We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #21 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I stayed here from 6th june until 9th june with my 21 year old son and my 17 year old daughter. I have no complaints really about our stay. Room was spacious even though there were 3 of us in it. Beds made up every day with no disturbance. Breakfast was a pleasure with a huge variety. Staff were excellent and very wwilling to help. The lift was was out of order and I attempted twice to follow the instructions to get to my room on the 4th floor. I gave up eventually and went to reception where a very nice chap brought me up and down stairs and across a 'bridge' and right to my door. Hotel in a great spot with everything on its door step. While i found it expensive I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and indeed staying here myself if I were to ever return to Amsterdam. It was a fantastic weekend with my family, loved the city,felt very safe and well looked after by the staff in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, F&B Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear valued guest,

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre together with your 17 year old daughter.

Furthermore it is great to read that you enjoyed having breakfast in our New Dorrius restaurant. This breakfast is definitely a good start of the day! It is also great that you mention that our staff was excellent and always willing to help, it is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the services they do.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day.

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,666
    997
    158
    45
    23
See reviews for
317
1,252
183
528
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rogers, Arkansas
Level Contributor
445 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed here for three nights and thought it was a wonderful hotel. The staff was super - so helpful!! In fact, the manager of the hotel came upstairs and showed us how to operate our television remote - that is service!! The rooms were lovely!! We came in early from our cruise ship, and they cheefully stored our luggage for us so that we could begin touring that day. The location is great, too!! It would be an easy walk from the train station. Too - chocolates in your room at night - along with coffee for in the morning!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nellie195105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your 3-night city trip staying at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. It is a great pleasure to read that our Manager on Duty was able to assist you with your inquiries. I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient as you mention the distance to the Central Railway station is within reach as well as many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Riding, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

First time to Amsterdam and a great city to visit. Hotel is very convenient to Centraal Station. The rooms are clean and staff friendly. We could not hear much outside noise or noises from other rooms. Great overall visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank feliciacaulk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure that you choose to stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre during your first city trip to the city of Amsterdam. I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient as it is close to many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer and also within reach of many types of public transport which can take you to all the sightseeing places in Amsterdam.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back during any of your future visits to the city.

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We have been here a number of times during our stay in Amsterdam, mainly because of it location close to the Central Station and the city centre. The staff is fantastic and helpful , we arrived early in the morning from a long haul flight with 5 hrs time difference. Our original room was not ready and we were immediately upgraded to an other room so we could have a rest and get ready to hit the city.

Room Tip: Difficult to say the Hotel is in the city centre, the rooms have excellent insolation so there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaapv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you are a loyal guest of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. Furthermore it is great to read that you enjoyed the services delivered and especially the possibility to check in early in the morning. We will always do our utmost to provide you with a room as soon as possible.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back during any of your future visits to the city of Amsterdam.

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Excellent hotel brilliant location. The staff could do enough for you, helped us out with all our trips. Breakfast was amazing. Our room was lovely.We are returning in two week and cant wait.
easy walk from the station.

Room Tip: High up if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tracie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, F&B Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is wonderful to read that you appreciated the services delivered by our staff and that you enjoyed having breakfast in our New Dorrius restaurant. Starting your day with a good breakfast is one of the best decisions you can make.

Furthermore it is a pleasure to read that you will return to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre within two weeks from now. We are already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed four days in Amsterdam at the Crowne Plaza and had a terrific stay. The hotel is in a great location five minutes from the central station. Travel to and from the airport was quick and easy. The rooms were large and well appointed. We arrived early and the staff was very helpful in checking our bags and letting us check in early after an all night flight from Atlanta. We enjoyed dining in the hotel dining room one night which specializes in Dutch cooking. All in all the hotel was a great location for exploring all that Amsterdam has to offer .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shiftyyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you have chosen the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for your recent 4-day city trip to Amsterdam. I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention the hotel is located within walking distance of the Central Railway station which has direct trains leaving to Amsterdam Schiphol every 10 minutes.

It is great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your overall experience and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We usually stay at this hotel at Christmas and think it's great. This time I stayed by myself for eldest son's stag.
So a review from a different perspective:
First great to get a really friendly welcome when you are on your own all the staff were really friendly - makes you feel at home. At breakfast was encouraged to eat more.
The location is just the best , but better still when on 3 main tram routes, you know every cabbie can find it and late at night you can walk to it. It' s so easy to find.
Service is top too, checked in early, bought tram pass, left bag after check out on last day.
Great to come back to after a hard nights stagging , on my own lads staying else where.
In my humble opinion great hotel - no question we will be back.

Room Tip: Never had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhandlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you are a loyal guest of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.
Furthermore it is great to read that you felt welcome and that all the staff were really friendly and helpful. Thank you for sharing this with us as it is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the services they do.

It is great to read that you will return to our hotel, the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#29 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,018 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 840 reviews
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 938 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing