We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“GREAT PLACE TO STAY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #21 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE TO STAY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is a great place to stay and is walking distance to many of Amsterdam's attractions such as the Anne Frank House, Canals, Red Light District. Access to the trams is also very convenient for those attractions that are further away such as the Van Gogh Museum. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet. It is about a 50 Euro taxi ride to the airport. The only reason I didn't give this hotel five stars is because is it a bit pricey.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you mention that the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is a great place to stay and has a very convenient location. As you mention many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer are located within walking distance which makes it the perfect starting point for exploring the city.

Furthermore it is great to read that the staff is friendly and accommodating, thank you for sharing this with us as it is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the services they do.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,666
    997
    158
    45
    23
See reviews for
317
1,252
183
528
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Legnano, Italy
Level Contributor
203 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I spent just one night in Amsterdam during last April.
This hotel is very convenient to visit the city but a bit expensive, expecially the parking (40€/night are too much even in Amsterdam).
The staff is extremely kind!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iqipen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your recent stay because of the location and because of our friendly staff. Parking in Amsterdam is indeed expensive, as this is 5,- per hour in public parking areas. For the future I can advise you to use a Park + Right Transferium as this is 1,- per 24 hours, your car is parked on a safe place outside the city centre and you will need to purchase an additional ticket for the public transport to make sure you will reach your destination.

Our hotel also offers valet parking as you mentioned this is indeed 40 euro per 24 hours, as an IHG Rewards Club member you will receive discount on this fee.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
908 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 538 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is the place to be if you want everything within a reasonable walking distance and is also quiet to allow that much needed sleep. The rooms and bedding are very comfortable and the only thing that surpasses all this is the excellent professional staff with their 'nothing is to much' attitude. We arrived very early morning and they changed our room to enable us to get some sleep after flying from Australia.

Room Tip: Just ask and you will be assisted by the friendly staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you mention that the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is the place to be if you want everything within a reasonable walking distance. I agree with you in saying that as many of the highlights are within reach and also many types of public transport are available. Furthermore it is wonderful to read that you mention that nothing was too much for the staff, as this is exactly the service level we want to create.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
135 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Very convenient location, GREAT front desk staff, my Amsterdam home away from home. Easy walk from the train station, convenient to all the trams. Room is a little small but I guess you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: pay for a better room or ask for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siam-Orchids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you name the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre your "home away from home" as this is exactly the feeling we would like to create with our guests.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient as you mention it is close to the Central Railway station and within reach of many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Good hotel, close to the centre and the train station. Very clean rooms. The staff are very friendly and helpful. This hotel is a good option for both business and pleasure. The breakfasts are fine, plenty of options.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank mikecarnegie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. The central railway station is located within 5 minutes walking distance of the hotel. The public transport also stops right in front of the hotel and will take you to all the highlights of Amsterdam.

Furthermore I agree with you in saying that the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is a good option for both; business and leisure guests. We have 12 meeting rooms available and are located in the city centre of Amsterdam.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This was out first visit to Amsterdam & we couldn't have chosen a better hotel in a location that ticked all the boxes for us.
We arrived at the Crown Plaza at 7.30am after a very long flight from Australia. Checkin wasn't until 2.00pm but we were not only assured that our room would be available for us by 9.00am but our room type was also upgraded.
We were on a high floor at the back of the hotel with no street noise & on all 3 nights of our stay slept without any problem.
Breakfast was of the high standard, that we have come to expect from the IHG brand of hotels. Our only criticism with breakfast was the cramped conditions within the buffet area - there is always someone who wants to move against the flow of "traffic" & unfortunately there just isn't any room to pass or procrastinate in this area.
We had dinner in the hotel restaurant on one evening of our stay, it was excellent.
We were impressed with the 2 happy hours in the bar/lounge area - the earlier happy hour gave us an opportunity to entertain our friends who were staying nearby & the later gave us an opportunity to enjoy a nightcap or two after a night out.
To sum up - a great hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fernsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, F&B Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you have chosen to stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre during your first visit to the city of Amsterdam. It is a pleasure to read that you were able to check-in early after your long flight from Australia. We will always do our utmost to provide you with a room as soon as possible even before our check-in time of 3pm.

Furthermore it is wonderful that you enjoyed having breakfast as well as dinner in our New Dorrius restaurant and bar. We indeed offer two happy hours and also when you want to enjoy a light lunch or a relaxed evening dinner with a good glass of wine New Dorrius restaurant is the perfect place.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

A 5 minute walk from the Central Station, and in the middle of Amsterdam's tourist district. Under 15 minutes to most of the major tourist destinations. The staff was professional and informed. A very well appointed and very comfortable hotel that I would again visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1oldmanriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you compliment our staff and the location of the hotel as being outstanding. It is a great pleasure to read that the staff was professional and informed, thank you for sharing this with us as it is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the services they do.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention the location is ideal when exploring the city as many of the highlights are located within walking distance and also various types of public transport are within reach.

It is a great pleasure to read that you will return to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, we are already looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#29 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,019 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 840 reviews
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 938 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing