We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Located Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Ranked #68 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Located Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The location of this hotel is great, ideal for getting out and about this lovely city. The reception staff on arrival were friendly and helpful and this remained throughout our stay, whenever there was a need to raise a query or ask for an umbrella!. Our room was good, plenty of room, clean and warm, with a lovely view out to the canal. We stayed Tues – Fri, so outside was quiet and we were not disturbed by any outside noise. The bar in the hotel is fantastic and a real throw back, a visit to it is a must. The internet facilities were good and there was a small gym if you feel the need. If you are looking for a good standard of hotel, with no fuss and a great location, you cannot go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your stay and your review posting. It gives us great pleasure that you found our product and services very befitting for your visit. It encourages our team to make even exceed your expectations upon your next visit. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    948
    1,024
    338
    125
    59
See reviews for
285
1,187
164
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Very clean, staff friendly and helpful, main thing is very good location tram 1 2 and 5 can get here easily, no swimming pool or spa but overall is very good hotel, you get what you pay for. I would come back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your visit and your review posting. It is good to hear that you consider our product and services to be the right value for money. It is our ambition to next time even exceed your expectations. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brierley Hill, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

The beds were huge and comfy, food and drink was excellent and the staff were the friendliest people I've ever had the pleasure to encounter on holiday. This hotel is also located in a perfect place for exploring Amsterdam and the 197 bus from the airport stops right outside. I'd highly recommend the Amsterdam American Hotel to anyone travelling to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your stay and your review posting. It gives us great pleasure that we were able to make your stay most comfortable and satisfactory. We hope to be able to welcome you again. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed here in January for a long weekend (wedding anniversary) and had a very pleasant experience. It's the second time we've stayed here and last time we had a room with a canal view but this time we were at the top facing inwards, however the room was bigger. No complaints about decoration, the bed, facilities and the heating was fine, We had to ask for dressing gowns (free) but they were provided straight away. I don't think anyone has mentioned it but the hotel has four PCs available (free) with printers for guests. Very useful for online confirmation of the return flight.
Leidseplein for us is the best area to stay in Amsterdam. It's only a short walk into the old city area in one direction, and very close to the big Art Museums in another. I also like having the entrance to Vondel Park just across the road. If you stay here then you must try eating in the beautiful Art Nouveau restaurant. I would recommend the regular Jazz lunches on Sunday. Two excellent musicians playing live, plus buffet style lunch.
We arrived at the hotel early which wasn't a problem as they have a room for storing luggage. Similarly the day we checked out we were able to keep our luggage in the hotel until the taxi arrived to take us to the airport.

We recommend this hotel and hope to return again.

Room Tip: I would say a room on the canal side is nicer. Quiet & you can watch the ducks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnthonyandLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visit and your review posting. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed Amsterdam and our hotel so much. We hope to be able welcome you again. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel mid october 2013,a great hotel location is near every thing ,clubs resturants ,wlaking distance from the casino .
the rooms are clean,but make sure to get a room with balconey ,my freind got a room with out a balconey and was small and then he was upgraded to the new furnished rooms .
the staff is freindly and with good knwoledge about the area

Room Tip: room with a balconey on the canal,away from the noise ,and wider
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fadiZibdeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review posting. We are happy that the services provided did meet your expectations. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Just back from a wonderful weekend stay at the American Hotel in Amsterdam. This hotel has everything you need to stay in the city. It is ideally located near the museums and old town canal rings with lots of restaurants and shops nearby. The staff are friendly and efficient. And the rooms and hotel have interesting art deco features. This is a luxury stay in old Amsterdam. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Definitely worth the upgrade to a junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank euromarketer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your stay and your review posting. Good to hear that you had a satisfactory stay. We hope to see you again soon. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Was welcomed by Clayton at the front desk and from the very first impressions he gave I knew it would be a great stay, and we was not disappointed, the hotel is clean, tidy and the staff, from the front desk to the cleaners, bar staff were all very polite, the room we stayed in was the basic kind, but rest assured the room was big, as was the bed, we had an internal balcony which was great, quiet and very private, the Hotel is right on top of the main square, which can get noisy, but we heard nothing from our room, this is the forth time I have visited Amsterdam and have stayed in lower end hotels as well as higher end hotel/apartments, but let me say when I return it will be here I stay again, it's not the most expensive I have stayed in, but value for money you will not beat, one very small downside was the Sauna was out of service whilst some work was be done during renovation works, but to be honest that did not take away anything from the break, thanks to everyone at the Hotel for a lovely break,

Room Tip: room with internal balcony are very quiet, and during the summer a great sun trap for those who enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your stay and your review posting. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit. Our apologies for the necessary healt & safety maintenance works to our sauna during your stay. We hope to be able to welcome you again soon. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#75 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#53 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#56 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#61 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,688 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#101 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,118 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#80 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#46 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American has a rich history. In 1882, the first hotel guests stayed at this unique location on Leidseplein. The current building dates from 1902 and is a wonderful example of Jugenstil. Right at the centre of this national monument is Cafe Americain, the hotspot where (hotel) guests and Amsterdam residents enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing