We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Start Your Cruise Here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Ranked #26 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Start Your Cruise Here!”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We picked the Crowne Plaza City Centre as a place to spend a few days in Amsterdam before departing for our cruise; it was an excellent choice. The CP is in easy walking distance from the Amsterdam Centraal train station – allowing you to avoid a costly cab ride from the airport. It’s also near to the port. We chose to hire a cab for the short drive to the port to board our ship because of luggage, but you could walk it if you wanted to. The tram line stops right by the hotel allowing access to the entire transport system. There is a pedestrian street immediately behind the hotel with convenience stores and restaurants are nearby. Finally, the hotel is away from the congestion immediately surrounding the Centraal Station; I would not want to stay immediately adjacent to the train station.

Our room package came with access to the “Club Room”, which is a very worthwhile additional expense. The Club Room allows free Internet access, is always stocked with food and drink, and provides a spacious and comfortable place to relax and congregate. We used it much more than I would have expected. Though our hotel room was not spacious it was more than adequate. The room included both 110 and 220 volt power outlets, was modern and attractive, and had all the features we expected. The hotel was immaculate and the staff provided excellent service. Breakfast was provided in the restaurant and the Club Room as part of our package.

The workout room should be adequate for most people. Note that the hotel does NOT have a pool - the Trip Advisor site incorrectly indicates there is a pool though the hotel’s site is correct. I found the sauna in the men’s dressing room to be small and awkward to use. The only other negative was confusion regarding Internet service in the room. One clerk told us it was included with our package, another told us it was definitely not. Some type of browsing using the TV is available but the cost was not clearly stated. We just used the Club room Internet service as it was clearly included.

Hotel choice is always a compromise between cost, location, and features; I feel that the Crowne Plaza is an excellent choice for most Amsterdam visitors and would choose it again.

Room Tip: The higher the better here to distance yourself from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear valued guest,


Many thanks for your extensive review following your pre-cruise stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much appreciating location and convenience of clublounge.

A Clubroom with access to our lounge has great benefits indeed. As you mention internet is included in that rate and also additional amenties such as a coffeemaker and upgraded bathroom amenities and access to our Clublounge service breakfast en snacks and drinks during your stay.

We hope that you will visit Amsterdam again maybe for a full visit or to embark one of the cruise liners again.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,832
    1,074
    167
    47
    25
See reviews for
359
1,380
196
565
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This hotel had great staff, and beatifully clean rooms! The location was perfect and winthin walking distance of everything, and was a great base to explore from. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the free umbrellas available to borrow certainly came in handy. I would definitely recommend this hotel, without a doubt. A couple of small negatives were the price of the items in the minibar, as well as the wifi didn't work after we paid for it. Staff were quick to refund the cost though, and the tech support people tried their hardest to help out! One more issue was that the rooms on the lower floors were extremely loud, with the trams right outside the windows. Can't be helped though, however I would suggest requesting a room on a higher floor.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floors are loud with the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xorach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your review with the title "perfect stay". It is great to read you enjoyed your stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

I am sorry to hear that the internet in your room did not work to your satisfaction. I am sure after departure the technical department was contacted to review the availability of internet in that section of the hotel.

I look forward welcoming you back to the Netherlands and the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Very nice hotel with awesome service & great location.
Club lounge amenities really nice.
Spacious rooms & great customer service.
Highly recommended.
Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ochriso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Many thanks for your positive comments on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Amsterdam and the Crowne Plaza.

I am very happy to read you will definitely recommend our hotel and would stay with us again and that you feel our customer service is great. On a daily basis the team at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre strives for excellent customer service and I am pleased to see we accomplished that.

I look forward to your return visit to Amsterdam and will give you a warm welcome back at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The hotel was nice, well decorated and most importantly very clean. The location was also great, being 5 minutes from Centraal Station and a 5-10 minute walk from dam sqaure. It also seemed to be near a lot of coffeeshops, which is probably quite handy for a lot people going to Amsterdam!

A few things that i didnt like was that if the €50 per night deposit is paid on a debit rather than credit card then this is refunded in cash on leaving the hotel, this is obviously no good to somebody returning to a non euro country. Although, after arguing, the hotel did agree to reduse this to €50 for the 3 night stay for me. Also, the room minibars are very expensive, I guess this is standard for most hotels, just annoys me!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turbo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Many thanks for the nice comments following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed the central location of the hotel and it's cleanliness.

I am sorry to hear you were dissappointed wiht the € 50.00 deposit for use of any extras. However we always refund the amount on the same card or if paid in cash we also refund in cash. If a credit card used we take an authorization on the card which is released upon check out.

I hope that on your next visit to Amsterdam you will stay with us again at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs FL USA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed here July 6 thru 10, 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were put up in room 101 which was a large corner room with a view to Voorburg Street and the nearby tram stop. Very good security here with keyless remote card system that allows you into the room, elevator or in our case the club room by flashing your card over the control spot. The bathroom was modern Euro style with both a glass enclosed shower and a separate bath tub / hot tub combo. Hotel is near enough to all the action yet quiet enough we could sleep soundly. The man at the Priority Club Desk (Gerardo?) was extremely helpful. Hotel was very clean throughout and the staff always offered a sincere greeting when making eye contact. When you are so far from home that really is welcome. Only complaint (minor) is that the floor of the shower was extremely slippery without any textured surface which would inhibit sliding. We had to stand on a small towel while showering .

Room Tip: We paid extra for a club room which enabled us to use the club room where they had great continental...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlandPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear valued guest,


Many thanks for your wonderful review following your recent trip to Amsterdam.

Thank you for commenting on your room of which we only have a few in our inventory. It is indeed a wonderful room with a great bathroom and quite the view down the Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal.

I have forwarded your comments about our Guest Relations officer Gerardo who was very pleased and thankful to hear your positive feedback.

We have looked into the slippery shower situation and hope to find a solution shortly. Thank you for the tip.

Once again many thanks for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
179 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is the second time I've reviewed this hotel - apart from being a great location just across the road from Central station -it has the friendliest staff of any hotel I've experienced - every time you pass the reception area all staff are smiling and greet every guest as they pass by - I put this down to the fact they are happy in their work!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraemeShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear valued guest,


Thank your for commenting so positively on the Staff of our Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. We are indeed very happy to work for such a great property. It is guests such as yourself who make it a pleasure to work for.

The location is indeed superb just steps away from Amsterdam Central Station and the main attractions Amsterdam has to offer.

We look forward welcoming you back to Amsterdam and the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre on what will be your 3rd visit.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, VA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is an excellent hotel choice for anyone coming to Amsterdam for business or pleasure; it is only a five-minute walk from the central train station and there is easy access to the city's excellent tram system just a short walk out the front entrance, and many sights are just a short walk away. The staff was professional, friendly, and courteous, from the front desk to the maids. The staff in the restaurant were particularly friendly and courteous. Everyone you met smiled and greeted you; quite a pleasant experience. Although the hotel was renovated in 2009, it appears more recent because of the excellent upkeep; the rooms were immaculate, modern (minimalist-stylish), and had everything you needed; wi-fi, flat-screen TVs, ironing board, laptop-size safes, robe, slippers, complimentary newspaper, etc. My room was on the 5th floor overlooking the street, but the noise was bearable; I do not recall hearing any noise from the adjacent rooms, which is unusual for a hotel this size. I highly recommend this hotel and I'm very pleased with my choice (and I'm fussy).

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room to avoid street noise if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 73Duck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear valued Guest,

It is wonderful to find your review on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to read you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the services offered.

It is great to find that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the hotel itself. The renovations indeed took place in 2009 our quiet zones were added in this period as well. These are rooms located on quiet areas of the building and no disturbance of housekeeping prior to 10 AM.

Once again many thanks for your positive comments and detailed description of the hotel. We look forward welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City should you be in Amsterdam once again.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#34 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,382 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#20 of 368 in Amsterdam
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#62 of 368 in Amsterdam
900 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,067 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#19 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam

Property: Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton De Witt is the first Kimpton hotel outside the Americas, a true debut in Europe. The hotel is situated in the heart of Amsterdam's vibrant city centre and near Amsterdam’s Centraal station. Set within three original Renaissance-era buildings, it features 274 guest rooms, including 15 signature rooms and suites, and eight meeting rooms. Wyers Bar & Restaurant, run by Executive Chef SammyD, offers American comfort food with a Dutch twist. In line with Kimpton’s innovative and playful approach to design, the hotel features a “house within a hotel” – a four-storey ‘Little House’ which was once the childhood home of Dutch playwright, P.C. Hooft and dates back to the 1500s. Other distinctive features include a flower shop within the hotel and a Miss Louisa Coffee & Beignets walk-up window for locals to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing