We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Ranked #25 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Norway
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Still great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time I stay at the Crowne Plaza and I had a good time, can't complain about anything. The service was great, rooms were spotless, breakfast was good etc. I wouldn't hesitate booking this hotel again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank palvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that this was your second stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and also this visit was to your liking. It is a great pleasure to read that also for future stays you will stay with us again.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is already looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,815
    1,067
    166
    47
    25
See reviews for
359
1,366
194
562
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Not kidding--get the Suite. Huge tub, separate bedroom and office, and many amenities.
Nicely located, with many shops and restaurants nearby. Parking is a tad pricey, but given the location this is expected.
My only complaint was the staff, though professional, lacked personality and interest...very "clinical" if you will. Otherwise, this property would easily earn 5 stars.

Highly recommend and will stay again!

Room Tip: Bridal Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fastfxr101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay in our bridal suite and that you recommend this to other guests. As you mention this suite has a comfortable tub, a seperate bedroom, a seperate lounge and many amenities as a Nespresso machine and Rituals bath amenities.

However I am sorry to read the comment concerning our staff. As this is not a regular comment guests provide to us I would like to get in contact with you personally to receive some more details for the reason of your comment. If possible please contact me directly via Maurice.Janssen@ihg.com.

Once again thank you for sharing your comment as this helps us to monitor and improve our services continually. It is wonderful to read that even though your comment you do recommend our hotel and will return to our property!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston Rowant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

This hotel is located in the city center, walking distance to many places including Amsterdam Central train station.
The staff is nice and friendly, and you feel welcome fraom the moment you enter. The room we had was relatively new, spacious, and with good working space.

Breakfast was delicious and fresh, with many varieties to chose from; from made to order omelets to juices and fruits.
.
I will return to this hotel the next time we go to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, F&B Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that our staff was able to make you feel at home from the moment you entered the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. The hotel is indeed located in the City Center of Amsterdam which is within walking distance of the Central Railway station as well as within reach of many highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

Furthermore it is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed the breakfast served in our New Dorrius restaurant and bar. This sumptuous breakfast will keep you going all day long.

It it wonderful to read that you will return to our property when visiting Amsterdam. We are already looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend break away, as soon as we arrived at the hotel we were upgraded to a club room, which we could not fault, clean and cosy! The staff in the hotel were very pleasant and this is what made the stay more enjoyable. Held our luggage for us as check out was noon and we werent due to fly till night - this was free of charge. Close to everything really only one street away from the damrak/dam square. Would deffinitley stay again. Thanks again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lb1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for your weekend break away. It is a great pleasure to read that you appreciated the upgrade provided and that the staff was able to make your stay even more enjoyable.

It s a pleasure to read that you will return to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, we are already looking forward to welcoming you back!


Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Stayed here for a three night city break. The hotel had a friendly reception and the room was clean, ready straight away even though it was twenty minutes before check in and the location was central. We could walk to the central station and it was very useful for us getting around not having to get taxis everywhere. Breakfast was a bit on the high side so we ate on the run. Lots to see and do in Amsterdam, need to go again and stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy201333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for your 3-night city break. I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. The hotel is located within walking distance of the Central Railway station and also many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer are located within walking distance.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day.

Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was great - clean, modern and in a great location very close to the station, but just far enough away from the noise of the main streets. The best thing about the hotel though was the staff - so many of them knew our little boy Andrew by name by the end of the trip, and he was delighted with the cuddly toy he was given on arrival. He slept brilliantly in the travel cot they provided too - it had a proper mattress in it which is a hotel first in our experience. We would definitely stay again and would highly recommend!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bls29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you comment your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre as being fantastic. Furthermore it is a pleasure to read that you appreciated the services delivered by our staff and that your son also enjoyed his stay to the fullest.

It is great to read that you will recommend our hotel and will definitely return. The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Hotel is close to Amsterdam Central Station which is ideal for transfers to the airport.
Location to access all the major transport systems is very close and most major attractions are within easy walking distance.
All the staff need a special mention, they went out of there way to be attentive and helpful.
Sometimes in larger chain hotels you become just a room number but not here and everyone deserves a pat on the back.

Room Tip: Our room was above main entrance but you would not have known as it was so quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you choose Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for your recent Weekend Break. Furthermore it is a great pleasure to read that you comment the staff as being attentive and helpful. It is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention the hotel is located within walking distance of the Central Railway station and also within reach of many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#31 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#69 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#92 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,036 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam

Property: Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing