We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best location in Amsterdam city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Ranked #25 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dubai
Level Contributor
70 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best location in Amsterdam city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

only 5 mints walk to Amsterdam central station and everything is at a walking distance, as for room I stayed at superior room which is specious and nesspresso machine, over service in the hotel is very good and helpful staff, business center was a positive point.
this hotel is the will be my only choice when visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Khalil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Housekeeping Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed you stay because of the service in our hotel.
The room type you describe is one of our Club Rooms, these are indeed equipped with additional facilities as a Nespresso machine and Rituals bath products.

It is wonderful to find that the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is your only option when visiting Amsterdam! The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is looking forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,

Marian Jones
Executive Housekeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,815
    1,067
    166
    47
    25
See reviews for
359
1,366
194
562
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
462 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times over the last few years, and I noticed a marked improvement in the service and quality of the staff. I usually book a club room, and have commented in the past the club food and wine options were very limited. They have improved the quality of offerings in the club lounge. There a still some things that can be improved, the gym ceiling height is too low for any one that is tall to us the equipment. I tried and cut my head.
The extra happy hour from 11pm to midnight is nice, especially as it gets dark in summer around 10-10:30pm. The room was at the front of the hotel and the noise from the trams, vehicles and people is little annoying.

Room Tip: The club rooms are good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigRuss1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is a great pleasure to read that you noticed a marked improvement in the service and quality of the staff. It is also wonderful to read that you noticed that we have improved our food and beverages assortment in our Club Lounge.

It is also a pleasure to read that you visited our New-Dorius restaurant during the happy hour in the evening where you will receive two drinks for the price of one!

Once again thank you very much for sharing your experience on TripAdvsor. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed 2 nights in this hotel. The location is great. Walking distance from everything ! At check in i had a very friendly staff but he checked us in to a room already occupied. I know this mistake happens sometimes but i was happy that the guest was not naked it yet ! I came back to reception to get an other room. The room was okay but nothing exeptional. Not very big but a nice bed. The view was...no view (facing an other part of the hotel) and the room service was good but the english speaking of the staff by night was a litle bit hard to understand. Anyway thanks to the location and the quality of the bed we had a lovely stay but nothing amazing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ri59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

Once again my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced upon check in. Of course this is a mistake which should not have happened and there is not excuse for this. I hope that the solution offered in our hotel was to your satisfaction and that you were still able to enjoy your stay.

It is a pleasure to read that you did enjoy the location of our hotel. I agree with you as the hotel is located in the city centre of Amsterdam, close to various types of public transport and close to many of
Amsterdam’s highlights.

We hope that this experience does not stop you from returning to our hotel as we would love to welcome you back at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

As part of a tour group my husband and I stayed at this hotel. We were assigned our rooms having put in a request through our tour director for a double bed. Once again, as in many places in Europe, we were given a room with twin beds. Others in our group traveling solo were given king beds. That seems rather silly when preferences were given. The room was comfortable and large. Unfortunately we were not impressed by the City itself. It is dirty and it was rather sad seeing lots of people walking around "spaced" out, but I guess that's what it's all about in Amsterdam!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheeky34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you stayed in our hotel as part of a tour group. I am sorry to read that you did not receive your preferred room type. It is not problem for us to assist you by offering you a room move to the preferred room if available. I hope you were still able to enjoy a good sleep in our hotel!

Amsterdam has many highlights to offer, for instance museums and monumental buildings for sightseeing so luckily the impression you received is not only what Amsterdam is about!

Kind regards,

Marian Jones
Executive Housekeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I love Amsterdam! All people I met in my two trips there have been very friendly and cordial.

Thanks to Moevenpick customer service (you can read that in my other review) we ended up at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

We were so pleased! All staff at the hotel was helpful and friendly. The rooms were a good size, the beds very comfortable, location was fantastic, and the breakfast buffet, amazing. Their mini muffins specially, among the best ones I have ever had.

Absolutely 2 thumbs up!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerFromToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. It is a pleasure to read that all the staff you encountered was friendly and helpful. It is always good to hear when staff is delivering the service they do.

It is also a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed the American breakfast buffet in our New-Dorrius restaurant and bar and that you classify this one as one of the best you ever had! This breakfast is definitely a good start and will keep you going all day long!

We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Loved this hotel..location could not be better...hotel is clean, comfortable, service is great...rooms are very comfortable...bathrooms are great...felt great too saty here...I highly recomend it...Gym is good...shopping around the corner...cafes around the other corner...

Room Tip: All are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Verinder G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you love our hotel and that your experience could not have been any better and that the service you experienced was great.

It is a great pleasure to read that you highly recommend our hotel. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

The location of the hotel was perfect, close to Central Station, Hop on Hop off canal boats go from central station, tram line by hotel and 150mtrs for Yellow Bike Tour. But Amsterdam is walkable and Crowne Plaza is ideally situated to visit all the site.
Check in staff were very helpful giving us a map out quick run through of where the best places to visit were on the map.
Room on 5th floor, clean and modern as was the whole hotel.
Just one very small point was we could hear the noise from trams when they started up in the morning. But this did not spoil the stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Sids_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotel is very convenient. The central railway station is located within 5 minutes walking distance of the hotel. The public transport also stops right in front of the hotel and will take you to all the highlights of Amsterdam.

It is wonderful to read that our staff was able to provide you with good recommendations and a map of the city which helped you exploring Amsterdam

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience; we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#30 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#68 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#90 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,035 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam

Property: Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing