We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“great location, fantastic service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #21 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boalsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great location, fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is a very nice hotel and I can't say enough about the great service. The room was also very comfortable and quiet. The on-site restaurant also had fantastic service. Very easy to get to Central Station, museums, red light district.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and especially because of the services delivered.

Furthermore it is great to read that you enjoyed a meal in our New Dorrius restaurant. Our modern New Dorrius Restaurant & Bar offers a relaxing atmosphere. Enjoy delicious Dutch classics or international favourites. Meet each other for a cup of coffee during the day in our New Dorrius Bar, or for a cocktail in the evening. Enjoy a light lunch or a relaxed evening dinner with a good glas of wine.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre or in our restaurant New Dorrius.

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,762
    1,036
    161
    46
    25
See reviews for
346
1,329
188
542
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel as it looked a safe bet. We knew it would be modern and clean and were unsure about other hotels. Although, now I have seen the other hotels, they all seem nice.
We booked a club room so had access to the club lounge. Was well worth the money as we drank, ate and chilled out a lot in there.
The hotel is very central but just enough round the corner for it to be quiet.
Would highly recommend.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Anonkce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre in one of our Club Rooms. Club rooms come with benefits benefits as for instance a Nespresso machine in your room and access to our Club Lounge. This is the perfect place to relax and unwind after a busy day in town. Club guests enjoy browsing complimentary newspapers over breakfast, and return to use complimentary high speed internet and snacks and drinks until 11 pm.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and we hope to welcome you back during one of your future visits to the city!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I was booked into this hotel for three nights from 3rd Feb to 6th. I was attending the ISE Exhibition at the RAI and many other colleagues were in this hotel too, hence my decision to stay here. The hotel was an easy 5 min walk from the central train station and check-in was smooth and easy with very friendly staff. My room was on first floor and had all the usual facilities including tea/coffee making items were there. The room was comfortable enough but only of similar quality to many Premier Inn Hotels in the UK. I didn't make use of the breakfast/dining rooms as I was able to eat elsewhere and the hotel prices were not cheap given the price of the rooms. €712 for three nights should have included breakfast and free wifi but it didn't. Why these big hotels charge extra for wifi is beyond me. Just an average hotel in my opinion and rather over priced.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AzzyBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you stayed at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre during the ISE Exhibition at the RAI. I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. The central railway station is located within 5 minutes walking distance of the hotel. The public transport also stops right in front of the hotel and will take you to all the highlights of Amsterdam.

I am sorry to read your comment regarding the rate. I would like to inform you that the internet for all our Rewards Club Members, which is our Loyalty Program, is free of charge. Enrolment for this program is free of charge and can be arranged directly in our hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I had a good stay at this place. Very nice location, near Amsterdam central. Shopping area's are all near by. Lot of options to eat nearby.

People at reception were very coporative and helpful. Room was very neat and clean. I had a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Analchavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I agree with you in saying that the location is very convenient. Indeed the central railway station is located within 5 minutes walking distance of the hotel and also other types of public transport stop right in front of the hotel and will take you to all the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer. Our concierge will be happy to assist you by giving advice what the best places are to visit in Amsterdam and of course what the best restaurants are to visit while you are here.

We hope to have the occasion of welcoming you back at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam city centre in the future.

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Amazing service, i got here at 10 AM, my room was ready. The person who checked me in noticed it was my birthday and promptly congratulated me. This lady was named Samantha, this is important. I got cleaned up and spent the day being a tourist, got back to my room and was greeted with a very nice bottle of sparkling wine, and a birthday cake, sort of but it wad great.

Samantha sent a card wishing me a great day.

This was a wonderful way to come to my hotel room, after a wonderful day in a great city.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmuch13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you were able to check in as soon as you arrived early in the morning. We will always do our utmost best to have the room ready for you upon your arrival even before check-in time. Furthermore it is a great pleasure to read that you appreciated the amenties delivered to your room by our Guest Relations department because you were celebrating your birthday.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is hoping to having the pleasure to welcoming you back during one of your future visits to the city of Amsterdam!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
238 reviews
210 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I stayed here for two days meeting, and the hotel is indeed very central. It takes five minutes walk from the central station, and one can go everywhere just walking. So I would suggest it also for tourism. The personnel at the reception is indeed amazing, nice, kind and very helpful. It is interesting to see the difference with those in the restaurant, much more rude and unfriendly. A different management maybe? The food was also quite poor, breakfast a bit better than lunch. The room was really nice, comfortable bed and everything you need. I would indeed stay again here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alessandr078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is wonderful to read that you stayed at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre during your 2-day meeting. I agree with you in saying that the location is very convenient. The central railway station is located within 5 minutes walking distance and also other types of public transport stop right in front of the hotel and will take you to all the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

It is a great pleasure to read that you comment our Front Desk staff as being nice, kind and friendly. It is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do. However I am sorry to read your comment concerning the restaurant staff. I apologize for this experience and we do hope for an opportunity to welcome you again in our restaurant under better circumstances to show you that our service level in our restaurant is also of good quality.

Would you like to share more information concerning your restaurant experience please contact me direclty via jaap.roomeijer@ihg.com. Once again thank you for your comment as this feedback is of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

It is wonderful to read that you will stay with us again, the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This is my second review on Crowne Plaza Amsterdam. The hotel is in the heart of the city. It is 5 star hotel by European standards. Extremely clean. I requested a club room and was given the exact room I requested. I had access to the club room which was great. There is complimentary continental breakfast for those who stay in club rooms, as well as snacks throughout the day. Love the happy hour in New Dorrius Restaurant as well.

My only, only disappointment was with smell of cigarette smoke on my floor. The smell was so strong that one could not miss it. I reported this to the reception at the end of my stay so they probably did something about it.

Room Tip: Book through Crowne Plaza Website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AfshinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Housekeeping Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Club Rooms and appreciated the benefits that come with this room category. As you mention breakfast is included and you can also enjoy complimentary snacks and drinks served in our Club Lounge throughout the day. Furthermore it is a pleasure to read hat you enjoyed the cleanliness of the hotel and made use of the Happy Hour in our New Dorrius restaurant and bar.

However I am sorry to read that you experienced the smell of cigarette smoke on your floor, we are a non-smoking hotel however unfortunately not all our guest follow our rules. Our Security department keeps an close eye on this and will give a fine to guests who smoke within our property.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Marian Jones
Executive Housekeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#28 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,114 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#18 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#15 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#47 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing