We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Ranked #71 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
North Rocks, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Now in our second night here.
Do not understand the recent bad reviews.
The experience from the word go has been excellent.
Front desk staff were great, we arrived mid morning and were able to go to a room immediately.
Our room is wuite big, nice and airy, in the centre of the hotel, so although there is no view it is lovely and quiet. 2 big windows overlooking an inner air space.
Bed is comfortable, only downside is that there is only one pillow.
Bathroom has a bath with a shower as well.
Beautifully clean.
Outside bar overlooking the fountain is pretty, bar service is good and friendly.
Breakfast in the main dining room was good this morning.
Great location for sightseeing, circular tour bus stop is right outside the hotel.
Vondel park is a 5 minute walk away.
Canal boat trip stop is right outside as well.
Heineken experience is about 15 minutes walk away, Rijks Museum is about 10 minutes walk.
We found that the hotel is close to 2 of the best restaurants in Amsterdam as well.

Overall impression is that this is an excellent hotel, nicely away from the major crowds in the cantre of Amsterdam, but is close enough.

Room Tip: Rooms over the dining room on the Eastern side will overlook the main street and will be noisier. F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your stay and review. We have an extra pillow in the cupboard. Please do not hesitate to ask us for any more pillows that you require. Enjoy the remainder of your city break. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    900
    989
    333
    122
    58
See reviews for
272
1,137
154
297
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I have been staying here for many years and it's like a second home. Sometimes I go elsewhere when the price is too high. A pity they don't have a loyalty programme.
Barmen Nuri, Michael and Rogier always treat me like a friend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your many loyal visits and recent stay. Your enthusiastic review is a great motivation for the team. We shall look into your constructive comment concerning loyalty programmes. We hope to see you again soon. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailey, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The staff was very friendly and helpful, I was quite impressed with everyone I came in contact with. The room was clean and large. Our bed was comfortable and we slept well. We ate at the restaurant a few times and enjoyed the food, staff and service. The hotel has a great location - tram and bus stop were right across the street and also boat trips were at the canal out front. Lots of shopping and restaurants nearby. My only complaint is that I could hear water run through the pipes when nearby rooms would shower or use the toilet. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay and review posting. We are glad that you had such a pleasant city break in Amsterdam. We look forward to welcoming you again. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My son and I stayed here for two nights,and it is a beautiful old hotel,the stained glass windows are everywhere.It is spacious,and tastefully decorated.
The bars outside are great,perfect to unwinding after a day of sightseeing and shopping.
The location is very good ,very central.Also very near Vondaal Park,which of an evening is delightful for a stroll.Loved it!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room as especially at weekends the city is very noisy!Also ask for a refurbished roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and your review posting. Good to notice that your overall experience was satisfactory. We hope to see you again. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed here in June 2014. We chose this hotel for its location and amenities. Location wise, it is a good base for Vondelpark and the Museum quarter, it is about 20/25minute walk from the Red Light District. It is close to plenty of shops and there is a mini supermarket about ten minutes walk away up Leidestraat where it meets the flower market. In terms of the hotel we were really pleased with it. Reception let us check in early as our room was ready. The hotel had a lift (which many do not) and the room was clean and spacious. The air con was powerful and there was a kettle for hot drinks, again neither of which a lot of other hotels in the centre did not have. If you can book a room with breakfast included, the café is a lovely location to sit looking out over the fountain and square. There is a good hot and cold choice including an egg station, cereal, brie and smoked salmon. I would have no qualms about staying here again if I were to return to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NRoss16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and your review posting. Your comments seem helpful for fellow travellers. We hope to welcome you again! With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We arrived, a large group after The Netherlands won the FIFA game - but it did not make things better. The receptionist was overwhelmed and unable to deal with the group. The kitchen closed as soon as we arrived so we had no dinner.
Once in the room things did not improve. Touted as a classical Art Deco hotel, is has no art nor deco(r). A few posters that stood next to Art Deco and the columns look like gothic carving.
The room was found up the floor, turn left and left again then WALK another floor up.
The "deco" design on the carpet looked like a spec of dirt. The place was not clean or inviting. We arrived at night, actually most guests need a hotel room for the night, but even after turning on all the possible lights, it was still the twilight zone, bumping into furniture and suitcases. Work in the room at night? Only if you bring your own flash light.
Next, I wanted to take a shower before going to sleep. Being 5'-2" I was unable to reach the towel rack. The shower in the climb-in-tub has those fandangled shower controls I am still trying to figure out in my nightmares.
I could go on and on. But all I can say is - great location does not make up for lousy service, poor design, small rooms to the point of self loathing, and no surfaces to put your suitcase and computer.
Shame on you, but I doubt anyone at the American cares.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IL-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and your review posting. Although we regret that your expectations were not met, we can not relate to most of your comments and some seem incrompehensible to us: yes, the kitchen closes at some point, however we have 24 hrs room service. The shower controls are the most standard available and worldwide known. We do not advertise the hotel as Art Deco, only the restaurant. We have four elevators. Your opinion of the decor is of course personal and subjective. We shall analyse the lighting standards in your rooms. Your qualificaton: lousy service is, in our opinion, not jusitified in your review. Clearly, we do not seem to be your "type" of hotel. We can assure you though that we shall take your comments on board to see how we can improve. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Level Contributor
376 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I have been to Amsterdam before and stayed at the American Hotel before. The hotel is very central and a great place to explore Amsterdam from. I was on business and my wife came to see Amsterdam and to shop.

My wife has never been before so I decided to book a suite to make her stay even more enjoyable.

Breakfasts were excellent although plates for hot food were very cold which meant your cooked breakfast went cold very quickly.

We ate in the Bar Americain twice and thoroughly enjoyed our food. The waiters were very friendly and attentitive - I tipped really well.

Our only problem and reason for the 2 rating was the room for which we paid a significant amount of money for four nights.

We were given suite 115 which is a homage to a famous dutch photographer. This room was awful.

The door was a work of art with grafitti all over it and very impressive BUT on entering we found ourselves in a dark, black hole with insufficient lighting. The carpets were black and the walls were painted black. All the furniture was black except for a white chair. We could not see a thing. There was totally inadequate lighting in the room which made it impossible for me to work in the evenings in preparation for my next days work.

because of the black carpets the room always looked filthy as any slight bit of lint, crumb or dust showed up immediately.

All of the edges of walls and the stairs( it has a bedroom on a mezzanine floor) were chipped and in need of repair. presumably this is because other guests have walked into walls trying to find their way around the dark poorly lit room.

The bathroom, in contrast, was very poorly decorated with chipped tiles and a dirty bath. No separate shower even though we had booked a suite. We never managed to get any hot water whilst we were staying there.

There was a minute balcony overlooking the canal with two chairs on the balcony but you could not sit down as the balcony was too small.

The hotel tried to charge us for three items from the mini-bar BUT I always refuse to use the mini-bar in hotels and we did not even open it. I had to cause quite a fuss on departure to get them to remove the items.

A mixed review . I was very upset about the room as I have stayed before and had beautiful rooms but this room was an attempt to be modern and arty without thinking about the customers needs. The room was uncomfortable and not fit for purpose. i feel cheated out of my hard earned money.

As with another recent reviewer the pillows on the bed were uncomfortable and seemed to be made of cheap foam which is not in keeping with paying for a suite at a top hotel.

Having visited this hotel several times before I will not be returning again after this expensive disaster.

Room Tip: refuse to stay in room 115.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GGGSarnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and your review posting. Obviously this theme suite did not meet with your expectations. Many guests love this suite with its duplex bedroom, balcony and giant exclusive photographs as decoration. Certainly we appreciate that it is not according to everyones taste. We would like to advise you to inform our, or other, reception teams immediately after checkin in concerning your dislikes. In order for them to accomodate you in a, for you, more befitting room. This way you are not four nights in a room that is dissatisfactory for you. Your constructive comments concerning cold plates, pillows and repainting needs are being addressed. Although you stated that you will not return, we hope that you will contact us so we might discuss a future visit after all. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#72 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 711 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#51 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 586 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#99 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
377 House - Amsterdam
#62 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#83 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,361 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American has a rich history. In 1882, the first hotel guests stayed at this unique location on Leidseplein. The current building dates from 1902 and is a wonderful example of Jugenstil. Right at the centre of this national monument is Cafe Americain, the hotspot where (hotel) guests and Amsterdam residents enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing