We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel in the center of Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Ranked #25 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
281 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in the center of Amsterdam”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. Hotel is very clean and up to date. Hotel staff are very friendly and courteous
Room was comfortable and a good size. Only issue i had was the noise form the street cars. Had a hard time sleeping as it seems like they run all day and night.
I would recommend hotel and go back myself but make sure your room is not facing the tracks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment on Tripadvisor

It is wonderful to read that you would recommend our hotel. It is a pleasure to read that you find our staff very friendly and courteous. It is always good to hear staff delivering the service they do.

I am sorry to hear that the sounds of the street bothered you. The hotel is located in the city centre of Amsterdam and indeed traffic drives here 24-7. Luckily the hotel has different sides and not all rooms are located on the street side. I would recommend you to request for a room in the Quiet zone for your next stay. These rooms are located on higher floors and the sound of the street will not influence your good night sleep.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,817
    1,067
    165
    47
    25
See reviews for
358
1,367
194
562
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This hotel is great located near Amsterdam Central railway station in the city center. Very good for business, too due to great meeting rooms. Very friendly, smiling and helpful staff. Clean. They have "silent part" of the hotel with rooms located towards narrow, silent street. Good prices for its value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment with the travel community.

It is a pleasure to read that you made use of one of our meeting rooms. Indeed we offer 8 meeting rooms which vary in size located in various parts of our hotel.
Some meetings require more than a basic room; they need a creative and stimulating environment. Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centres new and Creative Meeting Space provide a fresh take on traditional meetings. An interactive 3-in1 whiteboard and creative activities intended to invigorate the group as well as flexible seating provide the ideal space for creative planning and idea generation.

Indeed we have a ‘Quiet zone’ in our hotel which are hotel rooms on high floors that are located mostly inwards and are in the silent part of the hotel for an extra good night sleep.

I agree with you in saying that the location of the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is very convenient. The hotel is located within 5 minutes walking distance from the Central Railway Station. Also public transport stops right in front of the hotel and main highlights of Amsterdam are located within walking distance.

However I am sorry to hear that you were not informed concerning the city tax. This is a standard fee that tourists need to pay while staying in Holland. Unfortunately we can not do anything about this city tax as this is a mandatory fee.

We are hoping to welcome you back at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed here for 1 week in summer. Hotel standard was very good, great location , good food, i paid in full prior to traveling with hotels .com. Just be carefull as on departure you are charged with a city tax, no body tells you this untill you check out, argued that my confirmation says paid in full. Yes full, but had to pay approx £30 extra.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angus535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment with the travel community.

It is wonderful to read that you classify the location of the hotel as great. Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is located within 5 minutes walking distance from the Central Railway Station. Also public transport stops right in front of the hotel and main highlights of Amsterdam are located within walking distance.

However I am sorry to hear that you were not informed concerning the payment of city tax. This is a standard fee that tourists need to pay while staying in Holland. Unfortunately we can not do anything about this city tax as this is a mandatory fee.

We are hoping to welcome you back at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Very good location , close to the central station and to city center - Quite and comfortable room - Good restaurant and room services - Very Very nice and attentive staff at the reception.
We will most likely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bzh56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive comment on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you comment our reception staff as being very nice and attentive.

Indeed the location of the hotel is very central. Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is located within 5 minutes walking distance from the Central Railway Station. Also public transport stops right in front of the hotel and main highlights of Amsterdam are located within walking distance.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The hotel was located centrally so we were able to walk all over, including to the popular sites like the 'red light district' and the Anne Frank house... It was a small but nice room - the beds were comfortable and everything was clean. The staff was very friendly, especially the concierge who recommended numerous delicious restaurants for us (and even made our reservations) and circled good spots on a map he provided. But you didn't need to even leave the hotel for meals because the restaurant downstairs had a yummy breakfast buffet, complete with an omelet chef. I will definitely be back to this hotel during my next business trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenCityTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive comment on Tripadvisor.

It is wonderful to find that you truly enjoyed the breakfast buffet. Our New Dorrius Restaurant and bar provides you indeed with a sumptuous breakfast that keeps you going all day.

I am happy to see that the concierge could provide you with numerous delicious restaurants and made a reservation for you. Indeed the location of the hotel is very central. As you already mentioned, main highlights as Dam square, the Red Light district and the Anne Frank house are within walking distance.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Just got back from a 3 day break to Amsterdam, we choose this hotel after all the positive comments it received on here.
I emailed them before i left to tell them we had got married this year, and on a very warm reception welcome by a young trainee we had had a lovely corner room with excellent views, bottle of bubbly in the room and some cakes!
EVERY single person that we met at the hotel was polite friendly and couldn't do enough for us.

There are two restaurants right opposite the hotel main entrance, an Italian and the one next door can't remember the names but wow what lovely food.

The hotel and staff made our short stay fantastic, thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pentland0-0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive comment on Tripadvisor.

It is wonderful to see that you choose our hotel to celebrate your marriage with us. Our staff will always try to make your stay as memorable and special as possible for every occasion.

Indeed, across the street from the hotel are many good quality restaurants located. The Italian one you mention is called Savini and is indeed a very nice restaurant.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

5 minute walk from train station..we had requested an early check in and we were welcomed and taken to a large executive room immediately. Very friendly and helpful staff, gave suggestions for restaurants, sightseeing boat cruises, museums, etc. huge bathroom.. as big as our hotel room in London I think! nice bedding.. super comfortable and quiet room. Executive lounge a nice addition.. with snacks and open bar. Buffet breakfast was excellent. great location for exploring Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment on Tripadvisor.

I am happy to see that we could assist you with your early check in and for providing you with the right information concerning the main highlights of Amsterdam.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed staying in one of our Club rooms. These rooms come with extra amenities as a Nespresso machine and Rituals products. With these room you will also be granted access to the Club Lounge. This is a place where you can Relax and unwind after a busy day at work or in town. The Club Lounge serves breakfast as from 06:30 in the morning and snacks and drinks will be served until 11 pm.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#63 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#89 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,123 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#57 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam

Property: Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton De Witt is the first Kimpton hotel outside the Americas, a true debut in Europe. The hotel is situated in the heart of Amsterdam's vibrant city centre and near Amsterdam’s Centraal station. Set within three original Renaissance-era buildings, it features 274 guest rooms, including 15 signature rooms and suites, and eight meeting rooms. Wyers Bar & Restaurant, run by Executive Chef SammyD, offers American comfort food with a Dutch twist. In line with Kimpton’s innovative and playful approach to design, the hotel features a “house within a hotel” – a four-storey ‘Little House’ which was once the childhood home of Dutch playwright, P.C. Hooft and dates back to the 1500s. Other distinctive features include a flower shop within the hotel and a Miss Louisa Coffee & Beignets walk-up window for locals to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing