We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Weekend in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #23 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Weekend in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Chose this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews and thoroughly recommend it. Staff are efficient and extremely helpful. Walking distance to most areas but also handy for tram to more outlying areas. Particularly enjoyed Jordaam and surrounding areas. Walking distance to Centraal station. We did not eat or drink in hotel. Haarlemstraat is worth a look.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19Graham68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank your for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre based on Tripadvisor and even more wonderful that you thoroughly recommend our hotel.

I agree with you that the location is very convenient. Indeed the central railway station is located within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. Also other types of public transport stop right in front of the hotel and will take you to all the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer. Our concierge will be happy to assist you by giving advice what the best places are to visit in Amsterdam and of course what the best restaurants are to visit while you are here.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,801
    1,059
    167
    47
    25
See reviews for
356
1,361
192
557
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

I was at that hotel for a conference 2 weeks ago and I stayed there for a week. The hotel is nice, w with smiling and helping staff and is located on a walking distance from the Central station and most of the sightseeing places in Amsterdam. Conference facilities are good, the restaurant also.
Maybe the price is a little bit higher that expected (especially during high season as the ISE show) but I think this is OK for the location. Rooms are big enough with everything you expect from such a hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you stayed at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre during your conference which also took place on our property.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient, as you mention the Central Railway station is located within walking distance of the hotel as well as many highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day for business or leisure purposes!

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, superb breakfast, wild choice of fruit, cereals, bread, juices and full English you can even have champagne for breakfast! The staff friendly and helpful and brilliant location. Clean and sooooo comfy bed and fluffy pillows! Would recommend gauchos steak bar just across the road for a good steak. Would come back and stay again

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank million_don_baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to find that you truly enjoyed the breakfast buffet. Our New Dorrius Restaurant and bar provides you indeed with a sumptuous breakfast that keeps you going all day.

Furthermore it is great to read that you comment the staff as being friendly and helpful, it is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do.

It is a great pleasure to read that you will return to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, we are already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boalsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is a very nice hotel and I can't say enough about the great service. The room was also very comfortable and quiet. The on-site restaurant also had fantastic service. Very easy to get to Central Station, museums, red light district.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and especially because of the services delivered.

Furthermore it is great to read that you enjoyed a meal in our New Dorrius restaurant. Our modern New Dorrius Restaurant & Bar offers a relaxing atmosphere. Enjoy delicious Dutch classics or international favourites. Meet each other for a cup of coffee during the day in our New Dorrius Bar, or for a cocktail in the evening. Enjoy a light lunch or a relaxed evening dinner with a good glas of wine.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre or in our restaurant New Dorrius.

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel as it looked a safe bet. We knew it would be modern and clean and were unsure about other hotels. Although, now I have seen the other hotels, they all seem nice.
We booked a club room so had access to the club lounge. Was well worth the money as we drank, ate and chilled out a lot in there.
The hotel is very central but just enough round the corner for it to be quiet.
Would highly recommend.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Anonkce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre in one of our Club Rooms. Club rooms come with benefits benefits as for instance a Nespresso machine in your room and access to our Club Lounge. This is the perfect place to relax and unwind after a busy day in town. Club guests enjoy browsing complimentary newspapers over breakfast, and return to use complimentary high speed internet and snacks and drinks until 11 pm.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and we hope to welcome you back during one of your future visits to the city!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

I was booked into this hotel for three nights from 3rd Feb to 6th. I was attending the ISE Exhibition at the RAI and many other colleagues were in this hotel too, hence my decision to stay here. The hotel was an easy 5 min walk from the central train station and check-in was smooth and easy with very friendly staff. My room was on first floor and had all the usual facilities including tea/coffee making items were there. The room was comfortable enough but only of similar quality to many Premier Inn Hotels in the UK. I didn't make use of the breakfast/dining rooms as I was able to eat elsewhere and the hotel prices were not cheap given the price of the rooms. €712 for three nights should have included breakfast and free wifi but it didn't. Why these big hotels charge extra for wifi is beyond me. Just an average hotel in my opinion and rather over priced.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AzzyBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you stayed at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre during the ISE Exhibition at the RAI. I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. The central railway station is located within 5 minutes walking distance of the hotel. The public transport also stops right in front of the hotel and will take you to all the highlights of Amsterdam.

I am sorry to read your comment regarding the rate. I would like to inform you that the internet for all our Rewards Club Members, which is our Loyalty Program, is free of charge. Enrolment for this program is free of charge and can be arranged directly in our hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

I had a good stay at this place. Very nice location, near Amsterdam central. Shopping area's are all near by. Lot of options to eat nearby.

People at reception were very coporative and helpful. Room was very neat and clean. I had a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Analchavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I agree with you in saying that the location is very convenient. Indeed the central railway station is located within 5 minutes walking distance of the hotel and also other types of public transport stop right in front of the hotel and will take you to all the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer. Our concierge will be happy to assist you by giving advice what the best places are to visit in Amsterdam and of course what the best restaurants are to visit while you are here.

We hope to have the occasion of welcoming you back at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam city centre in the future.

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#27 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#73 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#52 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#18 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#82 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing