We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located and generally good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Ranked #26 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Well located and generally good”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

The proximity to Central Station, Dam Square and the shopping street makes this hotels an obvious choice from a convenience perspective. Rooms are spacious and well appointed and we were impressed with the attention to detail within the room. Given that it is part of a chain of hotels and we generally try and avoid these, we were pleasantly surprised with both the service and amenities. Helpful, friendly staff made the experience pleasant and the service was definitely above the general European standard. If you require a solid, well priced hotel with space and service within walking distance of the station and major attractions, then I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I agree with you that the location is very convenient. The central railway station is located within 5 minutes from the hotel as well as many other types of public transport and will take you to all the highlights of Amsterdam. Our concierge will be happy to assist you by giving advice what the best places are to visit in Amsterdam and of course what the best restaurants are to visit while you are here

Furthermore it is a great pleasure to read that you comment that the experience was pleasant and above European standard because of the services delivered by our staff.

Thank you for recommending the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,832
    1,073
    167
    47
    25
See reviews for
359
1,379
196
565
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Great location, large and comfortable rooms, most personal service across the board. I have mobility problems and asked where I could buy a cane. The Concierge and reception staff immediately brought out several canes from their lost and found for me to choose from to borrow. I also borrowed a wheelchair for an full day of visits to the gardens and windmills--made such a difference to my enjoyment of the experience! No charge...no need to set a time to return it. Also great help deciding where to go and what to do and how to get there. At check in the reception clerk walked us to our room and explained every amenity. Food in the restaurant was delicious. Can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsFlakowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, F&B Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you especially enjoyed your stay because of the services delivered in our hotel.

Furthermore it is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed having breakfast, lunch or dinner in our New Dorrius restaurant. Our modern New Dorrius Restaurant & Bar offers a relaxing atmosphere. Enjoy delicious Dutch classics or international favourites. Meet each other for a cup of coffee during the day in our New Dorrius Bar, or for a cocktail in the evening.

Thank you for recommending the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

We had a huge, well appointed room with a great bathroom (separate shower and huge tub). Nice toiletries, Nescafé coffee, bottled water and chocolates included. Great breakfast too. We were able to walk to the train station with our luggage too. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LakeHighlandsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, F&B Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Club Rooms. These rooms offer indeed special facilities as a Nespresso machine and Rituals bath amenities.

Furthermore it is wonderful to read that you enjoyed having breakfast in our New Dorrius restaurant. Our New Dorrius Restaurant and bar provides you indeed with a sumptuous breakfast that keeps you going all day.

The location is indeed within walking distance of the Central Railway station which has direct trains leaving every 10 minutes to Amsterdam Schiphol Airport.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel is located very close to the Central Station for trains to the airport and also to the city centre and its many restaurants (including an excellent Argentinian steak house across the street and more traditional restaurants on the nearby Spuistraat).
The concierge arranged our visit to the Keukenhof Gardens (the reason for our trip) and there were many staff always in evidence who always acknowledge you - which was most impressive.
We asked for and were given a very quiet and comfortable room - the layout allows rooms not to be all to be in a row and so can largely avoid noisy neighbours!
An excellently managed hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmgn2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you appreciated the services delivered by our Concierge and that you enjoyed a visit to the Keukenhof.

I agree with you in saying that the location of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is very convenient. As you mention the hotel is located within walking distance of the Central Railway station which has direct trains leaving to Amsterdam Schiphol Airport. Just around the corner the shopping street starts where also many nice bars and restaurant are located.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaip
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two days the staff very helpful always finding a way to make u comfortable find solution to your problem. Very centrally located every thing in walking distance. They have a nice restaurant also .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshiarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you have chosen the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for your recent stay.

Furthermore it is wonderful to read that you enjoyed the services of our staff and that they went out of their way to find a satisfactory solution. Thank you for sharing this as it is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the services they do.

The location of our hotel is indeed perfect when exploring the city. The Central Railway station as well as many other types of public transport are within reach which can take you to all the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer. Also many highlights are located already within walking distance as the Anne Frank house, Dam Palace, the Jordaan area and the Red Light district.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
143 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I have stayed here a few times. This past time I must say the staff were especially accomodating and freindly. They went out of their way to ensure I was comfortable in the hotel and bent over backwards for every request. The rooms are clean and quiet. It is a short walk from central station and very convienent to move around the city or country. I can't wait to come back. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you are a loyal guest of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.
Furthermore it is a great pleasure to read that during your stay the staff were accommodating and friendly and went out of their way to satisfy your needs. Thank you for sharing this with us as it is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the services they do.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is already looking forward to welcoming you back during one of your future visits to the city!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
294 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Amsterdam is a very walkable city, at least tourist area. Therefore, key to be near the center and Crowne Plaza definitely is. Easy five minute walk to Central Station, which gets you to Schipol Airport and basically anywhere else in Europe. Room was large enough and very comfortable. Very quiet, even though Amsterdam was jumping on a Friday night when I arrived. Front desk personnel actually appeared to appreciate your visit and made you feel welcome. Highly recommend for the location, value, and overall room size. Park your gear and get out and walk. Also close to Amsterdam trams for more distant sights.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jnjtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I agree with you that the location is very convenient. The central railway station is located within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The public transport also stops right in front of the hotel and will take you to all the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer. Our concierge will be happy to assist you by giving advice what the best places are to visit in Amsterdam and of course what the best restaurants are to visit while you are here.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#34 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,382 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#20 of 368 in Amsterdam
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#62 of 368 in Amsterdam
899 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,061 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#19 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam

Property: Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton De Witt is the first Kimpton hotel outside the Americas, a true debut in Europe. The hotel is situated in the heart of Amsterdam's vibrant city centre and near Amsterdam’s Centraal station. Set within three original Renaissance-era buildings, it features 274 guest rooms, including 15 signature rooms and suites, and eight meeting rooms. Wyers Bar & Restaurant, run by Executive Chef SammyD, offers American comfort food with a Dutch twist. In line with Kimpton’s innovative and playful approach to design, the hotel features a “house within a hotel” – a four-storey ‘Little House’ which was once the childhood home of Dutch playwright, P.C. Hooft and dates back to the 1500s. Other distinctive features include a flower shop within the hotel and a Miss Louisa Coffee & Beignets walk-up window for locals to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing