We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Stay here!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Ranked #66 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stay here!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

If you are looking for an reasonably price and well situated hotel, this is the place. The staff is kind, courteous, knowledgeable, patient and kind. The rooms are larger than most European hotels and the property is located very close to all the museums as well as within reasonable walking distance to Dam Square. If you want to take a canal tour, it's right outside the hotel door plus you can take a bus directly to/from the airport to the hotel (bus 197). The price is reasonable for this city and you will stay in a historic building with an amazing ambiance.

Room Tip: Many people have stated that the rooms are noisy, we had no problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your stay and review posting. You have summarized the advantages of our hotel and location very well for future travellers. We are glad that you also enjoyed the service and entourage. We hope to see you again. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    986
    1,047
    342
    127
    62
See reviews for
301
1,220
167
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

pay 280euro per night got a small room with a view to a service place to air condition that was under construction so people was working outside ,internet connection of 128K .
bathroom to small and with no water pressure.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oferka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your visit and your review posting. We are sorry to hear that the necessary renovation works caused disturbance and frustration. Some guests prefer your room type because it is rather quiet. The wifi capacity is actually more than 128KB, should you desire even more, vouchers for high capacity can be purchased. We shall carefully look into the water pressure. It is at a certain level to comply with environmental standards for the Green Key label. I you would try us again, let us arrange a room that meets with all your requirements to try and change your opinion. We hope that you will take us up on that proposal. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillestrom, Norway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel is has the City theater and the Bellevue theater as neighbors and just a short walk to find bus or the tram line. Outside the main entrance you will find a canal and one of the many boat stops for sightseeing.
The hotel is old and there are a wide range of different rooms and stairways to the rooms. Some of the rooms are on the same level as an elevator, but not all of them. If you have problems with stairs advice the hotel up front. They will do their best to help you.
We met a helpful and smiling service at the reception. The concierge doubled as a bellboy and our suitcases came pretty fast to our room.
Our room was on the 4 floor on the corner facing Leidseplein and the city theater. Please be aware that this also is a bit noisy. The tramway almost runs 24 hours a day and especially often in the early morning bringing the commuters to their jobs. It is possible, but not recommended to sleep with an open window.
Cleaning was as good as expected. The maid was also making sure that you was the right person to enter the room if you tested her. I liked that.
Breakfast was OK, but nothing special. The cost was aprox 15,50 euros when ordered and payed up front at the reception and 4,- euros extra if you just turned up. The restaurant and the bar where popular and had a decent service.
A taxi from the airport was aprox 40,- euros (August 2013).
We where 8 persons in 4 rooms and had a good offer for the price. To just by a full price room seams expensive, but so are Amsterdam hotels. For a private person I would recommend to consider a hotel outside the city limits even though this location was nice and close nough to several interesting sights.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the canal is quieter than rooms facing Leidseplein.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 50_years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your detailed review> A review that describes the hotel and its services in a manner that is hopefully useful for travellers that are looking for the most befitting accomodation in Amsterdam. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I visited this hotel for a weekend in august. I found the staff very helpful and it was also close to vondel park and the van gogh museum. One evening we had dinner at the cafe american which was very good food. The hotel is not cheap but i would highly recommend it to any one who wants to spend a romantic weekend in amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John111111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your visit and your review. We are happy to hear that Amsterdam and the hotel provided the right decor and service to make your stay as romantic as you had hoped it to be. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The hotel is centrally located and the rooms are spacious and lovely. My husband and I are thankful that we splurged on our stay here! Big, comfy bed and the breakfast was a good value. Hopefully we'll get to visit again in the future!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your stay and your review posting. We too hope that you will visit us again soon. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel..got a very good rate and the location was excellent. Just right across Leidsplein N when you are in Amsterdam that's where you want to be...staff was friendly and the room was very nice and very well maintened. Would definitely stay there again on our next trip to Amsterdam :)


  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear guest, Thank you for your stay and your review. We look forward to welcome you again on your next trip to Amsterdam. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Having seen the somewhat variable reviews on tripadvisor was nervous about booking this hotel but decided to go ahead as our friends visiting from Bali were already booked to stay. On arrival we were very quickly registered and our room proved to be spacious and clean. The location of the hotel is fantastic being close to the museums, nightlife and pretty much everything that is going on in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterCW9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review posting. Good to know that you feel you made the right choice by making the Amsterdam American Hotel your point of residence whilst staying in Amsterdam. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#71 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 739 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#56 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#51 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#30 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 788 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 617 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#48 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American has a rich history. In 1882, the first hotel guests stayed at this unique location on Leidseplein. The current building dates from 1902 and is a wonderful example of Jugenstil. Right at the centre of this national monument is Cafe Americain, the hotspot where (hotel) guests and Amsterdam residents enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing