We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent hotel close to Central Station” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #21 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
York
Level Contributor
262 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel close to Central Station”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Spent a wonderful birthday weekend here.The staff went out of their way to make sure it was a memorable stay.The hotel is within walking distance of the Central Station and also handy for taking the 2 or 5 tram to the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum.
Our room was at the back of the hotel on a quiet floor.It was light&airy and had a very comfortable bed.We had access to the Club Room and found it well stocked with newspapers and nibbles.There were two computers and a printer for members use.
This was our second stay and I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel on a quiet floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear valued guest,


Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre as your "home away from home in Amsterdam".

I am delighted to read you returned to our hotel from a previous visit and enjoyed the luxury of a Club Room with Club Lounge access. It gives our guests the opportunity to relax and unwind after a busy day out in town.

We look forward to your return visit to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,667
    998
    158
    45
    23
See reviews for
317
1,252
183
529
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zyrich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stay there May 2012 . The rooms are spacious and very clean. The hotel is situated near the centre and this is very helpful and for those who dont want to use the bus etc. The staff is very helpful and dont hesitate to ask them whatever you want.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear valued Guest,


Thank you very much for sharing your experience of the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre with the travel community.

I am very pleased to read you enjoyed the spacious and clean room and found the staff to be helpful.

We look forward welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre on your next visit to the Netherlands.


Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

May be a little bit expensive compared to others but for sure worth every euro.
The location, the rooms, reception, the staff.... I can say that I was amazed and I transfer my gratitude to the hotel management regarding the staff professional and helpful attitude..
Breakfast is nice.. you need to take a room over looking either the back street or the main street where you can have a look over some part of the city.. other rooms just had a view of some close buildings..the hotel is less than 3 minutes walking from the train station which is connecting you to the airport..everywhere..so walking with your bags is easy.. you can then ride a bike or walk and tour AMS.. old city and all the nice famous spots are very close walking distance from the hotel..
Walking distance to the canal boat station which you can take a tour boat around AMS..the back street is full of nice shopping shops full of souvenirs and its much more cheaper than the main street shops..what else... just go there and enjoy your stay.. the hotel bellman will be a great assistant with almost everything and advise you are seeking for the city.. enjoy

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Egyptian-Advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms DIvision Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear valued guest,


It is great to read your comments in regards to your recent trip to Amsterdam.

Thank you for your gratitude towards the hotel management. We are very proud of the product and colleagues we have here at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and are very happy this was not unnoticed by you.

The hotel is indeed centrally located and shopping, canal and bus tours but also various museums are very well reachable by foot or public transport from the hotel.

We look forward to your next visit to Amsterdam I am sure there is still some undiscovered pieces of Amsterdam left for you.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Great location, less than 5 minutes walk from the Central Station where you arrive after the short train journey from Schipol airport. Worth upgrading to a deluxe room to have the access to the Members Only Club Room which offers not only snacks and drinks (included in the price and are always tasty and well presented) but internet access and two computers for guests' use too. With an upgraded room you also have a late check out of 2pm. Tour boats leave just around the corner from the hotel, trams close by and Dam Square a 5 minute stroll but the hotel is not on the main mad Damrak - it runs paralell and enjoys a much more peaceful location as a result whilst having superb access to all that is Amsterdam.
Staff are among the best we have come across. My son left his passport in the room which we didn't discover until check in at the airport. Quick call to the hotel and Gruno the security man had it sent to us in a taxi immediately - we made the plane in time. What a star, thank you. Jeroen looked after hot and cold breakfast in the main restaurant, nothing was too much trouble and brought to the table if you ordered toast etc. (A smaller cold buffet breakfast is also served in the Club Room if you prefer a bit of peace and quiet first thing) Beds good and comfy, rooms immaculate and airconditioned (you will need it in the summer when Amsterdam can hit 30C plus.) It's the people that make this hotel special, and they can remind a lot of more expensive places what customer service really means because they are so good at it. Look forward to our next trip to Amsterdam, will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Really worth upgrading to a Deluxe room for Club access - the benefits are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank femina_pulchra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for the raving review you left on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

It is wonderful to read your highlights and you mentioning so many of my colleagues delivering the service they do.

I am happy to see that we were able to assist in the left behind passport situation in a manner where you were still able to make your flight.

You mention you look forward to your trip to Amsterdam, I must say so do we.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything we can do to assist you with any future bookings.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This hotel has an excellent location very close to everything. Most attractions are well within walking distance and it's handy for the train station. The rooms were very nice, clean and there was a nice bathtub.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ComeSeeHun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor following your July trip to Amsterdam.

We are very happy you choose to stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. We appreciate you mentioning we are centrally located with very nice and clean rooms.

We look forward on your next trip to the Netherlands and hope you will choose us once again.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Short walk to trolly stop that directly leads to Concertgebouw, Van Gogh art museum, Rembrandt museum and Rijksmuseum - and probably more but that's what we visited over 2 days and nights. 2-3 block walk to the central station with train and metro access (we took a taxi due to heavy luggage - you'll need to tip the driver because it's so close). Walking distance to canal tour operators.

The porter (not the right term I'm sure - he filled more of a Concierge role) took wonderful care of our luggate for half a day we were waiting for the room to be ready AND getting it into the cab - and he also arranged for concert tickets at the Concertgebouw. Terrifically good job.

Only reason for 4 vice 5 on the rating is that one morning we had no hot water for an hour. It would have been awkward if we'd needed to head out early but we didn't. The staff seemed mystefied - so I don't know if it's common or not.

Highly recommended for convenience and friendly staff. Room was 4 star but still a very nice stay at a great location.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the street but was still very quiet. NO problem with road/tram noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CACoastTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your nice comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

The hotel is indeed centrally located near all main Amsterdam sites. Many thanks for commenting on our concierge team, It is very well appreciated you noticed their efforts to ensure our guests have a comfortable stay.

My sincere apologies for the fact there was no hot water the morning of your departure. Fortunately this was an isolated incident.

Looking forward welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I was upgraded to a priority room on the top floor for being a member and on first look and arrival everything seems fine, the checking in staff was fine and friendly enough and the location of the hotel cannot be faulted.

The room itself was also nice with a roomy setup, pretty much standard for Crowne Plaza's the world over, but I had a problem with the bed setup with this one. I had asked for a King bed but what i found was 2 twins put together and it dipped severely in the middle where they were joined, this is not something that I would expect for a hotel of this standing and price.

I did not even complain as we were only there for 1 night but this had to be aired, but apart from the bed situation, it was nice enough and clean throughout.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scallophunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Many thanks for for reviewing our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are always pleased to hear our guest's experiences and share them with travelcommunity.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed the interaction with the staff and the location of the hotel. We are indeed centrally located and in the vicinity of Amsterdam's most attractive sights.

I am however sorry to hear you did not enjoy the comfort of our bed. The bed-type that you describe in your review is not very common in our hotel. Thank you for sharing your identity in a private message with me. During your next visit to our hotel please let us know right away if there is any discrepancy as it would have given us the opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#29 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,022 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#14 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing