We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Arguably my favorite hotel in one of my favorite cities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lowest Price Promise
Ranked #21 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Arguably my favorite hotel in one of my favorite cities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

What a terrific team at this hotel! With a convenient location steps away from the Centraal Station, I am always warmly welcomed back by the staff who go out of their way to help me and make recommendations. The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable and the set up perfect for a business trip. If you can upgrade to the lounge, enjoy the peaceful atmosphere to get work done, have breakfast, delightful hot and cold savouries. The concierge provides amazing information and can map out a run for you or find some different restaurants to try. Internet speed is good, and the restaurant (Dorrius)stands on it own legs with the service and food to match. After a 5 day business trip, the staff thanked me individually and genuinely wished me a safe trip home for the holidays.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and liked our clean and comfortable rooms. It is also wonderful to read that all the staff you encountered was extremely friendly and helpful. It is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do.

Furthremore it is great to read that you enjoyed having breakfast in our New-Dorrius restaurant. Our New Dorrius Restaurant and bar provides you with a sumptuous breakfast that keeps you going all day.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is hoping to welcome you back during one of your future business trips to the city of Amsterdam!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,657
    994
    158
    45
    23
See reviews for
313
1,245
183
527
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indonesia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Great location, 7 minute walk from the central station, and nice walk to many of Amsterdam's main city attractions. Plenty of restaurants nearby, and many shops on the streets behind the hotel. If you cross the main street in front of the hotel, you can go towards a very nice neighborhood area with cafes and bakeries frequented by the locals, a weekend market and many beautiful, charming old houses.
Room was clean, well maintained and comfortable. The receptionists and concierge were courteous, efficient and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed-Henry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the cleanliness of our modern and comfortable rooms.
I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient as it is located close the several public transport stops and within walking distance of many highlights which Amsterdam has to offer!

It is also wonderful to read that all the staff you encountered were courteous, efficient and helpful. It is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do.

We hope to welcome you back during your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the Crowne Plaza for 2 nights. Its really a walking distance from the central station. The staff were friendly and great to guide us around, The room was spacious and very comfortable, with normal sized bathroom...Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohammed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for your 2-day city trip. I agree with you in saying that the location is very convenient. As you mention the Central Railway station is within walking distance as well as many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer as for instance the Anne Frank house, the Jordaan area and the Red Light District.

It is a great pleasure to read that you will definitely return to our property. The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I booked a junior suite for a two night stay in Amsterdam, the junior suite turned out to be a proper suite with a separate sitting room and a small outdoor terrace very nice indeed. The bathroom however was miniscule, perfectly functional but tiny, two people could literally not fit in. My only other slight issue was the noise from the trams outside even on the sixth floor it was really noisy I was only there for two nights so I decided to put up with it. The staff ( on the whole ) were excellent and very friendly.
When I checked out I mentioned the noise from the trams and the young desk agent dismissed it with out a care stating that they stop running at night/early morning which they do but a sorry would have been much more appropriate.
The reason that I didn't give the hotel 5/5 was simply the size of the bathroom and the attitude of the check out agent.
Would I stay here again absolutely, great location, good price, good staff ( on the whole )

Room Tip: have a room off the main street where the trams are
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djh2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you comment that your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre was even better than you expected. It is wonderful to read that you stayed in one of our Junior Suites with balcony and enjoyed this room type. Furthermore it is wonderful to read that you comment the staff as being excellent and friendly. It is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do.

However I am sorry to read your comment concerning the public transport. Because of our Central Location we are indeed surrounded by various types of public transport. We do offer a special Quiet Zone in our hotel which are rooms on specific floors where you will not notice any noise. Please inform us when you will be visiting our property again and we will do our utbest to allocate you in one of our rooms in the Quiet Zone.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEWES SUSSEX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We have just returned from a short break to Amsterdam and we were so impressed with the excellent facilities, location and warm welcome from Hotel staff.
The hotel is literally a 3 minute walk from the Central train station and within walking distance of all the main attractions.The trams also stop outside the hotel.
We were given a very genuine welcome to the hotel by Lynda on reception.I was also impressed that she telephoned the room shortly after arrival to check everything was ok with the room.
The room was excellently appointed, spotlessly clean, beautiful bed linen bathrobes and slippers and the all important tea tray ! The air-conditioning was easy to control and affective.well appointed bathroom and super hot water.
The maintenance of the hotel was first class. Concierge staff were helpful and gave very good restaurant recommendations. We also ate in the hotel restaurant and the meal was excellent.
A special mention to Ajendro who gave amazing service and ensured the restaurant ran like clockwork. The food was imaginative, tasty hot well presented and a very fair price.
I will certainly be recommending this hotel to friends I could not fault it and we found the staff professional, courteous,welcoming and we would like to send our sincere thanks for a super stay in your beautiful city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRAVELARTLewesSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time for writing and sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for your short break and that you were impressed by the facilities, the staff and the location of the hotel.

Furthermore it is a pleasure to read that you appreciated the Courtesy Call to your room by one of our Front Desk Agents. We do this to double check if everything is to your liking or if you need any additional information. It is also great to read that you liked the amenities in your room as for instance the bathrobes, slippers and tea.

Nice to read that you also enjoyed having dinner in our New Dorrius restaurant and also like the services provided and the quality of the food. I will definitely make sure to pass on your compliments to the staff mentioned.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is looking forward to welcoming you back during one of your future visits to the city of Amsterdam!

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time I stay at the Crowne Plaza and I had a good time, can't complain about anything. The service was great, rooms were spotless, breakfast was good etc. I wouldn't hesitate booking this hotel again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank palvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that this was your second stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and also this visit was to your liking. It is a great pleasure to read that also for future stays you will stay with us again.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is already looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Not kidding--get the Suite. Huge tub, separate bedroom and office, and many amenities.
Nicely located, with many shops and restaurants nearby. Parking is a tad pricey, but given the location this is expected.
My only complaint was the staff, though professional, lacked personality and interest...very "clinical" if you will. Otherwise, this property would easily earn 5 stars.

Highly recommend and will stay again!

Room Tip: Bridal Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fastfxr101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay in our bridal suite and that you recommend this to other guests. As you mention this suite has a comfortable tub, a seperate bedroom, a seperate lounge and many amenities as a Nespresso machine and Rituals bath amenities.

However I am sorry to read the comment concerning our staff. As this is not a regular comment guests provide to us I would like to get in contact with you personally to receive some more details for the reason of your comment. If possible please contact me directly via Maurice.Janssen@ihg.com.

Once again thank you for sharing your comment as this helps us to monitor and improve our services continually. It is wonderful to read that even though your comment you do recommend our hotel and will return to our property!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#29 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 934 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing