We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A fast and improvised trip to Amsterdam ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #21 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

3,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,761
    1,036
    161
    46
    25
See reviews for
346
1,328
188
542
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located! The accommodations were great and the staff was wonderful! It's within walking distance of everything in the heart of Amsterdam and right accross the street from a fantastic Italian restaurant..... yeah I said Italian! There is a massive italian influence in Amsterdam! Enjoy !!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiveGirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you comment the accommodation as being great and the staff as being wonderful. It is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention it is located in the heart of Amsterdam and within walking distance of public transport stops as well as many of Amsterdam's highlights!

Once again, thank you for your comment and we hope to welcome you back during one of your future visits to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thoiry
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Certainly the best Crowne Plaza I have stayed in. Very convenient location, a short walk from Central Station but in a quiet street. Very well run with a harmonious atmosphere. Reception staff were very professional and helpful. Our room was very clean, comfortable and well furnished in a pleasing modern style. Good bed and mattress, leading to good sleep. WiFi worked well although a cabled connection was also available on the desk. Prices in the bar and even the room mini-bar were reasonable. Helpful and knowledgeable concierge service. Good breakfast buffet selection, with the all-important espresso coffee available (I remember being charged extra for that in a Crowne Plaza in the UK but that did not happen here). Breakfast staff were also very helpful. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmjstandin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you mention that the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is the best Crowne Plaza you ever stayed in!

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient, as you mention it is close to the Central Railway station and close to many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

It is also a pleasure to read that you were able to have a good sleep in one of our comfortable beds and that you enjoyed breakfast in our New Dorrius bar and restaurant. Overall it is a great pleasure to read that you comment the staff you encountered as being friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. It is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do.

We hope to welcome you back during one of your future visits to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Its a chain I know, but the staff here couldn't have been more helpful, booking a canal cruise for us, upgrading our room, suggesting other things we might like to see and do. The room was lovely after a long day of sightseeing in the rain, quiet, great beds and nespresso machine. We also ate at the hotel as we were going on the evening cruise later and it was a better than acceptable meal - and the staff were delightful with the little Spanish boy at the next table. 5 minutes walk from Centraal Station (which is also where the canal cruises depart from), 15 minutes stroll from Anne Frank Huis, 20 minutes from Rijksmuseum, really convenient for all the main sights or just strolling the canals

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenpon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you comment that the staff could not have been more helpful. It is wonderful to read that our concierge was able to arrange tickets for the canal cruise and you appreciated the upgrade to one of our Club Rooms.

It is also a pleasure to read that you enjoyed diner in our New-Dorrius restaurant and bar. Our modern New Dorrius Restaurant & Bar offers a relaxing atmosphere. Enjoy delicious Dutch classics or international favourites. Meet each other for a cup of coffee during the day in our New Dorrius Bar, or for a cocktail in the evening.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention it is within walking distance of the Central Railway station and close to many highlights Amsterdam has to offer.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is hoping to welcome you back in the future!

Kind regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

WoW ! to the location, staff, rooms and the service. This was one of the best stays in series of 10 hotels from different brands. A very nice upgrade to a chalet type room. Hotel is in a central Amsterdam and close to everything. Waling distance from the central station ( max 5 minutes ) . Nespresso machines in the room, complementary dutch chocolate and wine ! Amazing bed , overal Very Very Recommended Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rooz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you comment the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre as one of the best stays of the 10 hotels you visited.

It is also wonderful to read that you appreciated the upgrade to one of our Club Rooms, the Dutch chocolates and the wine to make your stay even more enjoyable.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient, as you mention it is close to the Central Railway station and close to many of Amsterdam’s highlights.

We are looking forward to welcome you back during one of your future visits to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

we have been staying in the hotel for a company meeting in august. he hotel is very centric, close to everything. the room i had was on the first floor,it was very quiet and very clean.the food was quite nice. they have a terrace conneted to a meeting room fully equipped. the service was perfect. the treatment of hotel personnel was very kind. overall one of the best hotels with good price...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NuriDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for a recent company meeting. I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention the hotel is close to everything as the Central Railway station but also many of Amsterdam’s highlights.

It is wonderful to read that you had a conference meeting in our meeting room ‘Millenium Star’ on the 6th floor of our hotel, as you mention this meeting room has access to a really nice terrace overlooking the city of Amsterdam.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is hoping to welcome you back during your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The Crowne Plaza is such a stunning space; very simple to find and easy to walk to from Centraal Station. Check-in was a breeze and we were entitled to an upgrade, which was all in order. The one sour note at check-in was that I inquired as to whether breakfast was included in our rate, I was rather sniffily informed by the haughty desk clerk that I was already receiving a "generous" upgrade (which is something that I've earned under the terms of my membership in a loyalty program, which I've been a part of longer than this young lady has been alive). A simple "no, breakfast is not part of this rate," would have sufficed - I didn't need the lecture.

Our room was beautiful and had a lovely balcony overlooking the neighborhood. Two things were a bit difficult to manage, though they are somewhat small niggles. The skylight shines in on you as you're sleeping, and the sun rises early-ish in May. If you want to sleep in and you happen to be on the wrong side of the bed, as I was, you're out of luck. Also, the duvets were slightly too heavy for the temperature of the room, yet the room was slightly too cool to sleep without being covered, so our sleep was not undisturbed - we were up and down all night due to either being too warm or too cold.

We weren't able to use any facilities on-site so can't comment on those. We did ask at the bar for a bottle of sparkling water, and the barman sighed over it as if we were requesting one of his kidneys. He did provide it, but we could have done without the drama.

It's a gorgeous hotel, and the location and sumptuousness of the space ensures that we will be staying there in the future, at least two or three times a year. We just hope that the staff will grow to understand that polite requests or questions (as ours were framed) should be met with courteous replies - they are the face of the brand and it's the interactions we have with them that we most remember, after all.

Room Tip: We were on a higher floor, which was very quiet, so that's a good thing to ask for when reservin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silentsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a pleasure to read that you comment the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre as being a stunning place! As you mention the hotel is located close to the Central Railway station and close to many of Amsterdam's highlights.

However I am sorry to read that there was some miscommunication concerning the breakfast package. We truly appreciate our loyal Rewards Club guests and therefore I would like to offer you my sincere apologies concerning your check-in experience. We would like to prevent this from happening again therefore I would like to receive some aditional information concerning your experience. If possible please contact me directly via maurice.janssen@ihg.com

On the other hand it is great to read that you enjoyed the room with balcony. I would like to inform you that you can personally change the airconditioning temperature to your liking tom make sure that you will have a good sleep at night.

Once again thank you very much for your feedback, this is very important to us as this way we are able to monitor and improve our services continually.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#28 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,113 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#18 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#15 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#47 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing