We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location - Good room - nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #25 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nice location - Good room - nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Very good location , close to the central station and to city center - Quite and comfortable room - Good restaurant and room services - Very Very nice and attentive staff at the reception.
We will most likely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bzh56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive comment on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you comment our reception staff as being very nice and attentive.

Indeed the location of the hotel is very central. Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is located within 5 minutes walking distance from the Central Railway Station. Also public transport stops right in front of the hotel and main highlights of Amsterdam are located within walking distance.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The hotel was located centrally so we were able to walk all over, including to the popular sites like the 'red light district' and the Anne Frank house... It was a small but nice room - the beds were comfortable and everything was clean. The staff was very friendly, especially the concierge who recommended numerous delicious restaurants for us (and even made our reservations) and circled good spots on a map he provided. But you didn't need to even leave the hotel for meals because the restaurant downstairs had a yummy breakfast buffet, complete with an omelet chef. I will definitely be back to this hotel during my next business trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenCityTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive comment on Tripadvisor.

It is wonderful to find that you truly enjoyed the breakfast buffet. Our New Dorrius Restaurant and bar provides you indeed with a sumptuous breakfast that keeps you going all day.

I am happy to see that the concierge could provide you with numerous delicious restaurants and made a reservation for you. Indeed the location of the hotel is very central. As you already mentioned, main highlights as Dam square, the Red Light district and the Anne Frank house are within walking distance.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Just got back from a 3 day break to Amsterdam, we choose this hotel after all the positive comments it received on here.
I emailed them before i left to tell them we had got married this year, and on a very warm reception welcome by a young trainee we had had a lovely corner room with excellent views, bottle of bubbly in the room and some cakes!
EVERY single person that we met at the hotel was polite friendly and couldn't do enough for us.

There are two restaurants right opposite the hotel main entrance, an Italian and the one next door can't remember the names but wow what lovely food.

The hotel and staff made our short stay fantastic, thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pentland0-0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive comment on Tripadvisor.

It is wonderful to see that you choose our hotel to celebrate your marriage with us. Our staff will always try to make your stay as memorable and special as possible for every occasion.

Indeed, across the street from the hotel are many good quality restaurants located. The Italian one you mention is called Savini and is indeed a very nice restaurant.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

5 minute walk from train station..we had requested an early check in and we were welcomed and taken to a large executive room immediately. Very friendly and helpful staff, gave suggestions for restaurants, sightseeing boat cruises, museums, etc. huge bathroom.. as big as our hotel room in London I think! nice bedding.. super comfortable and quiet room. Executive lounge a nice addition.. with snacks and open bar. Buffet breakfast was excellent. great location for exploring Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank windwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment on Tripadvisor.

I am happy to see that we could assist you with your early check in and for providing you with the right information concerning the main highlights of Amsterdam.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed staying in one of our Club rooms. These rooms come with extra amenities as a Nespresso machine and Rituals products. With these room you will also be granted access to the Club Lounge. This is a place where you can Relax and unwind after a busy day at work or in town. The Club Lounge serves breakfast as from 06:30 in the morning and snacks and drinks will be served until 11 pm.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were placed in a twin room despite our double room request and had to repack our luggage and relocate the following day. That is my only complaint and the reason for 4 star rather than 5 stars. Other than this, we had a very good stay overall.

The location of the hotel is excellent. It is very near to the Amsterral Centraal train station. We talked to our hotel when we arrived and similary when leaving Amsterdam. It was no hassle at all. The canal tours, the bike rental place (MacBike) are near the central, so again hotel location was perfect.

The rooms were moderate size, not spacious not too small. I'd have prefered a shower instead of a bath.

Hotel reception staff was polite and smiling all the time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Izzet Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment with the travel community.

It is wonderful to hear that you qualify the location of the hotel as being excellent. I agree with you on this as it is located close to the Central Railway Station, close to public transport stops and within walking distance of Amsterdam’s main highlights.

However I am sorry to hear that we were not able to provide you with a double room immediately. I am happy to read that we were able to move you the next day despite the uncomfortableness of repacking.

Once again, thank you very much for sharing your comment on Tripadvisor.
These comments are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

2 nights stay in Amsterdam arranged by our good friend has been fantastic. The hotel was very welcoming from the minute we arrived early in the day when we were given a room that was not expected. We were impressed with the staff for the whole weekend. The hotel was very clean with a well appointed room. Most helpful staff offering much advice on many questions. Great access to everywhere in Amsterdam. Only a pity they could not do anything about the weather.

Room Tip: 3 couples stayed in different parts of the hotel, all the same quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment with the travel community.

It is a pleasure to read that your stay in the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre was a fantastic one. I am happy to see that we could assist you with an early check-in. We will always do our out best to provide you with a room also before the actual check in time.

I agree with you in saying that the location is excellent. It has indeed a great access to all places in Amsterdam either by walking or by making use of the public transport which stops in front of the hotel.

Once again, thank you very much for your positive comment.
We are looking forward to welcome you back at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,027 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#27 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#