We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, fairly good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Ranked #25 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
British Isles
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location, fairly good hotel”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Hotel in a great location right near Central station although the rooms do not enjoy any special views. Hotel very clean and service excellent. Rooms a little small but perfectly adequate. 4/5 overall

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NW76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. As you mention it is close to the central railway station as well as the tram stop and many of Amsterdam’s highlights! It is a great pleasure that you comment the service delivered as being excellent, it is always a pleasure to read when staff is delivering the service they do.

We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,816
    1,067
    165
    47
    25
See reviews for
358
1,366
194
562
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here on a quick visit to amsterdam for 3 nights - the hotel itself is very close to the central train station so only takes a 5 minute walk acorss the main road to reach. We booked a Club Room - so we had a room on the top floor - and also access to the club lounge. The club lounge is pretty average at best - the food isnt really very good. So in saying that i would reccomend booking an upgraded room and just paying for breakfast and drinks.
The hotel concierge is very helpful with tram passes and roccomendations also.
The rooms are very modern and well maintained - if you want peace and quiet they have a dedicated quiet zone too, just request on checkin.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandsqtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for your 3-day city trip. I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient as it is situated close to the central railway station as well as to many of the highlights which Amsterdam has to offer.

It is also a pleasure to read that you enjoyed staying in our of our Club rooms. As you mention a benefit of these rooms is that you can enjoy complimentary Club Lounge access. Club guests enjoy browsing complimentary newspapers over breakfast, and return to use complimentary high speed internet and snacks and drinks until 11 pm.

It is correct that we dispose over special Quiet Zones in our hotel. These rooms are extra quiet to make sure you can relax and enjoy even better!

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is looking forward to welcome you back!

Kind regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River, Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

A great hotel right in the city so it was so easy to walk to all of the sights, we had a great room with a good breakfast at 19 euros each!
Staff we very helpful and very smart.
The one draw back was that the wifi was very expensive, this should be free in such a good hotel!!!
We have stayed in lots of hotels and have enjoyed free wifi in much smaller hotels so Crowne Plza need to review there policy on this.

Room Tip: We were on the side of the Hotel and it was very quiet so we had a great nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 742malcolms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre because of the city center location! It is also a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the breakfast served in our New Dorrius restaurant and bar.

However I am sorry to read that the wifi was not to your liking. I would like to inform you that as from the 1st of July we provide complimentary internet to all our Base, Gold and Platinum IHG rewards club members. To become an IHG base member of our loyalty program you can enrol directly at our hotel and is free of charge.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is looking forward to welcome you back!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Great hotel!! Could not have asked for a better hotel,minutes from the train station minutes from everything. The staff was more than helpful with everything. Food was a bit pricey but with all of the eateries around it didn't matter. We will stay here again,kind of pricey compared to US but it was well worth it.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladyjayleene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay and comment that you could not have asked for a better hotel. This is of course a great pleasure to read! I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient as it is close to the central railway station and within walking distance of many of Amsterdam’s highlights.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is looking forward to welcome you back!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Had a lovely City break here with my partner in April, And my first time to Amsterdam, The hotel is lovely, and the location doesnt get any better really,
We found the staff to be really polite and i was really impressed with our room which was spacious and spotless. The breakfast was also very good with a great choice.
Some one else mentioned noise from the streets at the front of the hotel we also found this a touch annoying but we had a couple of drinks most nites so it wasnt an issue :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blake H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Housekeeping Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for your first city break to Amsterdam. It is also wonderful to read that all the staff you encountered was polite and that you enjoyed the size and the cleanliness of the room.

It is also a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the American breakfast buffet in our New-Dorrius restaurant and bar. Our New Dorrius Restaurant and bar provides you indeed with a sumptuous breakfast that keeps you going all day.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community. The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is hoping to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Marian Jones
Executive Housekeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is one of the best hotels I've ever been. Close to everything in Amsterdam and only a couple of blocks from central station. Very comfy and abd good services. The wify is very expensive though :(

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fsanteira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that comment the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre as being one of the best hotels you have ever been! I agree with you in saying that the location is very central, as you mention close to the city centre as well as the central railway station.

However I am sorry to read that you find the wifi a little expensive. I would like to inform you that as per the first of July all the internet for our Club, Gold and Platinum IHG Rewards Club members is free of charge! Enrolment to become a club member is free of charge and can be arranged directly at the hotel. Hopefully this new service will motivate you to return to our hotel!

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is looking forward to welcome you back!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
379 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 644 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed for three nights as part of a rail tour visiting the UK, Denmark, Germany and The Netherlands. I am a Priority Club/IHG Rewards member so chose this hotel in Amsterdam. It is very conveniently located near the central railway station. The room was comfortable and the breakfast was more than adequate. The hotel is probably more suited to corporate/business visitors but is still very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrandonDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre as part of your rail tour through Europe. It is also a great pleasure to read that you are a loyal member of our IHG rewards club, thank you very much for this!

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay in one of our comfortable rooms and that you enjoyed breakfast in our New Dorrius restaurant and bar! We of course like to welcome both groups; leisure and business travellers and also dispose over facilities for both!

We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#62 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#90 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,118 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#57 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam

Property: Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton De Witt is the first Kimpton hotel outside the Americas, a true debut in Europe. The hotel is situated in the heart of Amsterdam's vibrant city centre and near Amsterdam’s Centraal station. Set within three original Renaissance-era buildings, it features 274 guest rooms, including 15 signature rooms and suites, and eight meeting rooms. Wyers Bar & Restaurant, run by Executive Chef SammyD, offers American comfort food with a Dutch twist. In line with Kimpton’s innovative and playful approach to design, the hotel features a “house within a hotel” – a four-storey ‘Little House’ which was once the childhood home of Dutch playwright, P.C. Hooft and dates back to the 1500s. Other distinctive features include a flower shop within the hotel and a Miss Louisa Coffee & Beignets walk-up window for locals to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing