We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Poor upgrades for Platinum guests.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #23 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor upgrades for Platinum guests.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

Really nice hotel and great location, however is you belong to Priority Club reward programs skip this hotel. They dont give upgrades to a club lounge.

Room Tip: stay at Starwood hotels if you have status.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rbrown8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear valued guest,

We would like to thank you for staying at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and sharing your experience with us.

We regret to learn your feedback concerning our Priority Club Rewards. Please be assured that we are always aiming to give upgrades to our members of the Priority Club.

Again thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. We do hope that on your future visits to Amsterdam you will provide us the opportunity and pleasure to welcome you again to our hotel. In the meantime, if we can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kindest regards,

Maurice Janssen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,801
    1,058
    166
    47
    25
See reviews for
355
1,361
192
557
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

Convenient location,thermostat control,and well mailtained,this is an excellent Amsterdam choice.Rooms are small but well appointed..recommend

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frank_king99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for posting your wonderful comments concerning your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

We are proud to learn that Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is an excellent Amsterdam choice and that you would recommend us.

We look forward having the pleasure of accommodating you again at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Aernout de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

The hotel is few steps from all attractions , they are very friendly and helpful staff and as priority club member they upgrade us to club room with benefit of 50% discount on breakfast and 25% on car parking, driving is very difficult in Amsterdam and best way is walking or take the tram or hire a bike .

You will find out many restaurants near by and the tram stop opposite the hotel.

Room Tip: Club room was having big window overlooking the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harb_hany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Dear valued guest,

We would like to thank you for this positive review. We are pleased to read you are a member of our Priority Club Rewards.

Indeed, the area around the hotel offers many possibilities to lunch, dine or just to have a drink. During your next stay in Amsterdam we would like to invite you to visit our contemporary restaurant and bar 'New Dorrius'. Our stylish yet relaxed restaurant and bar offers an inspiring menu that includes Dutch classics and international favourites with a Dutch twist.

Again thank you for your kind words and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, BC
Level Contributor
145 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

The Crowne Plaza City Centre is right across the road from the railway station and close to all city amenities. We had a great room with every comfort, and found that the staff went the extra mile to provide great service. Breakfast was a little more expensive than we would have liked, but this is not a Holiday Inn Express, and provided good value.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy_Two_Socks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for posting your upbeat feedback following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

It is such a great pleasure to read all your positive comments on the location, the comfortable rooms, the great service of our staff and the quality of our breakfast at Restaurant & Bar New Dorrius.

We are looking forward of having the opportunity to welcome again at the Crowne Plaza Amterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Jaap Roomeijer
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

We only stayed one night but found the hotel very well located and comfortable. But the highlight was the quality of the staff. Everyone we encountered was helpfull, knowledgable and friendly. We were even able to check in at 9:00am.

We had a queen room rather than a king room as that was the only one available at that hour. We think it was a businessman's room as it was very well appointed and was quiet!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tambo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Dear valued guest,

We would like to thank you for this positive review. It is really nice to read your comments on our comfortable and well located hotel.

We are very proud to read that the highlight of your stay was the quality of our staff. It is with great pleasure to note that you describe our staff as helpful, knowledgeable and friendly and that they were able to check you in at 9:00 AM.

Again thank you for your kind feedback and we hope having the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Crowne Plaza Amterdam City Centre.

Kind regards,

Maurice Jansen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

I stayed here for 5 nights having previously stayed the Renaissance and cannot state how wonderful the hotel is in terms Of room size albeit I had a corner Club room, staff friendliness and modern and clean rooms. The wifi is rock solid and available everywhere in the hotel even the -1 level. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DPUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review following your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. We are happy you had a positive experience in our hotel and we are delighted to read that you describe our hotel rooms as modern and clean.

We are also pleased to read that you have enjoyed the wifi that Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre offers throughout the entire hotel. Guests can even use complimentary internet at our business centre on the -1 level.

We are proud to read that you would highly recommend Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre and we are looking forward to welcome you again. If you require any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,

Maurice Jansen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Langley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

Great location and only a short walk to central station. Very nice decor and very impressed with the upgraded room. I had a two day conference here and the facilities were very good and so was the service. Numerous restaurants and bars in walking distance, many just across the road. Compared to other hotels in and around Central Station this is the best. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPDKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPamsterdam, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Dear valued guest,

It is with great pleasure to read your wonderful comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We are honoured to read that you would definitely return to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre.

We are delighted to learn that you have had such a good experience of our service and facilities during your conference at our hotel. As Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre is situated only a 5 minute walk from ‘Amsterdam Centraal’ train station, our 8 natural daylight conference rooms could be a good location for all business events.

Again thank you for your positive feedback and we look forward having the pleasure of welcoming you again at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre. In the meantime, if you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,

Yuri den Haring
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#26 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#50 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#18 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#73 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 5, 1012 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam
Crowne Plaza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing