We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location, full-service hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Ranked #25 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Connecticut
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Convenient location, full-service hotel”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

A little over 2 blocks walk from the train station exit, on major tram lines, easy transport anywhere in town and great location if you plan to do rail daytrips. NOT on a charming street but cross two canal bridges and you've got all the charm most folks need. Small room, no storage space to unpack anything beyond two small nightstand-type drawers in the closet. Everything clean, everything worked. Very friendly front desk staff, good security at the entrance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoOneWillAnswer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the travel community.
It is a pleasure to read that you comment the front desk as being very friendly and the security is being good. It is always good to read when staff is delivering the service they do.

If preferable we do offer the service to send extra luggage racks or cabinets to your room to make sure all your clothes can be unpacked. For your next time please ask the reception to send this up to your room.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotels is very convenient. The hotel is located within walking distance of the central railway station and also public transport stops right in front of the hotel. Also for exploring the city the hotel is a good starting points as Dam square, the Red Light district and the Anne Frank house are located within walking distance.
We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!
Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,816
    1,067
    165
    47
    25
See reviews for
358
1,366
194
562
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed at the CP Amsterdam over Christmas and spent Christmas day here with my wife. The hotel is very modern as a lot of the rooms have been modernised and the rooms are very well laid out. I received a room upgrade and was on a high floor. The room had beams running through it and was quite spacious. On arrival the check in staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
As we stayed over Christmas the hotel was not full so it did seem quite but I enjoyed this. The bar did feel a little bleak due to very few people in there

The location is a 5 min walk from the main station and you can walk very easily to Dam square or into centraal. Its just enough from the noise of the red light district and canals to get a good nights sleep. The beds were very comfy

It’s worth getting a club room or suite as they are good rooms with lots of features and the club lounge was not busy on any occasion we visited it. There is a small selection of wine and beer and also some canapés, which were refreshed regularly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ethixman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the travel community.
It is wonderful to read that you choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to spend your Christmas in! As you mention some of our rooms still have the old wooden beams to create that real Amsterdam feeling of years ago.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the hotels is very convenient. The hotel is located within walking distance of the central railway station and also public transport stops right in front of the hotel. Also for exploring the city the hotel is a good starting points as Dam square, the Red Light district and the Anne Frank house are located within walking distance.

It is a pleasure to read that you stayed in one of our Club Rooms and enjoyed all the benefits that came with that. In the Club Lounge breakfast will be served and afterwards drinks and snacks are available all day long up to 11pm. In the Club Lounge it is also possible the browse through various newspapers and use the computers which are available. Some other benefits of our Club rooms are that there is a Nespresso machine available in your room, Rituals bath products are displayed and you receive complimentary wireless internet.

We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

In the heart of downtown Amsterdam, the CP was within a 5 minute walk to the central train station, 15-20 minute walk to the museum (I Amsterdam sign) and shopping. Easy access to public transit (right in front) and steps central to most everything. Close to the red light district if that interests you, but far enough you wouldn't know it existed.

Rooms were clean and comfortable. Nice bed and bathroom. Staff was very friendly and customer service oriented. Gym was a typical European facility but got the job done. Perfect place to stay while in Amsterdam

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingGuy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAvisor.

It is wonderful to read that you comment on our hotel as being the perfect place to stay while in Amsterdam.
As you mention our hotel is located in the heart of downtown Amsterdam. The central railway station is within five minutes walking distance and also many of Amsterdam’s highlights as the Anne Frank house, the Red Light district and Dam square are located within walking distance.

It is also a pleasure to read that you found to rooms clean and comfortable and that the staff you encountered was friendly and customer service oriented. It is always good to read when staff is delivering the service they do.

We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were met by wonderful, warm staff who did their very best to get us checked in (even though it was 9am in the morning). They offered to store our bags for those of us they couldn't get checked in. The staff made a special fuss of one of our party whose birthday it was. We used the concierge desk who were happy to mark on maps restaurants we were looking for and get large taxis for our party of 6. Overall, I'd say they were more than happy to help in anyway they could.

The room was lovely, big and clean. the coffee and tea making facilities were excellent quality (Nespresso) and they were refreshed often. It's in a great location without being in the middle of the red light district (something we wanted to avoid). It's literally round the corner from the train station too making it easy to get to and from the airport. They also have a nice bar area on the ground floor. I really was very very impressed at the level of service we received - this for me is what makes a good hotel great!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkiandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Housekeeping Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAvisor.

It is wonderful to read that you comment our rooms as being lovely, big and clean and that you appreciated the facilities in your room. All our Club Rooms are equipped with a Nespresso machine, Rituals bath amenities, a mini-bar, flat screen interactive television, a comfortable bed and indeed sockets for almost all plugs standard based in the room.

It is also a pleasure to read that you comment our staff as being wonderful and that we were able to make your friends birthday a memorable event.

As you mention the hotel is located very convenient indeed. Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is located within walking distance from the Central Railway station and within walking distance of Amsterdam’s main highlights and many nice restaurants and bars


We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Marian Jones
Executive Housekeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We spent a long weekend in the city having never been here before. The staff were helpful and knowledgeable and very keen to help. We had to contact reception once for some help and it was on hand almost immediately...it couldn't have been quicker

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAvisor.

It is wonderful to read that you choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to spend your long weekend in! It is also a great pleasure to read that the staff you encountered was helpful, knowledgeable and keen to assist you.

Our location is indeed an ideal base to explore the city as the location is very central. The central railway station is within walking distance and also trams stop right in front of the door which makes it easy to travel around town.

We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsdsw7
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Easy walking distance from Centraal Station. Friendly staff, spotless rooms and priced just right. If you want antiques and narrow staircases you will have to look elsewhere. Location for getting in and out of Amsterdam is a big plus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsdsw7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAvisor.

It is a great pleasure to read your heading ‘Can’t go wrong’ and that you mention that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

I agree with you in mentioning that the location is very convenient, as you mention the hotel is within walking distance from the central railway station. It is also close to many of Amsterdam’s main highlights as the Anne Frank house, Dam Square and the Red Light district.

Our location is indeed a good start to explore the city is the location is very central. Also public transport stops right in front of the door which makes it easy to travel around town.

We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Staff is friendly and hospitable, coming across as sincere in wanting to be helpful. The location is great - central but not rowdy. Easy walking distance to the main train station as well as Dam Square. Rooms are spacious and clean, beds are large and comfortable. Lifts in two locations mean you shouldn't have to wait too long. The breakfast buffet is much better than a standard continental with champagne cocktails on the menu, and espresso-based coffee available on request. Unfortunately, internet still isn't part of the standard room package here and the triggers in the minibar mean you can't store much of your own supplies. Brought a group of 40 in and there were no complaints.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IreneQ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you comment our employees as being friendly, helpful and hospitable. It is always good to read when staff is delivering the service they do.

As you mention the hotel is located very convenient indeed. Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is located within walking distance from the Central Railway station and within walking distance of Amsterdam’s main highlights and many nice restaurants and bars

It is wonderful to find that you truly enjoyed the breakfast buffet. Our New Dorrius Restaurant and bar provides you indeed with a sumptuous breakfast that keeps you going all day.

It is correct that we do not offer free wireless internet however we are looking in to opportunites to change this in the near future. The internet use for our PC Platinum and Gold Elite members is free of charge. As from January 2014 the internet for all our Priority Club members will be free of charge. Enrolment for this loyalty program is free of charge and can be arranged directly at our hotel.

It is also true that we use censored mini-bars, this to track the usage of items. However if you would like to store your own items it is possible to request to move all the items from the minibar or we can send an additional fridge up to your room free of charge of course. This might be a tip for you if you return to our hotel.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre team is hoping to welcome you back on your next trip to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#63 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#90 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,117 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#57 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam

Property: Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton De Witt is the first Kimpton hotel outside the Americas, a true debut in Europe. The hotel is situated in the heart of Amsterdam's vibrant city centre and near Amsterdam’s Centraal station. Set within three original Renaissance-era buildings, it features 274 guest rooms, including 15 signature rooms and suites, and eight meeting rooms. Wyers Bar & Restaurant, run by Executive Chef SammyD, offers American comfort food with a Dutch twist. In line with Kimpton’s innovative and playful approach to design, the hotel features a “house within a hotel” – a four-storey ‘Little House’ which was once the childhood home of Dutch playwright, P.C. Hooft and dates back to the 1500s. Other distinctive features include a flower shop within the hotel and a Miss Louisa Coffee & Beignets walk-up window for locals to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing