nearly finished now and that in September their new restaurant, suitably named New Dorrius will be opened (the old one was called Dorrius). Can't wait to eat there as their previous restaurant was great too. Always ate there with clients, because they serve the Dutch cuisine. I'm proud of my herritage.
I use the hotel for my family as well, as it's in the city centre so my family can easily go shopping and I can easily visit them.
Keep up the good work guys! Looking forward to seeing the hotel being finished.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pienadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN, USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

Nice rooms, 5 minute walk from Centraal train station and lots of fun shops nearby, but the construction in the hotel was a turn off. The pool is closed (permanently), the lobby was moved to the side and you had to go down in one elevator before you could go up in a different one! I would give this a try again but not for a few months - I'm sure the hotel will be fabulous when the workers are finished.

The hotel restaurant was VERY expesive - I'd recommend going out to one of the corner bakeries for breakfast instead of spending 25 Euro per person in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krista F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbage
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

Having booked a supposed 4 star hotel around the corner with expedia that turned out to be glorified knocking shop we happened across the Crown Plaza trying to save our 10 wedding anniversary trip. Very modern, clean and exactly the quality required for a 4 star hotel. The restaurant served an excellent evening meal that was worth the 65 quid for 2 price ticket in a traditional style restaurant setting that contrasts beautifully with the rest of the modern hotel. Avoid the over priced breakfast however which although nice was not worth 50 Euro. Once completed this hotel will be a stunningly good location for a central Amsterdam business or leisure trip and my wife and I would definitely return. The pictures on the website accurately show what you will get when you stay here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrandMrsRoper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerphilly
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

We Booked this hotel using my husbands priority points for a weekend break, as he is platinum, we were upgraded to the Executive club lounge, which is rare when redeeming points,.
The rooms have been recently refurbished to a high standard, the club lounge had plenty of complimentary refreshments and a fab terrace overlooking the city.
Reception and the concierge were very helpful and polite, booking tickets for the museums for us so we didn;t have to queue..i strongly recommend this as the queue's are huge.
Great location to walk to all the sights like the Dam square, Red light District, and shopping areas.
a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suziesuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2009

Beautiful hotel across the street from Amsterdam Centraal Station and within walking distance to all of the best sites. The room was beautifully decorated, very clean and bright. The bed was super comfortable and luxurious. The bathroom was very nice as well. We ate in one of the restaurants- the more casual one and it was excellent as well.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NT17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#31 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#69 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#92 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,038 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam

Property: Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing