We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely return.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Ranked #25 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Would definitely return.”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We arrived at the Crowne Plaza at 10 am after an overnight transatlantic flight. We were checked in immediately and in our room by 10:15 am. Being able to relax and then freshen up after the long flight was great. The staff at the front desk and the concierge were very friendly and helpful. The room was on the small side, as noted in other reviews, but not so small that it felt cramped. It was clean, comfortable and modern. The bathroom was great. No complaints whatsoever. The location of the hotel was excellent and we would likely look to book it again should we return to Amsterdam (which I hope we will).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YQG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment on Tripadvisor.

We are always pleased to read that you could check in your room at 10:15 am. We always do our out best to be flexible and to check you in as soon there is an available room also prior check-in time.

It is a pleasure to read that colleagues delivering the service they do. It is an honour to read that you compliment the staff as friendly and helpful.

I agree with you that the location is excellent. The hotel is located in the city centre and within walking distance of many of the highlights Amsterdam has to offer. Also public transport stops in front of the hotel and the central railway station is located on 5 minutes of the hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you are thinking about a second trip to Amsterdam.
The Crowne Plaza team is definitely looking forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,836
    1,075
    167
    47
    25
See reviews for
360
1,380
196
568
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indian in london
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Crowne plaza is pretty close to the central station. so it is very accessible by rail and the station is a very short commute from airport.
a number of trams stop right in front of the hotel.
The hotel's rooms are nice, clean and reasonably spacious.
very nice lounge area to relax in the evening.
the restaurant in the hotel is very good, but then there are so many other restaurants nearby that you are spoilt for choice.
the breakfast is the usual buffet spread but rather expensive at 25 euro a pop.
go to a nearby hotel or even McD is v v close by.
all in all a great hotel and would visit them again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mad.nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

We are delighted to read that the service was excellent and the hotel was in close proximity to everything you needed.

It is also lovely to read that you have visited our Restaurant & Bar New Dorrius and that you find our food to be very good. Our stylish yet relaxed restaurant and bar offers an inspiring menu that includes Dutch classics and international favourites with a Dutch twist. We are sorry to read that you find our breakfast "expensive". We do our best to deliver a diversity of products within our Full American breakfast buffet and egg station.

Again thank you for your review and we look forward welcoming you back in Amsterdam soon.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is one of the nicest city hotels I have stayed in. From the welcome from the lovely Silvie as soon as we walked through the door, to the beautifully appointed rooms, i can only say positive things. We opted for the business lounge add-on and it was a great idea. The food was always fresh with a great choice, and some tasty candies! It was more than enough for breakfast. The rooms have some unique touches like aromatherapy spray for your pillow, different types of plugs on the wall, and small reading lights by the beds. I travelled with 2 children and the hotel was more than happy to provide us with an xtra bed. We had a room at the back which was quiet. All the room are a bit different so ask them to choose one which fits your needs. The location is perfect, 5 mins from the train station and with several trams lines right in front of the door. I cannot say enough how lovely all the staff were.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryOscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review concerning your recent visit to Amsterdam and the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre we are pleased to read you qualify us as one of the nicest hotels with a perfect location.

It is wonderful to read you enjoyed the extra's a Clubroom has to offer. Free WIFI and Access to the Club Lounge including free drinks and snacks are just a few of the extra's, the Nespresso and upgraded bathroom facilicities also ensures you receive some extra luxury during your stay.
We also are pleased to read you qualify our staff as lovely and helpful and comment on the service as being great.

Again, thank you for your very kind words. We look forward having the pleasure of welcoming you again at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,


Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stopped 4 nights could not have faulted the hotel, staff and food. Excellent situation for all the city sights and shopping. Would recommend for a city break. Reception. Staff treated you as an important individual.

Room Tip: Club rooms give that little bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldcountryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for describing your experience regarding your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. It is a pleasure to read that you appreciated the service of colleagues delivering the service they do.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I agree with you that the location is very convenient. The hotel is located in the city centre of Amsterdam and indeed within walking distance of all city sights, the shopping centre and public transport services.

We are hoping to welcome you back for your next city trip to Amsterdam

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is a fantastic hotel and is centrally located to almost all key locations of Amsterdam. It is very well connected by all forms of transport and is next door to the Central Station. Staff is very helpful and the breakfast spread is sumptuous.

I'll certainly visit again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shreya14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, MI USA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Center for four nights in early October. We chose this hotel because of the location and because we wanted an American style hotel after spending 9 nights in a wonderful, but small hotel in Paris.

The hotel lived up to all our expectations. The rooms were just like you would encounter at a Crowne Plaza in the states. They were large by European standards, very clean and comfortable,quiet, and well appointed.

The hotel is not located in the most quaint part of Amsterdam but was very convenient for getting around the city. A tram stop is less than a block away and Centraal Station is just a few minutes walk. Since we were taking the train to The Hague and later to the airport, we saved a lot of time and effort by being so close to the station.

The staff at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Center is one of the best we have ever encountered. The front desk folks were helpful and always willing to answer questions. We were always recognized and greeted when we entered or left the hotel. The concierge helped us with tram tickets and train tickets and was more than willing to recommend restaurants or other services not provided by the hotel.

Our stay in Amsterdam was made easier and more pleasant by the staff and the facilities at the hotel. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melkozek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for posting your wonderful comments concerning your recent stay in our hotel. We are honoured to read that we left such a great impression which made you want to recommend it.

We are hoping the welcome you back at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza for our weekend break in Amsterda. The location is great just off the main shopping areas and five minuted walk from the Central Station. Welcome on check-in was warm and friendly. The room was large anad airy and although located on the first floor above reception was remarkably quiet. The traffic outside could hardly be heard from in the room. There was a pleasant lounge area to sit and relax and although we did not use the restaurant there always appeared to be people eating there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerryBath_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with the travel community.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our Lobby connect lounge area. This is a space in which it is possible to relax, lounge and unwind after a busy by reading one of the books next to the fireplace. On the other hand gives this area you the opportunity to finish up on the business of the day. There is an opportunity to plug in you laptop or meet up with other colleagues/friends while enjoying a drink.

Unfortunate to hear that you did not visit our New Dorrius Restaurant. Our New Dorrious restaurant and bar provides you with a sumptuous breakfast that keeps you going all day. Our restaurant also serves lunch and dinner and for a few drinks or snacks our employees will be also very happy to assist you.

We are hoping to welcome you back in Amsterdam soon.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#35 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,386 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#20 of 368 in Amsterdam
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#62 of 368 in Amsterdam
901 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,068 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#19 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam

Property: Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton De Witt is the first Kimpton hotel outside the Americas, a true debut in Europe. The hotel is situated in the heart of Amsterdam's vibrant city centre and near Amsterdam’s Centraal station. Set within three original Renaissance-era buildings, it features 274 guest rooms, including 15 signature rooms and suites, and eight meeting rooms. Wyers Bar & Restaurant, run by Executive Chef SammyD, offers American comfort food with a Dutch twist. In line with Kimpton’s innovative and playful approach to design, the hotel features a “house within a hotel” – a four-storey ‘Little House’ which was once the childhood home of Dutch playwright, P.C. Hooft and dates back to the 1500s. Other distinctive features include a flower shop within the hotel and a Miss Louisa Coffee & Beignets walk-up window for locals to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing