We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff was so-so, But the Hotel was EXCELLENT!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Ranked #23 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Staff was so-so, But the Hotel was EXCELLENT!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

There is no dedicated hotel airport shuttle as advertised - When I called the hotel confirming this information the concierge stated, there was one. Upon my arrival, I found out that what he actually meant was there was a general hotel shuttle that waits for the shuttle to be full, charges one flat rate, and delivers you to your various hotels. The concierge’s main recommendation was to use the train. For my departure, I asked the concierge to reserve the same general hotel shuttle. The concierge discouraged me from using it because they could not guarantee that they will arrive on time. Again the concierge said I should use the trains. Not sure why someone in the business of customer service did the concierge keep discouraging me from my requests, which did not seem too outlandish.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayessa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you comment the hotel as being excellent.

It is correct that our hotel itself does not offer a shuttle service from and to the airport. It is possible to book a general shuttle via our concierges for Euro 18, - per person and needs to be reserved 2 hours prior your arrival/departure time. It is indeed correct that we recommend to take a taxi if you are with 3 persons or to take the train because this will save you a lot of money and is more comfortable. For instance a single ticket from Amsterdam Schiphol to Amsterdam Central station is Euro 4, - per person.

I am sorry to read that your experience with arranging the transfer was uncomfortable however we do not hope that this will stop you from returning to our property.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community as this allows us to monitor and improve our services continually.

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,815
    1,067
    165
    47
    25
See reviews for
358
1,366
194
562
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Good hotel in a great location. Staff were friendly; breakfast was decent, buffet, food was refreshed a bit slowly. Rooms were good side, modern and decently decorated. Prices were quite high, but I suppose that is par for the course in the tourism season. Only one robe and set of slippers in the room, which was odd. But overall, compares favorably.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Russianoligarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay in the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and especially the location of the hotel.

As a member of the "Green Key program" we commit high value in being sustainable, this is also one of the reasons why we offer one pair of slippers and one robe in the room. Via our hotel application 'concierge anywhere' or by dialing instance service from your hotel room we are more than happy to send an extra pair up of course!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We have been here since 20.4.14, breakfast is simple, not inspiring. Room is fine, but the lack of top sheets, as every bed has a doona, is painful. Not everyone likes a doona. My husband is allergic to feathers. The staff is the greatest asset of this hotel. They all have gone beyond the basic service, nothing is too much trouble.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre especially because of the services delivered by the member of our staff. It is a great pleasure to read that you mention that you experienced beyond basic service and that nothing was too much trouble.

However I am sorry to read your comment concerning the doona. Please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your next stay as we do offer alternatives for feather doonas.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience as this allows us to monitor and improve our services continually. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back during one of your future visits to the city of Amsterdam!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed for 4 days over King's Day and loved the hotel. Location is great near Central Station, room was comfortable and clean, and the staff were all very friendly and anxious to help with any questions or needs, etc. Fantastic

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you have chosen to stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre during King's day.

Furthermore it is great to read that you enjoyed the location and the services delivered by our staff members. Thank you for sharing this with us as it is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the services they do.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located close to central station and all major attractions like Dam square, Palace and red light. The stuff is really polite and helpful and rooms clean and large. Got upgraded as platinum ambassador member. Will come again!!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank logios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated the upgrade received because of your IHG Rewards Platinum membership.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention the Central Railway station is located just around the corner and also many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer are located within walking distance.

It is a great pleasure to read that you will return to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, our team is already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over Easter and it is very centrally located. Took 5 minutes to walk to the station, there is a tram stop very close by. Lots of shopping and eating can be done very close by. The room was lovely and fully equipped we even had a Nespresso machine in the room. Lovely comfortable bed and the natural sleep remedy in the room was amazing.
However the very best thing about this hotel is all the amazing staff who could not do enough for us even though the hotel was at full capacity nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The best member of staff was the concierge who checked us in late on the Thursday night.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Frumpsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you have chosen Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to spend you recent Easter weekend in.

It is great to read that you enjoyed all the facilities in the Club Room as for instance a Nespresso machine and Rituals amenities. Furthermore t is a great pleasure to read that you compliment the staff as being amazing because of the services delivered. Thank you for sharing this with us as it is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the services they do.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is hoping to having the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

I am normally a Starwood girl but this hotel has changed my opinion of the Crowne Plaza brand. Small but quaint, the location made for a very convenient stay in the city. We were literally just steps away from the Centraal station and around the corner from many shops and restaurants - the red light district was just across the canal. I actaully WALKED to the Anne Frank Haus and to many of the other local attractions in the area. Great stay... but the bathroom was kinda small...

Room Tip: Utilize the business center for free wifi - do not charge it to your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelder S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear valued guest,

It is wonderful to read that you have chosen IHG instead of Starwood for you recent stay in Amsterdam.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is indeed very convenient. As you mention the hotel is located within walking distance of the Central Railway station and within reach of many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer as the Anne Frank house, the Jordaan district, The Palace on Dam square and the Canals.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back during one of your future visits to the city.

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#68 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#92 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,081 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#51 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam

Property: Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton De Witt is the first Kimpton hotel outside the Americas, a true debut in Europe. The hotel is situated in the heart of Amsterdam's vibrant city centre and near Amsterdam’s Centraal station. Set within three original Renaissance-era buildings, it features 274 guest rooms, including 15 signature rooms and suites, and eight meeting rooms. Wyers Bar & Restaurant, run by Executive Chef SammyD, offers American comfort food with a Dutch twist. In line with Kimpton’s innovative and playful approach to design, the hotel features a “house within a hotel” – a four-storey ‘Little House’ which was once the childhood home of Dutch playwright, P.C. Hooft and dates back to the 1500s. Other distinctive features include a flower shop within the hotel and a Miss Louisa Coffee & Beignets walk-up window for locals to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing