We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Faultless and Spotless” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #21 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Faultless and Spotless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Location: 5 minute walk from Centraal Station, very close (2 mins) to most central attractions, adjacent most tram routes to anywhere in Amsterdam.
Only slight (very slight) annoyance was the tram noise outside, but this is central Amsterdam and it certainly did not keep us awake.

Check In: Room wasn't ready at 2:15 (check-in at 3), treated to a free drink in the bar and then upgraded to a suite. The young lady at check-in also took the time to ask where we had planned to go and then she pointed out locations on the map and suggested where to go and how to get there. Perfect introduction.

Room: Fantastic, spotless, very large, well laid out and a huge and comfy bed. Bathroom modern, water pressure great, and again - spotless. Plenty of TV channels if you want to watch TV.

Breakfast: Huge selection from continental to cooked, plenty of staff on duty to attend to every need. Really! very, very good service!

Public areas: lots of space, comfy seating, free wi-fi, and welcoming lobby areas.

Staff: Excellent. Really the best part of the whole stay. Every staff member wished us good morning or said hello at other times of the day, and nothing was too much trouble.

This hotel really does have the best staff I have ever experienced in any hotel I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: If you want the quietest room ask for the quiet zone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottishtraveller71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.
Furthermore it is a great pleasure to read that you mention that you comment that our hotel has the best staff and that they were able to satisfy your needs at any time. Thank you for sharing this as it is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the services they do.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed the upgrade and alle the facilities and amenties that were available in your room.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day in the future!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,763
    1,036
    161
    46
    25
See reviews for
346
1,329
188
543
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ellon, Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

As first time visitors to Amsterdam, this hotel ticked a great many of our boxes - five minutes walk from the station, easy walking distance of many tourist attractions, clean, well appointed room, great facilities and a filling breakfast to set us up for a hard day's sightseeing. There a excellent restaurants just across the street as well so no need to eat in.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ambrose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you have chosen the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre during your first visit to the city of Amsterdam.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention the Central Railway station is within walking distance and also many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer are within reach.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day in the future!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Europe is notorious for small hotel rooms. That's far from the truth at the Crowne Plaza City Centre. Very attentive staff, clean rooms and pleasing lobby. And all in the heart of the city centre with convenient access to public transportation.

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre especially because of the room sizes. Furthermore it is great to read that you appreciated the services delivered by our staff as it is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the services they do.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is hoping to having the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester England
Level Contributor
564 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

You instinctively know you're on a winner when you approach reception and are greeted by beaming smiles. I've stayed in Crowne Plaza and Holiday Inn hotels all over the place and I have to say this one is a clear leader. Nothing was a problem. Staff were soooo attentive. The room was great - king sized bed, large flatscreen tv, plenty of seats, minibar, safe. The bathroom had a bath and combined shower, hairdryer, shaving mirror and the range of toiletries and accessories was extensive. 24HR business centre (for printing boarding cards!), comfortable lounge areas and a good bar and restaurant.

You're an easy five minutes walk from Central Station (train is the best value travel from the airport). 4 trains per hour taking about 15 minutes for less than 5 euro. Damrak is two minutes away (cheapest canal trips go from there - about five euro less than those near Central station).

Location is at the heart of the city - shopping, markets, eating, drinking, canals and lots of the tourist sites all within a couple of minutes walk. And a range of trams stop outside the hotel for those wanting to explore further afield.

Two hints - if you're a light sleeper, ask for a room away from the main road. The trams are noisy! And, try and get a bed and breakfast deal. The rack rate for breakfast is a hefty 25 euro! It's a very good breakfast but...

Also, watch out for double happy hour. 2 for 1 on all drinks between 5 and 6 and 11 and 12 midnight. Even cocktails! Excellent value!

Recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike Arran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you are a loyal guest of IHG and that you especially liked your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre because of the services delivered by our staff.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention is the location within walking distance of the Central Railway station and within reach of many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience and for recommending our hotel. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back one day!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peel, Isle Of Man
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night and was very impressed with the hotel, being a Crowne Plaza you expect certain standards and all were met. Staff were very friendly, the hotel was modern, bedrooms clean and breakfast was great. I would certainly stay here again as all the staff we met were so friendly with big friendly smiles. Breakfast staff were very welcoming, they had a good sense of humour and, like already mentioned they had big smiles which is important at the start of the day! Location wise, the hotel is pretty much opposite Central Station so you can't go wrong and with a midday checkout you can afford to take your time before checking out. The hotel is perfectly suited for less able bodied guests with ramps and lifts. I wish I had taken my gym kit as the hotel was an adequately equipped fitness centre. Would certainly stay again, thank you for a lovely stay.

On the down side, we weren't taken with the restaurant evening menu and decided to eat out instead. Careful of the minibar - extreme prices, €4 euro for a small Toblerone is outrageous! It may be convenient but with a convenience store a few doors away, be careful.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnyhols253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, F&B Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you were impressed by the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. Good to read that you enjoyed breakfast and that you appreciated the services delivered by our staff.

It is wonderful to read that you will return to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, we are already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Excellant location as its only 5 minute walk from Centraal Station. A great base to use to explore the city. Tram station just outside but we preferred to walk everywhere to soak up the sights, sounds & smells of the City. Staff were all very friendly and attentive and we booked all our excursions with the concierge. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magickalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

I agree with you in saying that the location of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is very convenient. As you mention the Central Railway station is located within walking distance of the hotel as well as many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

Furthermore it is great to read that you comment that staff was very friendly and attentive and that you highly recommend our hotel. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Modern,Clean, comfortable. Nicely decorated . We just loved it here. Were in town to pick up a Uniworld cruise and this was perfect for it. The staff could not have been more helpful. Terrific location. We were able to wlk to the Ann Franck house and back.
We paid the little extra and were in the Club Rooms. It was well worth it. We snacked and relaxed in Club and were able to have a quick continentala breakfast before going to Anne Franck house. The Club is on the ground floor and not on the floor with the rooms was only small - very small - drawback.
Do yourself a favor and stay here.

Room Tip: Club Rooms worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolpanam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you choose to stay in one of our rooms with Club Lounge access. In the Club Lounge breakfast will be served and you can indeed enjoy food and beverages during the day up until 11 pm. This is the perfect place to relax and settle down after a busy day at work or in the city.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention many of the highlights are located within walking distance for instance the Anne Frank house, Dam Square and the Red Light District.

Thank you for recommending the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#28 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,114 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#19 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#17 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#48 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing