We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Weekend in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #23 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Weekend in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

After a business trip to Paris, I decided to spend the weekend in Amsterdam before flying back to the States. I booked 3 nights in pre-paid room (better rate) at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City. It was quick (5 minute) walk from Centraal Station and I could not have been happier with my stay. The hotel is centrally located in a safe neighborhood and the staff were extremely attentive and courteous.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you choose to visit the city of Amsterdam for your 3-day city trip!
As you mention the hotel is very centrally located as it is within walking distance of the Central Railway station and close to many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer!

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is hoping to welcoming you back during one of your future visits to the city!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,801
    1,059
    166
    47
    25
See reviews for
355
1,361
192
557
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Great location, only 5 minutes feom central station which has a direct train from the airport for 4,40 euro. Close to the central city also. My biggest recommendaton is to book the club room! You get internet access (otherwised charged almost 20 euro/day) plus breakfast and snacks/drinks theoughout the day. We rarely ran in to others using the room. The breakfast was great (croissants/rolls/ham/cheese/yogurt/cereal etc), and we took a late afternoon break each day and would go get a glass or two of wine or beer and some appetizers before heading out for the night. One could easily make a meal iut of the food they offered there. Well worth the money for us.

Service was great, not a single problem or complaint during our stay. Someone else commented on slow internet, we had no problems with this.

Helpful?
4 Thank Annakru
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay in one of our Club Rooms. It is true that when booking a Club Room you are able to enjoy various benefits. For example extra amenties which are available in your room as a Nespresso machine and Rituals bath amenities but also access to our Club Lounge. In the Club Lounge you can start your day with a nice breakfast and also drinks and snacks are available for you all day long!

Furthermore it is also wonderful to read that you classify to overall service as being great!
The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is looking forward to welcoming you back during one of your future visits to the city!


Kind regards,


Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel, first class service from the staff, clean and modern rooms and great food. The hotel is so central for many attractions, canal cruises, bus trips and walking tours around central Amsterdam. It is also very close (5 mins walk) from Central train station with quick links to the airport. My wife and I found many bars and cafe's nearby the hotel. We will certainly return again on our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and that you will certainly return to our property!

It is great to read that you appreciated the service provided by our staff and that you enjoyed having food and drinks in our New Dorrius restaurant and bar.

As you mention, the location of the hotel is very convenient, close to many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer and close to public transport stops.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back during one of your future visits to the city of Amsterdam!

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Very happy with our stay at this hotel. We stayed 2 nights and location was ideal for us. Easy access to attractions, restaurants, train station, trams, port. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elly016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you comment our hotel as being “Top notch”! As you mention the hotel is an ideal starting point when exploring the city of Amsterdam. This because public transport, many nice restaurants and bars, the shopping street and many highlights of Amsterdam as the Jordaan, Dam Square, the Red Light District and the Anne Frank house are located within walking distance.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant hotel, amazing staff, nothing is too much trouble. Try the food in the bar! Delicious!
Central to attractions and shopping. Concierge very helpful with maps and directions. Would definatley recommend this hotel and if we go back to Amsterdam we will certainly be staying there.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Glenn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear valued guest,

It is a great pleasure to read that you coment the hotel as being excellent and the staff as being amazing. It is a great pleasure to read that our staff was able to assist you with your inquiries and that because of this your trip was a successful one!

Furthermore it is wonderful to read that you enjoyed food and beverages in our New Dorrius restaurant and bar. It is a great pleasure to read that you comment this as being delicious!

Thank you for recommending the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and we are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, OH
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Hotel staff is the best, very knowledgeable and courteous! The hotel location is a plus, near the train station, flower markets, etc. Rooms are small (typical Europe), but very clean and comfortable. Check out the "Coffee Connection" next to the hotel. Captain Dave brews a great cup!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dberk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre because of the location and our knowledgeable and courteous staff. Thank you for sharing this with us as it is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is ideal when exploring the city. As you mention the hotel is located close to the central railway station and many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer!

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is hoping to welcoming you back during one of your future visits to the city!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensalem, Pa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The location of the Crowne Plaza was very convenient to all of the major attractions. The concierge can provide al necessary tickets to the major sites, including metro passes for transportation. The hotel staff were phenomenal and went out of their way to make visitors feel welcome.

Room Tip: when you book your room, request a king or queen. Many of the rooms come with single beds. Internet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you classify to staff as being phenomenal and that they were able to satisfy all your needs during your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

I definitely agree in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient, as you mention it is close to many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer and close to public transport stops as well as to the Central Railway station.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we are looking forward to welcoming you back one day in Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#27 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#72 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#51 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#18 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#82 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing