We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #21 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
NJ
Level Contributor
262 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Tremendous Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Amsterdam is a very walkable city, at least tourist area. Therefore, key to be near the center and Crowne Plaza definitely is. Easy five minute walk to Central Station, which gets you to Schipol Airport and basically anywhere else in Europe. Room was large enough and very comfortable. Very quiet, even though Amsterdam was jumping on a Friday night when I arrived. Front desk personnel actually appeared to appreciate your visit and made you feel welcome. Highly recommend for the location, value, and overall room size. Park your gear and get out and walk. Also close to Amsterdam trams for more distant sights.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jnjtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I agree with you that the location is very convenient. The central railway station is located within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The public transport also stops right in front of the hotel and will take you to all the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer. Our concierge will be happy to assist you by giving advice what the best places are to visit in Amsterdam and of course what the best restaurants are to visit while you are here.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,762
    1,036
    161
    46
    25
See reviews for
346
1,329
188
542
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Location is everything here. You can get food nearby and walk to most of Amsterdams canals, shopping and attractions from there. Concierge and staff were very helpful and friendly. Rooms were very business like and clean. Nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DistantTraveller8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you comment the staff as being helpful and friendly. I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient as it is located close the several public transport stops and within walking distance of many highlights which Amsterdam has to offer!

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we are looking forward to welcome you back during your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was really central 5minutes from central station quick checkin even though we were early(12 oclock)rooms immaculate and modern, nespresso coffee machine designer toiletries paid an extra 50pound for the club room foraccess to the lounge to have as many drinks and snacks we wanted,really quiet at night would definately stay again

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rammisammi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Executive Housekeeper at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Club Rooms. These rooms have extra facilities as a Nespresso machine and Rituals amenities. When you book a Club Room you will also receive access to the Club Lounge. This is the perfect place to relax and unwind after a busy day in town. Club guests enjoy browsing complimentary newspapers over breakfast, and return to use complimentary high speed internet and snacks and drinks until 11 pm.

It is a great pleasure to read that you will definitely return to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. We are already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Marian Jones
Executive Housekeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

If you want to stay in a traditional Amsterdam building facing the canals, this hotel would not be it. But it is a great hotel at great location with great service.

We stayed there for four nights. The hotel's location is perfect. It is situated on a quite street (compared to Dam street) and is very close to the central station and tourist center where you can take canal cruise and book/board an excursion trip. You can also walk to Dam Square and other tourist sites.

The hotel exterior is simple but the interior is nicely decorated. It has a nice lobby and large relaxing area with modern fireplace. The room is modern and very clean. I had a single room and the size was just perfect. The bed was very comfortable and towels very new and fluffy.

Buffet breakfast was great with variety of options (compared to most other European hotels). In addition to boiled egg, cold cuts and bread, there were scrambled egg and bacon. You can also ask for fried egg and pancake.

Service was great. The hotel let us check in at 10AM without additional cost. All staff were wonderful. The concierge suggested and booked an excursion and recommended wonderful restaurants to us.

Again, it was perfect. I highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again if I have a chance to return to Amsterdam again.

Room Tip: My room faced the street and I could hear the sound of the tram at night and in the morning. It didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kritima P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time for writing and sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you have chosen the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for your 4 -night city trip.

The hotel is built around 2 of the old traditional Amsterdam Canal Houses. Although nowadays no longer a Canal, the Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal is centrally located in the vicinity of most of the main sites Amsterdam has to offer. The traditional rooms with wooden beams are located in the Canal houses. A complete renovation took place in 2009.

Furthermore I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient, as you mention it is close to the Central Railway station and close to many of Amsterdam’s highlights.

Thank you for recommending our property and we are looking forward to welcome you back during one of your future visits to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

After our fantastic visit in 2012 my partner and I did not hesitate to revisit the Crown Plaza. A week before we travelled I emailed the Crowne Plaza to let them know we would be staying there again and that it would be my partner's birthday (again).

Upon our arrival and as a wonderful surprise our room was upgraded and we were given a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine and traditional Dutch cakes.

Our experience was nothing sensational and it made for another wonderful trip.

We've now moved back to Australia (at the time we were living in London) and would not second guess staying here again if we were to return to Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jamieerinw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure that you decided to return to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre after you visit in 2012. Furthermore it is wonderful to read that choose to celebrate your partner's birthday in Amsterdam and appreciated the nice gestures that were sent up by our Guest Relations department.

It is great to read that you will return to our property when visiting Amsterdam again in the future. The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Travel on business to Amsterdam from time to time. This would be one of my first choices to stay; perfect location near to good places to eat and near the central station. Very good service with a friendly smile.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is one of your first choices when visiting Amsterdam for business purposes.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention it is within walking distance of the Central Railway station and close to many highlights Amsterdam has to offer.

We are hoping to having the pleasure of welcoming you back during one of your future visits to the city of Amsterdam!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed here one night for a brief, 2 day trip to Amsterdam. The staff were amazing - really helpful! The young guy at check -in was a great help and directed us around the city well - meaning we didn't waste any time and got to see the best bits. The bar staff were also very helpful and everyone in general was happy and 'can do'! Location is also very good - you can walk everywhere easily.I would always stay here when in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, F&B Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you have chosen the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for your 2 day trip to Amsterdam.

It is a great pleasure to read that you mention that the staff were amazing and really helpful. Furthermore it is a pleasure to read that you appreciated the services provided by our Front Desk agents and Food & Beverage employees.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient as it is within reach of many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer and also within walking distance of many types of public transport.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#28 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,114 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#18 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#15 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#47 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing