We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location with good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Ranked #75 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great location with good service”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Having seen the somewhat variable reviews on tripadvisor was nervous about booking this hotel but decided to go ahead as our friends visiting from Bali were already booked to stay. On arrival we were very quickly registered and our room proved to be spacious and clean. The location of the hotel is fantastic being close to the museums, nightlife and pretty much everything that is going on in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterCW9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review posting. Good to know that you feel you made the right choice by making the Amsterdam American Hotel your point of residence whilst staying in Amsterdam. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,158
    1,192
    405
    144
    70
See reviews for
345
1,439
185
357
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Having stayed in the Leidseplein area several times we decided to finally stay at the American Hotel after having passed it on countless occasions. We were very happy with how comfortable the rooms were. This didn't strike us as a typical Amsterdam hotel as the rooms were larger and the stairs were not long, steep and winding, which was a bonus.

The main selling point for us was the location. The square has loads of bars and restaurants and the Vondelpark is just around the corner. We would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauly-101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay and your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you again. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rauma, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I had a great romantic weekend in amsterdam together with my wife thanks to the Amsterdam American hotel.
The hotel is fantastic located in the centrum off Amsterdam and all is on walking distance or going by tram.
We had a wonderful big room with a terrace, the rooms are big and clean the bathroom is normal standard.
The staff is very helpful.
Breakfast was perfect we got our breakfast in the room so very enjoyable in morning.
Dinner ?
I would recommend this hotel for a long weekend in Amsterdam for couples or with family.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Layover007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review posting. We are happy that your stay in Amsterdam resulted in the romantic getaway that you had planned and that our hotel contributed to that. We hope to welcome you again. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Area
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Fantastic location for a number of reasons:
- directly outside the tram stop that brought us to and from the airport
- multiple tram stops to take you to opposite ends of the city
- not inside the red-light district, but walking distance to see and experience it
- excellent location for walking to museums and other must see's
- right on the canal, across from a rental site where you can rent pedal-pusher boats and tour the city via the water... WAY better than the paid guided tours!!
- hotel was old but re-furbished... much larger room than expected (large enough for 2 adults in 2 beds with space for suitcases and moving about)
- all staff spoke English and were kind and willing to help us find our way around
- free internet in the upstairs lobby, including free computers where you can print off maps and other informatio

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dominicanlove4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your posting. Your review reads as a good summary of all the offerings available to help first-time travellers to Amsterdam. We hope to see you back. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We would gladly stay here again. Our room was large - especially for a European hotel. Location was ideal; we were a 10 minute walk from the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum. Trams and buses all stopped across the street. You can get there easily from the airport taking the bus. Restaurant was beautiful we didn't eat there as it was a bit pricey. Just ask for a room facing the canal as we suspect rooms facing the square would be noisy, especially in the summer. Desk staff was always pleasant and the concierge was very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank handballplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review posting. The header of your review sums up in two words the exact reason of the existence of the hotel: exceeding expectations! We always strive to reach that goal. We are glad that we succeeded in your opinion. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great hotel. Quiet. Good staff. Large rooms, especially by European standards. Great location. Excellent restaurant. Walking distance to museums. Helpful staff for recommendations. Less than 1 mile to most of Amsterdam locations

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pcorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your to-the-point description of the hotel. We think and hope that it is useful for other travellers. We hope to be able to welcome you again. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have been in Amsterdam several time and usually either rent an apartment or stay in some type of Canal House. Due to travelling at a very busy time of year for Amsterdam (June) had to do some digging to find a hotel for the dates I needed. The Amsterdam American has a good location (very busy traffic circle) near all of the major museums and a quick tram ride to everything else. When we checked in the staff was very professional and asked if I would mind taking a handicapped accessible room. The room was very spacious, had a terrace and overlooked the fountains. Very nice though the furnishings were a bit worn. The price though was very reasonable for this type of hotel and in this location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ihgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review. We are honoured that you deemed our hotel the right choice for an Amsterdam visit. We hope that you will choose us again in the nearby future! With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#58 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#72 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#60 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American has a rich history. In 1882, the first hotel guests stayed at this unique location on Leidseplein. The current building dates from 1902 and is a wonderful example of Jugenstil. Right at the centre of this national monument is Cafe Americain, the hotspot where (hotel) guests and Amsterdam residents enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing