We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Ranked #72 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Excellent location for trams, buses etc. Hotel very nice but rooms very dated our first room was nice with a small balcony but after going away for a night to Germany and coming back for another 2 nights we were given a different room which was not good. After spending a lot of money for the first two nights we thought our room for the next two nights when we came back would be just as nice or if not better than the room before but it was not. Very chlaustrophobic with a small window which overlooked the roof, certainly not worth what we paid I don't think. As we were only there for a short time we didn't ask to change but if it had been any longer I would have asked for a different room. Amsterdam is way overpriced accommodation wise in general so maybe you have to pay a lot to get a lot in return. Would probably stay there again as it was clean and in a nice area. I have to say reception staff wereexcellent and very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerielindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your visits and your review posting. Several dated rooms are up for renovation. The room type upon your second visit is the quitest available. For guests that prefer a minimum of noise over a city/canal view. By stating your preference, maximum effort will be displayed to accomodate you in a room of your preference. With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,603 - 1,609 of 3,185 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

The staff did their best, but despite prebooking supposedly quiet rooms, my second disturbed night at this hotel. Poor in room lighting and a very springy bed don't add to the ambience, but the noise is pretty dreadful. As I was there for business, my needs were small but a good night's sleep was one of them. Heavy metal concert and tram noise anyone?

Room Tip: Try to ask for a quiet room. It won't be quiet but at least not deafening. Side canal or court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HonestTraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and review posting. As mentioned to other reviewers, our very location is the most vibrant and dynamic of the whole city. Basically, this part of the city never sleeps. Let us arrange a guaranteed inner courtyard room or high floor canal view room for your next visit so that you will experience the difference. Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I was on the first floor overlooking the restaurant and the noise was constant throughout the evening and the night. Trams and people shouting kept me awake and made it a very uncomfortable stay. The room was also poorly lit despite having all the lights on. The staff were pleasant but could not in all honesty recommend it for the money.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the trams and I would think higher up would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review posting. Being situated in the absolute pinnacle of the city, it can indeed be noisy outside. For quiter rooms, please ask for higher situated rooms with canal view or inner courtyard rooms. in some cases a supplement might apply. With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great location, beautiful hotel, the room we had was clean, comfortable and plenty of room to move. The only downside was that it was noisy....the trams were going non stop and there never seemed to be any peace and quiet...other than that highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billie012013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review posting. Unfortunately, even our double windows can not block all sounds of the city at the vibrant Leidseplein. It is the busiest point in Amsterdam centre! Please ask for the quiter inner courtyard rooms upon your next visit. The view is of course limited but noise is reduced to a minimum. With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

been wanting to try out this hotel since a while now, so this trip i finally did and it was strictly average.

the location is just perfect but the hotel is nothing to write home about in terms of service and rooms. infact my entire floor had this awful smell for all the 3 days that i was there.

the room was basic. maybe the rooms with the canal view must be better.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bombay36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and your review with constructive comments, Could you inform us on which floor you were allocated and which room number? Then we can investigate where the odeur was coming from, our building, outside, neighbours etc. We do apologise for the inconvenience. Upon your next visit, the dated rooms might be renovated already, otherwise we shall arrange for a canal view room. With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is perfect for a stay in Amsterdam! Right next to Leidesplein for every type of food possible and loads of bars! It's also right on a tram route taking you to the centraal station. Rooms are nice, big and en suites good. All in all great value, would definitely recommend to all!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay and your review posting. We are glad that you enjoyed it and hope to see you again. With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a beautiful building and, having stayed here before, I know some of the rooms (overlooking the canal) are very pretty. The one we were given was not. Nothing wrong with it, just a bog standard modern hotel room with a pretty rubbish view

It was clean, efficient and there were no real gripes.

It's in a lovely spot on plenty of tram routes to the station and Dam Place etc.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CurrySpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for another stay at the hotel and for your review posting. Pictures indeed can never reflect all room types and decors. The room allocated to you is favorite with guests that prefer the quitest room possible. At our vibrant location, this are the inner courtyard rooms. Please state your preference upon your next visit. With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#56 of 372 in Amsterdam
876 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#74 of 372 in Amsterdam
990 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#16 of 372 in Amsterdam
3,977 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#77 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $187 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American has a rich history. In 1882, the first hotel guests stayed at this unique location on Leidseplein. The current building dates from 1902 and is a wonderful example of Jugenstil. Right at the centre of this national monument is Cafe Americain, the hotspot where (hotel) guests and Amsterdam residents enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing