We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great atmosphare” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Ranked #74 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

i took my family to the hotel, its was my first time. the first time i visited the hotel and its became my favorite in Amsterdam. We (me & my family) really enjoy the visit. every thing was just perfect.

Room Tip: Have a window room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and your review posting. Good to hear that you and your family had such a pleasant stay at the hotel. We hope to see you again soon. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    901
    990
    334
    122
    58
See reviews for
272
1,139
154
297
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Desborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I have been to Amsterdam on several occasions for rock concerts at The Melkweg and tend to stay anywhere and everywhere. On my last visit I walked past the American Hotel and thought if the inside is as impressive as the outside then this is the place for me. I'm glad I stumped up the extra coin. The bedroom was decent with a great bed, breakfast was very good (not as good as a full English you understand but very good for Europe) and the bar staff and restaurant staff were welcoming.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim-Chorlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and your review posting. We consider ourselves lucky that you spontaniously picked our hotel to try it out. Much appreciated! Good to hear that you considered your random choice very satisfactory. We hope that we can be your host again when you attend your next concert in Amsterdam. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmerich, Germany
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed over last weekend for the 3th time in this hotel within 24 months.
The location is great and we like the atmosphere in the hotel. Although rooms and furniture is slightly dated, it's clean and has everything you may expect in a city hotel.
At front desk the team is very nice and understands hospitality. This in contrast with the bar tenders. Although the atmosphere in the bar is nice, we decided not coming back because of the unpleasant attitude of the bartender - very arrogant and believes he is king of swing... He works already for a few years at this place but it's clear he has his preferences for certain guests.

Overall we will come back to this place for staying over, but will limit the visits to the bar as long as this bartender will work at this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patsaf123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your stay and your review. Your constructive comments shall be used to improve the aspects mentioned by you. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed at the American 2-6 March. We had a room on the 5th floor; once we turned up the radiator is was lovely and warm. Room and bathroom were on the small side but functional and had everything we needed. We had a balcony but unfortunately not much of a view. Price included breakfast which was amazing; loads of choice and omelettes/eggs cooked to order and the most delicious pastries.
Had a fabulous cocktail in the bar each night; the staff were so friendly and helpful even making a cocktail to order.
Staff on the front desk were always helpful with information on Amsterdam and handy we could leave our luggage on the last day.
Found a lovely restaurant just past Pathe City called In De Buurt which we went to twice; small menu but varied and food was excellent.
This is a beautiful art deco hotel in a great location and well worth the price we paid.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lawrenceEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay and your review posting. It is very rewarding for the team to hear that you had such a satisfactory visit to Amsterdam and the hotel. We hope to be able to welcome you again soon. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Good:
This hotel is close to all the nightlife.
Parking at the front of the hotel (if you can get a space)
Bad:
You can hear people talking in the next room or across the hall. Not sure what they made the walls from? If you are a light sleeper expect to be woken up when anyone moves about in other rooms.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank btuckwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and your review posting. A 112-year old building brings a lot of charm, however, sometimes has characteristics that differ from todays standards. Unfortunately, slightly less soundproof walls is one of these aspects. We hope that it did not affect your stay too much. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Location excellent. Room size good but bathroom too small. Furnishings rather dated but decent. Room had a mouldy kind of smell and had to open windows to allow for fresh air. Overall cleanliness was decent.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Nicky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your stay and your review posting. We shall investigate the cause of an undesired odeur in your room. Thank you for the feedback. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The location of this hotel is great, ideal for getting out and about this lovely city. The reception staff on arrival were friendly and helpful and this remained throughout our stay, whenever there was a need to raise a query or ask for an umbrella!. Our room was good, plenty of room, clean and warm, with a lovely view out to the canal. We stayed Tues – Fri, so outside was quiet and we were not disturbed by any outside noise. The bar in the hotel is fantastic and a real throw back, a visit to it is a must. The internet facilities were good and there was a small gym if you feel the need. If you are looking for a good standard of hotel, with no fuss and a great location, you cannot go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay and your review posting. It gives us great pleasure that you found our product and services very befitting for your visit. It encourages our team to make even exceed your expectations upon your next visit. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#71 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 712 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#50 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 588 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#98 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
377 House - Amsterdam
#63 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#84 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,368 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American has a rich history. In 1882, the first hotel guests stayed at this unique location on Leidseplein. The current building dates from 1902 and is a wonderful example of Jugenstil. Right at the centre of this national monument is Cafe Americain, the hotspot where (hotel) guests and Amsterdam residents enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing