We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel near to Centraal Station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Ranked #26 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leicester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel near to Centraal Station”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stopped at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre for three nights in early January.

Checkin was excellent, the reception staff were very friendly and acknowledged my priority club status by upgrading us to a Superior room (we also got vouchers for free drinks in the bar and some discount vouchers for the restaurant). The room was large (with a very large bed!), very comfortable and included the usual features associated with a hotel of this standard (Nespresso machine, flatscreen TV, workdesk, etc.). The TV had more english language channels than some hotels that we've stopped at in the UK!

The hotel is five minutes walk from the Centraal station and is within walking distance of all major sites in the city.

Positives:
- In the heart of the city centre. Near the main station (Centraal station).
- Very comfortable and modern rooms
- Excellent checkin and friendly staff
- Very good priority club upgrade

Negatives:
- None spring to mind!

Overall:
- A wonderful high end hotel in Amsterdam City Centre. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dylanw_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,832
    1,074
    167
    47
    25
See reviews for
359
1,380
196
565
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Stayed here with family in 2 rooms for a couple of nights to recover and see sights of Amsterdam

Central location close to train station, and right in centre of city. Safe hotel in a safe area

Staff friendly, Rooms good. A good stay overall.

The contras were
* that although we booked 2 room, they were not together.
* I dont like combination shower/baths - to me they are a bit of a safety issue as I get older.
* WiFi not included in price. Everyone has at least one computer when they travel now.
* Breakfast seemed a bit steep - try to get it included in your rate.

Otherwise a good stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRadmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear valued guest,

We would like to thank you for describing your experience at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. It is lovely to read that you have had a good stay with us and found our team to be friendly.

However, it worries us to read the downsides you describe in your review. First of all, we would like to make our apologies for not being able to offer you two rooms next to each other and for the inconvenience concerning the shower/bath combination.
With certain rates like a clubroom with access to our Club Lounge, internet is already inclusive in the rate. These rooms also feature a coffeemaker and upgraded bathroom amenities as well as access to our executive Club Lounge which gives you the opportunity to breakfast, lunch and appetizers and complimentary drinks throughout the day.

Again thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. We hope that we can look forward to welcome you again to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam in the very near future. In the meantime, if we can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Good location, a quick walk from the train station. Albert Hein is also not too far. The room had tea and coffee and a small fridge. The service was excellent. Shopping areas and museums are all within walking distance. I also found several restaurants close to the hotel rated well on Trip Advisor. Great experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aah0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience concerning your recent stay with us. We are proud to learn that you qualify our service to be ‘excellent’ and that you have had a great stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

We are glad to read that you found several restaurants close to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. During your next visit, we would like to invite you to our contemporary Restaurant & Bar New Dorrius. This stylish yet relaxed space offers an inspiring menu that includes Dutch classics and international favourites with an international twist.

Again, thank you very much for your great comments and we look forward having the pleasure of welcoming you again at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We thought we would try a trip away for new years eve. I am so pleased we choose Amsterdam and in particular this hotel. It has fantastic friendly staff who are the most helpful I have met. A large group of us had a meal in the new resturant on new years eve which was superb. The hotel has been modernised to a very high standard and is in an ideal location - just a few minutes across the road from the railway station. Despite its great central location we had a good nights sleep during our stay. Looking around at the other hotels in the area I would say this was the best all round.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartynP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear valued guest,

It is truly a delight to read your review regarding your stay on New Years Eve at our hotel. We are very honoured to note that you find Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to be the best hotel in the area!

We are glad to read that you took note of our renovation in 2009 and that you find Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre to be modernised to a high standard.

A result of this renovation is Restaurant & Bar New Dorrius, of which we are very proud. Therefore we are pleased to read that you joined us and describe your experience as ‘superb’.

Again, thank you for sharing your lovely comments with us. We look forward having the opportunity of welcoming you again at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre on New Years Eve 2012 and hopefully sooner. Meanwhile, if you require any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed as a couple on New Year at this hotel, this is an excellent hotel, it is in the center of Amsterdam, 5mins walk to the Dam Platz, Central Station or Red Light Disctrict.

It is a very pleasant and welcoming Hotel.
The staff was very friendly and they give you detailed directions if you need, as to where to go or what to see, what is going on in the city etc.. It was nice of him, seeing that we were a young couple, he immediatly told us where the nightlife is going on and everything that could interest us.
The room was spacey and fully equipped, it was in the quiet wing, we never heard anything outside of our room. Nespresso machine, tea, hairdryer, iron table, everything you would need. Also it has a very comfortable king size bed, it looked modern and pretty new. The bathroom was nice aswell, equipped with a decent hairdryer that works properly.

As for room service, the staff was very nice and prompt. The beef burger and the steak were really good props to the chef for that.

The only downside i have with this hotel is the Valet Parking, the price is correct at 40€ per day, but when i got my car back i found a bag in the passenger front seat from a store i never visited (Leather club) ? And some fuel seemed to be missing but nothing much. So that makes me wonder..

Other than that i recommend this Hotel to everyone!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Quiet Zone
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusKapE77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, this time it was a vacation for a change.
I am a platinum priority member (which is the Holiday inn/Crown Plaza/ Intercontinental club).
Usually I get access to Crown Plaza's lounges around the world, but not here... never mind...
I did get free internet access (which coasts almost 20 euro for 24 hours) and 50% off breakfast which I didn't use.
The room is very nice, modern and the bed was very comfortable.
I got a room on the 2nd floor facing the front street, just above the passing trams and as I am very sensitive to noise I was a afraid that the noise would bother me, but... nope...They have good noise isolation with double glassing and I could barely hear any noise.
The location is also very good - 5 minute walk from the central station and 7 minute walk from the Dam.
The staff at the reception were very kind and polite.
All in all it was a great stay and I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eldik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Rooms Division Manager at Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear valued guest,

We would like to thank you for providing us with your experience at our hotel. It is with pride to learn that you have had a great stay and would recommend Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

We are honoured to read that you are a Platinum member of our Priority Club Rewards of Intercontinental Hotels Group. It is true that being a member of the Priority Club Rewards generates great options. Besides complimentary internet, 50 % discount on breakfast, Platinum members also get a complimentary drink in our Restaurant & Bar New Dorrius and 20 % discount on parking.
Indeed, our luxurious Club Lounge gives exclusively access to guests who book a a Club Room.

It is lovely to read that you found our guest rooms to be comfortable with good noise isolation. We have thought of elements to help you relax and ensure you enjoy a great night’s sleep. This Sleep Advantage program features Quiet Zones, plump soft pillows, luxurious duvets, deeply indulgent mattress toppers and aroma therapy on getting the best night’s sleep.

Again thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and we look forward having the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. In the meantime, if you require any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Super close to train station, room was nice. Nothing other than great location sticks out in my mind.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#34 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,382 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#20 of 368 in Amsterdam
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#62 of 368 in Amsterdam
900 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,067 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#19 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam

Property: Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton De Witt is the first Kimpton hotel outside the Americas, a true debut in Europe. The hotel is situated in the heart of Amsterdam's vibrant city centre and near Amsterdam’s Centraal station. Set within three original Renaissance-era buildings, it features 274 guest rooms, including 15 signature rooms and suites, and eight meeting rooms. Wyers Bar & Restaurant, run by Executive Chef SammyD, offers American comfort food with a Dutch twist. In line with Kimpton’s innovative and playful approach to design, the hotel features a “house within a hotel” – a four-storey ‘Little House’ which was once the childhood home of Dutch playwright, P.C. Hooft and dates back to the 1500s. Other distinctive features include a flower shop within the hotel and a Miss Louisa Coffee & Beignets walk-up window for locals to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing