We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay at the Crowne Plaza City Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Ranked #24 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay at the Crowne Plaza City Centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

I stayed at the Crown Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for 3 days during July 2014. The hotel is situated in central amsterdam next to Dam Square, and also a walking distance from Amsterdam Centraal Station. So it has good transport connectivity to Schipol Airport. The hotel is an upmarket hotel, very good service from the reception team and checkin was quite quick since we have prepaid with our booking. Rooms are excellent clean, and I loved the small menthol spray and balm they place on your pillow to help you sleep better, and I believe it works. Since this was a business trip our accomodation was paid for by our company, but from checking their prices it is quite a pricey Hotel if you are visiting for pleasure/holiday. I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone looking to spend a few days in Amsterdam. They also have a wonderful restaurant on the ground floor 'The New Dorrius' excellent food.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rmwanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your recent 3-day city trip at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention the hotel is located within walking distance of the Central Railway station as well as within reach of many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day in Amsterdam!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,815
    1,067
    165
    47
    25
See reviews for
358
1,366
194
562
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

The hotel is perfectly located near the train station (no noise, it's not that near) in a quiet accessible (by cars, taxies) street next to it,

The room is medium in size, queen size bed with no special features (although nothing bad to say too:-)), but it is comfortable and homey enough.

I am giving the hotel 4/5, because of wifi, other than that, it's one of the best hotels to stay in Amsterdam.

Cons:
* I could not work with iBahn Wifi (I was in 5th floor, maybe it makes a difference?)
* Not a well stacked mini bar, it could be more interesting.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed the room and especially the location of the hotel. I agree with you in saying that this is very convenient as it is located close to the Central Railway station and within reach of many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

However I am sorry to read your comment concerning the WiFi. Please do not hesitate to contact our Manager on Duty during any of your future stays and it will be their pleasure to assist you with a stable connection.

Thank you for sharing your feedback concerning the minibar. I am happy to confirm that we are currently busy adding items to our mini bar assortment we hope that these new items satisfy your needs.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience with us as this allows us to monitor and improve our services continually.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza City Center for three nights before our river cruise. The location is perfect with a very easy, short walk from the train station. We booked a Club King room and was very pleased with the room. The bed was very comfortable, the room was very clean and very quite at night being on the side of the hotel. We had a view of the side street below.

Breakfast, which was included with the Club room was a very good full buffet including eggs to order served in the hotel restaurant. The Club lounge was very nice with beer, wine and snacks always available. In the early evening, very good appetizers are served. One night we skipped dinner because we enjoyed the appetizers so much.

Service was excellent and the hotel staff very friendly. Dam Square is very close by and the tram stop is right outside the hotel. Many of the canal tour boats are within a two block walk. Behind the hotel is a wonderful pedestrian shopping street with many eating options, tourist shops and a very expansive wine and liquor store.

Our river cruise boat was located just a short five minute cab ride from the hotel. This is truly an excellent Amsterdam hotel.

Room Tip: The Club rooms are worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you have chosen the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for your 3-night stay in Amsterdam prior to your river cruise.

Furthermore it is great to read that you enjoyed the breakfast that comes as one of the benefits when booking a Club Room. It is also a pleasure to read that you comment the service as being excellent and complementing the staff as being very friendly. Thank you for sharing this with us as it is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the services they do.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is a great choice. It is located very near to Centraal Station and Dam square. Always clean, comfortable beds and modern decor. Amsterdam is horrendously expensive these days and this hotel is no exception - but this place is better than the other big name hotels on or around dam square which are all pretty tired, are equally pricey and definitely resting on their laurels these days.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bizzle101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam CIty Centre. I agree with you in saying that the hotel is a great choice when it comes to the location as it is within walking distance of the Central Railway station and within reach of many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

My family stayed here for a week during my dad's conference for work. The room was clean and comfortable though a little tight (two had a king sized bed and two slept on a sofabed).

We had access to the club lounge, which unfortunately had limited snacks. The snacks that were available were quite tasty though. While we were there, the coffee machine also broke a few times.

They have a good hot breakfast and friendly staff. The location is also within a few minutes walk of the train station and very central to the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cybil Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you have chosen to stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre during a conference. Furthermore it is great to read that you booked one of our Club Rooms that come with Club Lounge access. This is the perfect place to relax and unwind after a busy day in town. Club guests enjoy browsing complimentary newspapers over breakfast, and return to use complimentary high speed internet and snacks and drinks until 11 pm.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
112 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel staff were super friendly. Gave us free wifi on arrival for our stay. Excellent location in the middle of Amsterdam city. Room was very nice, good sound proofing and insulation. Two of us were staying but they only provided one pair of slippers and both robe? I would stay again here and recommend this hotel to stay in.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mishmash010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre mainly because of the location and the friendliness of our staff. Thank you for sharing this with us as it is always a pleasure to read when employees are delivering the services they do.

Thank you for recommending our property and the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is already looking forward to welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed in the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam for 3 nights. We were quite pleased with it. We originally were going to stay for 4, but opted to leave early to avoid a train strike on our next leg to Belgium. Not only did the hotel staff understand and accommodate our need to change, they also were very responsive in helping us resolve the change in reservation with Expedia.

The staff were all quite friendly and welcoming in other aspects, too. We arrived quite early from a long flight. Though it was too early to check in, they gave us access to the fitness rooms where we could shower and clean up, and use the internet (free) in the business center. The only drawback is that the wifi is not free; I think most hotels are moving to providing this free of charge even without the loyalty programs.

As I think other reviewers have noted, the hotel is very conveniently located to the Amsterdam Central train station. It’s easy to walk from the station to the hotel with the bags, saving a lot of time and effort. And it’s still an easy walk to other sights like Dam Square, the Anne Frank House, etc. In fact we walked everywhere to and from the hotel. It is so central there is no need for trams or anything unless you have mobility challenges. We would certainly consider it whenever we come to Amsterdam again.

Room Tip: Do specify you want a room with a view, because they have rooms in various spaces that may have no v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yamamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you have chosen the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for your 3-night city trip.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotels is very convenient. As you mention the hotel is located within reach of many types of public transport and also within reach of many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

However I am sorry to read your comment concerning the charge for the wireless internet. When you become a member of our loyalty programme, IHG Rewards Club, internet is free of charge. Enrolment for this programme is free of charge and you will receive more benefits when you become a member. This might be suggested for any future stays.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day in Amsterdam!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#67 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#94 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,089 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#54 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam

Property: Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton De Witt is the first Kimpton hotel outside the Americas, a true debut in Europe. The hotel is situated in the heart of Amsterdam's vibrant city centre and near Amsterdam’s Centraal station. Set within three original Renaissance-era buildings, it features 274 guest rooms, including 15 signature rooms and suites, and eight meeting rooms. Wyers Bar & Restaurant, run by Executive Chef SammyD, offers American comfort food with a Dutch twist. In line with Kimpton’s innovative and playful approach to design, the hotel features a “house within a hotel” – a four-storey ‘Little House’ which was once the childhood home of Dutch playwright, P.C. Hooft and dates back to the 1500s. Other distinctive features include a flower shop within the hotel and a Miss Louisa Coffee & Beignets walk-up window for locals to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing