We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #20 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
238 reviews
211 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Good business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I stayed here for two days meeting, and the hotel is indeed very central. It takes five minutes walk from the central station, and one can go everywhere just walking. So I would suggest it also for tourism. The personnel at the reception is indeed amazing, nice, kind and very helpful. It is interesting to see the difference with those in the restaurant, much more rude and unfriendly. A different management maybe? The food was also quite poor, breakfast a bit better than lunch. The room was really nice, comfortable bed and everything you need. I would indeed stay again here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alessandr078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is wonderful to read that you stayed at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre during your 2-day meeting. I agree with you in saying that the location is very convenient. The central railway station is located within 5 minutes walking distance and also other types of public transport stop right in front of the hotel and will take you to all the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

It is a great pleasure to read that you comment our Front Desk staff as being nice, kind and friendly. It is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do. However I am sorry to read your comment concerning the restaurant staff. I apologize for this experience and we do hope for an opportunity to welcome you again in our restaurant under better circumstances to show you that our service level in our restaurant is also of good quality.

Would you like to share more information concerning your restaurant experience please contact me direclty via jaap.roomeijer@ihg.com. Once again thank you for your comment as this feedback is of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

It is wonderful to read that you will stay with us again, the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,722
    1,026
    159
    45
    24
See reviews for
337
1,298
186
535
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This is my second review on Crowne Plaza Amsterdam. The hotel is in the heart of the city. It is 5 star hotel by European standards. Extremely clean. I requested a club room and was given the exact room I requested. I had access to the club room which was great. There is complimentary continental breakfast for those who stay in club rooms, as well as snacks throughout the day. Love the happy hour in New Dorrius Restaurant as well.

My only, only disappointment was with smell of cigarette smoke on my floor. The smell was so strong that one could not miss it. I reported this to the reception at the end of my stay so they probably did something about it.

Room Tip: Book through Crowne Plaza Website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AfshinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Housekeeping Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Club Rooms and appreciated the benefits that come with this room category. As you mention breakfast is included and you can also enjoy complimentary snacks and drinks served in our Club Lounge throughout the day. Furthermore it is a pleasure to read hat you enjoyed the cleanliness of the hotel and made use of the Happy Hour in our New Dorrius restaurant and bar.

However I am sorry to read that you experienced the smell of cigarette smoke on your floor, we are a non-smoking hotel however unfortunately not all our guest follow our rules. Our Security department keeps an close eye on this and will give a fine to guests who smoke within our property.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Marian Jones
Executive Housekeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

From the moment we arrived everything was fantastic. We received a warm welcome by the receptionist. We shouldn't have checked in until 3 however we arrived early Friday morn and were given a room and escorted there straight away. Breakfast was excellent value with just about everything for every nationality being offered until 11am daily allowing us a lie in. Rooms are clean with mini bar and snacks which came in handy! Excellent location five min walk from the hustle and bustle. would recommend to anyone to visit Amsterdam and this lovely hotel. All staff were pleasant throughout our visit at all hours. Could not fault a thing!! Thank u all for making our visit so lovely.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that as soon as you arrived at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre everything was fantastic. I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. The hotel is located in the center of the city which makes it an ideal location when exploring the city.

Thank you for recommending the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and we are looking forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

For the price of the clubroom that we stayed in we could have had a suite in Ireland but we quickly realised Amsterdam is an expensive city as a whole.very friendly staff very clean and great service.will stay again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Mairead O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

It is wonderful to read that you appreciated the services delivered by our friendly staff and that you mention that you will stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre again.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philomath, Oregon
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

This property is within walking distance to all sorts of attractions in Amsterdam. We trotted to the Anne Frank house in under 15 minutes and continued from there to the Van Gogh museum with no problems. Plenty of bars and restaurants to explore in any direction from the hotel. Neighborhood felt safe at any time of the day.

Room was quiet, if a bit small. Bathroom was also small, but the shower worked great and the tub was deep.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank aunteenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. The Central Railway station is located within 5 minutes from the hotel and also other types of public transport stop right in front of the hotel and will take you to all the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer. Our concierge will be happy to assist you by giving advice what the best places are to visit in Amsterdam and of course what the best restaurants are to visit while you are here.

The Crowne Plaza team is hoping to having the pleasure of welcoming you back one day.

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed her for two nights in February 2014. They treated us so well with all of the staff being so helpful offering to help where ever possible. We was allocated a really nice room. Perfect temperature, environment, bathroom and bed!

The location is perfect with just a short walk to the main square. It's right near the train station also. Check in isn't until 3pm however they let us check in about two hours early which was so helpful as we had suitcases. It's such a clean place as well.

I couldn't rate this place highly enough and I would 100000000% come back here. I would look forward to another visit if we were returning anytime soon!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ssmithx6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdsam City Centre to the fullest and that you will definitly return to our hotel. I agree with you in saying that the location is very convenient. As you mention the hotel is located within walking distance of the Central Railway station and within reach of many of the higlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is already looking forward to welcoming you back during one of your future visits.

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a night for our anniversary. Very good reception staff. Lovely lounge with fire and tv. As Gold members got a drinks voucher which was nice. Delighted by complementary sparkling and games for our son. Benefitted from late check out. Super.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank expat h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank your for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to spend your anniversary in. Furthermore it is a pleasure to read that you are loyal members of IHG and appreciated the benefits that come with your Gold Elite membership.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is hoping to having the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,280 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 960 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 547 reviews
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#23 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing