We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Superb hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #20 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Hotel is excellent, spotlessly clean, service is impeccable. Huge and comfortable beds, suitable for both business and vacation trips. 5 min walk from Dam Square and Centraal Station. Perfect location for shopping. Hotel is a little pricey and member of InterContinental Hotels Group but it comes with major benefits.

Choose it if you want to enjoy deep sleep & relaxation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank criticalgabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you comment the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre as being excellent and with impeccable service. It is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do.

As you mention the hotel is suitable for both; business and leisure guests and located ideal
looking at the distance from the public transport, the shopping street, many nice restaurants and bars and many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer!

We hope to welcome you back during your next visit to the city of Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,724
    1,027
    159
    46
    24
See reviews for
339
1,299
186
536
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
129 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed here over the weekend of the Mardi Gras. Had a club king room facing the courtyard which was very quiet with no street noise. Room was large with a couch/sofa bed and nice large writing table.

Location was perfect, a stone's throw from central station and a nice pedestrian shopping street right next to the hotel. Prices were reasonable and I was allowed an early check in at 9 am with no extra charge. I liked their local bathroom amenities which was different from the usual Crowne Plaza ones.

All in all, a good stay and location be it for tourists or business. The club king rooms can accommodate a sofa bed at no extra charge, but you do need to write in to the hotel to request for them as there are not many of them. Well worth the extra expenditure.

However, club lounge is pretty basic. Some finger foods and snacks and drinks. Unmanned most of the time as well. Computers in it are slow and the internet speeds there not that great.

Room Tip: courtyard facing rooms a lot quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flitting_bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that we were able to provide you with an early check in, we will allways do our utbest to provide you with a room as soon as one is available.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient, as you mention the hotel is within walking distance of the Central Railway station and also within reach of the shopping street and many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer!

We hope to welcome you back during one of your future visits to the city of Amsterdam!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is our second stay in this hotel, were we stayed this time for four night.

Simply perfect staff always smiling and helpful, great location walking distance to all the activities and attractive areas.

I would like to thank all hotel’s staff.

Recommendation, I recommend everyone to stay in this hotel and personally I will stay next time

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ahmed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a pleasure to read that this was your second stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and it is also wonderful to read that we were able to create that 'feel at home' feeling as this is what we are aiming for!

Thank you very much for recommending our hotel and it is a great pleasure to read that you will return to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre one day! We are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Came to amsterdam without a plan or hotel booking. Found the crowne plaza just down the street from amsterdam centraal station and Michael Sowett at the front desk gave us the most amazing service. He went above and beyond to upgrade our suite and gave us a couple of free rounds at the hotel restaurant. He even recommended and made reservations for us at a wonderful italian restaurant. He really made our stay in amsterdam special. The hotel was amazingly clean and modern. I recommend this hotel to everyone! Best customer service ive ever had!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank staceysumners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that one of our Front Desk agents was able to provide you with the most amazing service and that because of him your stay even become more special.

It is wonderful to read that you comment that you experienced the best customer service and that you recommend our hotel to everyone!

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is hoping to welcoming you back one day!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night before embarking on a river cruise. Although there were quite a few of us, the hotel had us preregistered and we were in our delightful rooms in no time. We were able to walk on a nearby street to a small restaurant where we had a delightful meal. In the early evening, we enjoyed conversation and beverages in the lounge with friends. The staff of the hotel went out of their way at all times to be accommodating and helpful. We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast buffet before we left the next morning. I would want to stay here again if we were fortunate enough to be in Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judyrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, F&B Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that we were able to assist you with a fast and effective check in together with the other passengers of the river cruise.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient as you mention the hotel is surrounded by many nice restaurants and bars and also the hotel itself offers a nice bar, restaurant and lounge. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed having breakfast in our New Dorrius restaurant and bar. This sumptuous breakfast will keep you going all day!

It is wonderful to read that you mention that you will return to our hotel when returning to Amsterdam. The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio De Janeiro
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I have stayed in this hotel a few times, and in all of them we were given upgraded suites, which included Nespresso machines, free wifi and other perks. Modern and sophisticated decor, helpful staff and extremely comfortable rooms are not the top reasons we keep coming back, but its amazing location, just 5 minutes walk from the central train station (which rounds up to a total 20 minutes from Schiphol airport by train), as well as shopping and dining areas, and main attractions. I'd say the hotel is perfect, if it wasn't for the high prices - but then, this is Amsterdam, and you pay for what you get.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alnasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a pleasure to read that you are a loyal guest of the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.
Furthermore it is also wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay in one of our suites which are indeed equipped with a Nespresso machine, Rituals bath amenities and many more benefits.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention the hotel is is located within walking distance of the Central Railway station which has direct trains leaving to Schiphol Airport. In the surroundings of the hotel are many nice bars and restaurants located, also the shopping street starts right around the corner!

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmore, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Just 200m from the railway station it was an easy walk with suitcase after catching the train from the airport. The Crowne Plaza appeared in what looked to be a small building, but this opened up to be a lovely open space inside. Large foyer and lounge on the ground floor complemented by their restaurant flowing through.
THe rooms were all clean fresh & modern with only two minor issues the aircon not being able to keep the room cool enough on a warm summers day & the water/shower pressure/design could have been much better. Hotel staff were great to deal with and answered all my queries in no time, and I was on my way to explore Amsterdam which was just a short stroll to Dam Square, shops, red light district and canal boat rides.
Enjoyed my stay and look forward to coming back when next in Amsterdam

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Pordy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Housekeeping Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you were surprised concerning the interior of the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and did not expect it to be so spacious as it turned out to be.

It is also a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the cleanliness of our modern rooms however I am sorry to read you discomfort concerning the air-conditioning, I hope this did not influence your stay negatively, if you experience an issue like this again please inform us and we will be happy to let our maintenance department inspect the room or provide you with a different room. Furthermore it is a great pleasure to read that the staff was able to satisfy your needs and that you were able to view all the main highlights of Amsterdam!

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you are looking forward to returning to our hotel! The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Marian Jones
Executive Housekeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,280 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 960 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 547 reviews
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#22 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing