We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“By far the nicest hotel we've ever stayed in!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #23 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“By far the nicest hotel we've ever stayed in!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for one night during a short break to Amsterdam. We booked a junior suite (room 620) and it was amazing!! The bed was really comfy and you're provided with a spray for your pillows to help you sleep. We had a small living room which was lovely and a balcony with a great view across the city (we were on the top floor). I could not fault the room whatsoever. It was perfect! There was even a 3 prong plug socket which was ideal because we'd forgot to take the adapter.

The reception staff are extremely polite, professional and very helpful. They make you feel so welcome, especially Sylvia who showed us around the hotel and to our room. We didn't realise that when booking the junior suite, you get access to the club lounge. Here there is a variety of soft drinks, beer on draught, wine and snacks that you can help yourself too. There was also breakfast provided in the morning, there is room for improvement with the selection of food in the morning.

The location of the hotel was brilliant. We were a 2 minute walk from Amsterdam Central Station, 5 minute from the red light district and about a 15 minute walk from Anne Franks House. Even though it was very central, you couldn't hear any noise or anything while you were in your room.

The only problem we did have was that I called the general enquiries number a few days before we left to ask whether I would have to pay a deposit or anything of that sort on arrival and was told no, everything has been paid for. But on arrival at the hotel I had to give my bank card in for them to hold a £50 deposit. I can totally understand why a deposit is required (in case you drink/eat from the mini bar in the room), but a little tip would be to forewarn guests so they are prepared. I wasn't planning on taking my card so it's a good job I did. This is no fault of the hotel though, it just should be stated at the time of booking.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and will definitely be coming back. As soon as we got there we wished we could stay longer.

Room Tip: Get a junior suite it's definitely worth it!!! Ask for a top floor room too, the views are great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen_1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. We are delighted to read that you find our hotel "by far the nicest hotel you have ever stayed in".

We shared your comments also with our staff who always enjoy reading reviews from Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our suite so much. All rooms are equipped with items from Crowne Plaza's Sleep Advantage program. A program designed to give you the best nights rest. The rooms have luxurious beds en plush bedding an aromatherapy kit to make you in a calming mood and also the hotel hosts special quiet zones in order to relax from a busy day in Amsterdam.

Your review was shared with the entire team as well as with Silvie, who was delighted to hear you mentioned her in your review. We are glad we were able to surprise you with acess to our club lounge. Suites and Executive rooms that are booked with us all get access to our clublounge which indeed gives you the possibility to breakfast as well as all day coffee and tea and snacks and beer and wine in the afternoon and evening.

Thank you for your comments on the clublounge and its breakfast. We are continuously looking to improve our our service and product and feedback as such is very valuable to us. We are not pleased with the fact that the general inquiries number did not provide you with the correct information and we informed them of this to prevent it from happening in the future.

We hope that you will be staying with us again in the near future so we can welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,801
    1,059
    167
    47
    25
See reviews for
356
1,361
192
557
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

Amsterdam at New Years Eve is very 'full on' and this place offered the perfect place to escape the hustle bustle when we needed to. We stayed here for 5 days.

Everything about this hotel exceeded our expectations...
1) The warm welcome we received upon arrival. The lobby area is warm and inviting. Check in was a breeze and we were in our room within minutes
2) The quality of the room renovation was great. There was great attention paid to quiet zones in the hotel which guests observed. Our sleep quality was excellent. The bathroom was smallish but well fitted and the tea and coffee facilities made it relaxing. The mini bar was not well stocked but hey this is Amsterdam - who wants a drink in their room with all that is happening outside??
3) Breakfast was fantastic. A good buffet selection with cafe style coffee to order.
4) All staff were genuinely interested in us and always polite and helpful. They seemed proud of their hotel and so they should be.

I have traveled to Amsterdam many times and as most people would be aware, the Dutch people are among the frienliest in the world and it shows at this hotel. They were all fantastic and thanks to them for making our stay so wonderful.

We had dinner on site once and it was a very dutch experience - well worth a try of their menu for some traditional dutch fare.

The location is great - a short walk from Centraal and a stroll to Dam Square and beyond. We walked everywhere. There is a great selection of cafes, restaurants, coffee shops and bars everywhere around you here.

We loved this place and would definately stay here next time in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlebeTravelller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food and Beverage manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Dear valued Guest,

It is with great pleasure we read your review title "outstanding hotel close to everything in Amsterdam." Amsterdam is always very busy around New Years Eve and I am happy to read you were able to "escape" from that in our hotel.

I am pleased to note you experienced check-in to be smooth and you enjoyed the quality of the rooms. The entire hotel was renovated in 2009, and we are very happy with the result.

Thank you for mentioning our American Breakfast Buffet and Omelet station. It is great to hear you enjoyed the diversity of the buffet and the options of coffee. A good breakfast is a great start of the day after a rejuvenating sleep in one of our Quiet Zone Rooms.

In your review you also indicate the central location of the hotel. Indeed the hotel is located just steps away from Amsterdam Centraal Station. This enables you to visit all the sites Amsterdam has to offer without having to go too far.

Once again thank you for staying with us and for your review. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions or want to make a future reservation with us as we are looking forward welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Jaap Roomijer
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

A very nice Hotel. The rooms are comfortable and big. You have a flat screen an the beds are Kingsize and the quality of sleeping is great. Free wifi is in the room. The hotel also includes a small fitness area and a swimming pool. The breakfast is quite complete. The only thing is that the hotel is a little bit far from the city of Amsterdam. You have to take a cap for like 55 euro.

Room Tip: take a double room ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SebiAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

Again I had a business trip to Amsterdam and this time hotel was very nice (comparing to Swiss hotel close by)

We were welcomed warmly (group of 30+) people and we did not have to wait for ages for a check-in. Everything was prepared, only signature on a piece of papers, quick billing process and you get card to your room.

Lobby is quite big, everything is clean, looks very good.

I had a room on 2nd floor, not facing the street. It was very quiet, very clean and spacious enough for me. I had 2 single beds, not 1 bigger, but that was not a problem.
Bathroom not very big but clean with full set of amenties. One thing I was missing comparing to hotels I have been to was small package of toothbrush and toothpaste included.

There was a pillow spray of some sort for better sleep as well (mixture of eucalyptus and other smelly stuff). I have heard it was stinky:) I liked it.

Breakfast was included and it was nice. The only thing I can be annoyed is when I get scrable egg that is cold. It was (at 7 oclock already). Rest was fine with plenty of choice.

Internet not included in room rate.

Room Tip: as usual for a good sleep, pick something at the back, not close to the street (with trams etc.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food and Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Dear valued Guest,

It is with pleasure we took note of your review following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to read you experienced our check in to be quick and enjoyed the cleanliness and space in your room. Allthough a dental or shaving kit is not displayed in your guestroom, we do have these items available upon request.

The pillow spray you mention is part of our Sleep Advantage Program. Plush bedding and soft linnens as well as quiet zone rooms are all part of this program designed specially for Crowne Plaza Hotels.

We are a bit worried to read you did not enjoy your scrambled eggs and have adressed this with our chef in order to improve this part of our breakfast Thank you for noting it as this enables us to continously improve our services.

Once again many thanks for your review and we hope to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

This hotel is every bit as luxurious as I had hoped for. The rooms were large for a city hotel and very nicely appointed. We had a room that faced the other side of the hotel so it really quiet, no street noise, which was perfect. We didn't have breakfast so cant comment on that. The staff were very courteous, friendly and offered a great service. Loved the little packet of scented pillow spray to help you sleep, which was on the bed when we arrived.

Enjoyed our stay, and would definitely stay there again, or another Crowne Plaza elsewhere.

Room Tip: Have a room facing the interior courtyard for zero street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janenoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Dear valued Guest,


Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre hotel.

It is very nice to hear that you found our hotel as "luxurious as you hoped for." Indeed our hotel is build in a way where we have the choice of rooms facing inwards or towards the street. We are glad you enjoyed the quietness of an inward facing room.

The little packet you describe in your review is the part of Crowne Plaza's Sleep Advantage program. Quiet zones and luxurious bedding en comfortable matrasses are also part of this program ensuring a good nights rest.

We shared your review with our staff and they were delighted to find you qualify us as curteous, friendly and delivering great service.

Once again thank you for your kind review and we look forward welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind Regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Great location staff and rooms top notch highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stetcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your comment on tripadvisor followed by your recent stay.

We are delighted you discribe our hotel as: "excellent".

If we can be of any further assistance in the future please do not hesitate to contact us.
We hope to welcome you back soon to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

We were in Paris and decided to catch the train to Amsterdam. We walked the short distance from the train Centraal Station to the hotel. We were greeted and welcomed by the reservation and concierge staff immediately! Our room was a Club Room with many amenities but my favorite was the rain shower in the bathroom! We were able to use the internet very easily and found room service to be very fast. Concierge staff gave us maps and advise on how to see the town in our short stay. We would like to stay here again and recommend this property to anyone wanting comfortable, friendly surroundings.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on the Club level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wc1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review following your recent stay with us. At the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre we strive to meet our guests every need and are pleased to read we achieved this.

We are delighted to note that you find our roomservice to be fast and that you enjoyed the rain shower in your room. Thank you also for commenting on the service delivered by our Concierge team and the Guest Reception.

We are look forward welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#27 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#73 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#52 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#18 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#81 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing