We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent service and welcome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lowest Price Promise
Ranked #21 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent service and welcome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night before embarking on a river cruise. Although there were quite a few of us, the hotel had us preregistered and we were in our delightful rooms in no time. We were able to walk on a nearby street to a small restaurant where we had a delightful meal. In the early evening, we enjoyed conversation and beverages in the lounge with friends. The staff of the hotel went out of their way at all times to be accommodating and helpful. We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast buffet before we left the next morning. I would want to stay here again if we were fortunate enough to be in Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judyrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, F&B Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that we were able to assist you with a fast and effective check in together with the other passengers of the river cruise.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient as you mention the hotel is surrounded by many nice restaurants and bars and also the hotel itself offers a nice bar, restaurant and lounge. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed having breakfast in our New Dorrius restaurant and bar. This sumptuous breakfast will keep you going all day!

It is wonderful to read that you mention that you will return to our hotel when returning to Amsterdam. The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,660
    996
    158
    45
    23
See reviews for
315
1,247
183
528
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio De Janeiro
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I have stayed in this hotel a few times, and in all of them we were given upgraded suites, which included Nespresso machines, free wifi and other perks. Modern and sophisticated decor, helpful staff and extremely comfortable rooms are not the top reasons we keep coming back, but its amazing location, just 5 minutes walk from the central train station (which rounds up to a total 20 minutes from Schiphol airport by train), as well as shopping and dining areas, and main attractions. I'd say the hotel is perfect, if it wasn't for the high prices - but then, this is Amsterdam, and you pay for what you get.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alnasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a pleasure to read that you are a loyal guest of the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.
Furthermore it is also wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay in one of our suites which are indeed equipped with a Nespresso machine, Rituals bath amenities and many more benefits.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention the hotel is is located within walking distance of the Central Railway station which has direct trains leaving to Schiphol Airport. In the surroundings of the hotel are many nice bars and restaurants located, also the shopping street starts right around the corner!

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmore, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Just 200m from the railway station it was an easy walk with suitcase after catching the train from the airport. The Crowne Plaza appeared in what looked to be a small building, but this opened up to be a lovely open space inside. Large foyer and lounge on the ground floor complemented by their restaurant flowing through.
THe rooms were all clean fresh & modern with only two minor issues the aircon not being able to keep the room cool enough on a warm summers day & the water/shower pressure/design could have been much better. Hotel staff were great to deal with and answered all my queries in no time, and I was on my way to explore Amsterdam which was just a short stroll to Dam Square, shops, red light district and canal boat rides.
Enjoyed my stay and look forward to coming back when next in Amsterdam

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Pordy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Housekeeping Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you were surprised concerning the interior of the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and did not expect it to be so spacious as it turned out to be.

It is also a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the cleanliness of our modern rooms however I am sorry to read you discomfort concerning the air-conditioning, I hope this did not influence your stay negatively, if you experience an issue like this again please inform us and we will be happy to let our maintenance department inspect the room or provide you with a different room. Furthermore it is a great pleasure to read that the staff was able to satisfy your needs and that you were able to view all the main highlights of Amsterdam!

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you are looking forward to returning to our hotel! The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Marian Jones
Executive Housekeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel in a great position. Rooms are one of the best in the city and the personnel is fantastic.
I travelled with my wife and my one year old boy and we found the place very confortable and welcoming.
I would surely suggest it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pakkone_viaggiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you comment the staff as being fantastic! It is also a pleasure to read that you felt welcoming and comfortable. I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient as it is located close the several public transport stops and within walking distance of many highlights which Amsterdam has to offer!

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we are looking forward to welcome you back during your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We spent four nights at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Central and were really happy with our stay there.

The pros:

Extremely friendly, helpful, professional staff - everyone from front desk staff to the waiting staff in the lounge went out of their way to make our stay more pleasant. Husband, who works online at night, was treated to a complimentary cuppa on his fourth night in the lounge and couldn't chirp loudly enough about it - way to win round an Englishman!

Comfortable, spacious rooms with large, cosy beds - plus the little aromatherapy kit you get for bedtime. Communal areas also really well set out and nice to spend time in.

Reasonable price - you get a lot for your money.

Great location - close to central station, plenty of streets to explore, lots of restaurants and cafes nearby. Would recommend location no problem.

Cons:

Only a couple of cons -

- Noisy room: Our room was at the front of the hotel, opposite the lift and above the breakfast room. With the tram outside and people coming in and out, it got quite noisy, particularly on the Friday and Saturday night. In future, would probably take advantage of the "Quiet Zone" that the hotel advertises.

- Internet access really patchy in the room: often, we just couldn't get online from our room and had to come down to the lounge to work. Not a huge issue, just a bit of a pain and would've hoped for better as internet is 20€ a day.

- Tiny teacups! The cups in the room were *teeeeeeeeeny* tiny! Bigger cups would be better. But, if that's all you have to complain about, things are looking pretty OK ;)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lehearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Housekeeping Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time for writing and sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you chose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to spend your 4-night city trip in!

It is wonderful to read that you compliment the staff as being friendly, helpful and professional. It is also a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the room and the sleeping advantage kit. This package includes two mini solutions for a better night’s sleep. One is named ‘ breath in’ ; this eucalyptus spray clears the head and helps you breathe more easily with a blend of Frankincense. The other one is the deep calm pillow spray; this a fusion of calming oils to relax and calm including lavender, Vetivert and Camomile.

However with reference concerning your comment about the internet I would like to inform you that all our Rewards Club members receive complimentary internet, enrolment for this programme is free of charge and can be arranged directly in our hotel. I do apologize for the fact that that the signal was weak in your room, please inform us if this occurs again and we will be happy to assist you in stabilising the signal for you during your stay.

Once again, thank you for your comment and the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is looking forward to welcome you back!

Kind regards,

Marian Jones
Executive Housekeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Hard to say anything other than GREAT!! Great Staff, rooms, location, service, value, etc. This is a top rate hotel in a great location. I highly recommend it for any purpose. I had been there on business, but this time was vacation with family. Perfect timing after the long flight to have an easy train to the city, and then short walk to the hotel, then off to the races and see the sights. Will always stay here when in AMS.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wheredoiLiveanyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a pleasure to read that you comment your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre as bein great! It is wonderful that you enjoyed the rooms, the location and the service delivered by our staff. It is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do.

It is a great pleasure to read that you highly recommend our property for either business and leisure travellers. As you mention the location of the hotel is very convenient as it is located close to the Central Railway station which offers direct trains to the Airport Schiphol.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back during one of your future visits to the city!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Located between the Central station and Dam Place, from the hotel you can easily reach all the touristic attractions of the city; moreover, there are lot of nice restaurants in the nearby.
We had a family room wich was comfortable and quiet.
At the concierge you can book museum tickets so you can avoid queueing at the museums tickets counters. You can also buy tram tickets (the tram stops few steps far from the hotel entrance).
Recommended both for tourism and business travel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ar0undthew0rld66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time for writing and sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you recommended our hotel either to business or leisure travellers. It is also a pleasure to read that our concierges were able to assist you with the requested tickets and that you enjoyed the location of the hotel. I agree with you in saying that the location is very convenient as we are close to public transport stops as well as within walking distance of many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer!

We hope to welcome you back during one of your future visits to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#29 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,014 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 839 reviews
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing