We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Ranked #77 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
england
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fab stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed at the American 2-6 March. We had a room on the 5th floor; once we turned up the radiator is was lovely and warm. Room and bathroom were on the small side but functional and had everything we needed. We had a balcony but unfortunately not much of a view. Price included breakfast which was amazing; loads of choice and omelettes/eggs cooked to order and the most delicious pastries.
Had a fabulous cocktail in the bar each night; the staff were so friendly and helpful even making a cocktail to order.
Staff on the front desk were always helpful with information on Amsterdam and handy we could leave our luggage on the last day.
Found a lovely restaurant just past Pathe City called In De Buurt which we went to twice; small menu but varied and food was excellent.
This is a beautiful art deco hotel in a great location and well worth the price we paid.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lawrenceEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay and your review posting. It is very rewarding for the team to hear that you had such a satisfactory visit to Amsterdam and the hotel. We hope to be able to welcome you again soon. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,132
    1,176
    402
    141
    69
See reviews for
344
1,410
185
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Good:
This hotel is close to all the nightlife.
Parking at the front of the hotel (if you can get a space)
Bad:
You can hear people talking in the next room or across the hall. Not sure what they made the walls from? If you are a light sleeper expect to be woken up when anyone moves about in other rooms.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank btuckwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and your review posting. A 112-year old building brings a lot of charm, however, sometimes has characteristics that differ from todays standards. Unfortunately, slightly less soundproof walls is one of these aspects. We hope that it did not affect your stay too much. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Location excellent. Room size good but bathroom too small. Furnishings rather dated but decent. Room had a mouldy kind of smell and had to open windows to allow for fresh air. Overall cleanliness was decent.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Nicky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your stay and your review posting. We shall investigate the cause of an undesired odeur in your room. Thank you for the feedback. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

The location of this hotel is great, ideal for getting out and about this lovely city. The reception staff on arrival were friendly and helpful and this remained throughout our stay, whenever there was a need to raise a query or ask for an umbrella!. Our room was good, plenty of room, clean and warm, with a lovely view out to the canal. We stayed Tues – Fri, so outside was quiet and we were not disturbed by any outside noise. The bar in the hotel is fantastic and a real throw back, a visit to it is a must. The internet facilities were good and there was a small gym if you feel the need. If you are looking for a good standard of hotel, with no fuss and a great location, you cannot go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay and your review posting. It gives us great pleasure that you found our product and services very befitting for your visit. It encourages our team to make even exceed your expectations upon your next visit. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Very clean, staff friendly and helpful, main thing is very good location tram 1 2 and 5 can get here easily, no swimming pool or spa but overall is very good hotel, you get what you pay for. I would come back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your visit and your review posting. It is good to hear that you consider our product and services to be the right value for money. It is our ambition to next time even exceed your expectations. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brierley Hill, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

The beds were huge and comfy, food and drink was excellent and the staff were the friendliest people I've ever had the pleasure to encounter on holiday. This hotel is also located in a perfect place for exploring Amsterdam and the 197 bus from the airport stops right outside. I'd highly recommend the Amsterdam American Hotel to anyone travelling to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your stay and your review posting. It gives us great pleasure that we were able to make your stay most comfortable and satisfactory. We hope to be able to welcome you again. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed here in January for a long weekend (wedding anniversary) and had a very pleasant experience. It's the second time we've stayed here and last time we had a room with a canal view but this time we were at the top facing inwards, however the room was bigger. No complaints about decoration, the bed, facilities and the heating was fine, We had to ask for dressing gowns (free) but they were provided straight away. I don't think anyone has mentioned it but the hotel has four PCs available (free) with printers for guests. Very useful for online confirmation of the return flight.
Leidseplein for us is the best area to stay in Amsterdam. It's only a short walk into the old city area in one direction, and very close to the big Art Museums in another. I also like having the entrance to Vondel Park just across the road. If you stay here then you must try eating in the beautiful Art Nouveau restaurant. I would recommend the regular Jazz lunches on Sunday. Two excellent musicians playing live, plus buffet style lunch.
We arrived at the hotel early which wasn't a problem as they have a room for storing luggage. Similarly the day we checked out we were able to keep our luggage in the hotel until the taxi arrived to take us to the airport.

We recommend this hotel and hope to return again.

Room Tip: I would say a room on the canal side is nicer. Quiet & you can watch the ducks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnthonyandLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visit and your review posting. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed Amsterdam and our hotel so much. We hope to be able welcome you again. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#57 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#62 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#41 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American has a rich history. In 1882, the first hotel guests stayed at this unique location on Leidseplein. The current building dates from 1902 and is a wonderful example of Jugenstil. Right at the centre of this national monument is Cafe Americain, the hotspot where (hotel) guests and Amsterdam residents enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing