We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic weekend in a splendid hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Ranked #72 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I had a great romantic weekend in amsterdam together with my wife thanks to the Amsterdam American hotel.
The hotel is fantastic located in the centrum off Amsterdam and all is on walking distance or going by tram.
We had a wonderful big room with a terrace, the rooms are big and clean the bathroom is normal standard.
The staff is very helpful.
Breakfast was perfect we got our breakfast in the room so very enjoyable in morning.
Dinner ?
I would recommend this hotel for a long weekend in Amsterdam for couples or with family.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Layover007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review posting. We are happy that your stay in Amsterdam resulted in the romantic getaway that you had planned and that our hotel contributed to that. We hope to welcome you again. With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,151)
There are newer reviews for Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,590 - 1,596 of 3,151 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

Fantastic location for a number of reasons:
- directly outside the tram stop that brought us to and from the airport
- multiple tram stops to take you to opposite ends of the city
- not inside the red-light district, but walking distance to see and experience it
- excellent location for walking to museums and other must see's
- right on the canal, across from a rental site where you can rent pedal-pusher boats and tour the city via the water... WAY better than the paid guided tours!!
- hotel was old but re-furbished... much larger room than expected (large enough for 2 adults in 2 beds with space for suitcases and moving about)
- all staff spoke English and were kind and willing to help us find our way around
- free internet in the upstairs lobby, including free computers where you can print off maps and other informatio

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dominicanlove4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your posting. Your review reads as a good summary of all the offerings available to help first-time travellers to Amsterdam. We hope to see you back. With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We would gladly stay here again. Our room was large - especially for a European hotel. Location was ideal; we were a 10 minute walk from the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum. Trams and buses all stopped across the street. You can get there easily from the airport taking the bus. Restaurant was beautiful we didn't eat there as it was a bit pricey. Just ask for a room facing the canal as we suspect rooms facing the square would be noisy, especially in the summer. Desk staff was always pleasant and the concierge was very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank handballplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review posting. The header of your review sums up in two words the exact reason of the existence of the hotel: exceeding expectations! We always strive to reach that goal. We are glad that we succeeded in your opinion. With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great hotel. Quiet. Good staff. Large rooms, especially by European standards. Great location. Excellent restaurant. Walking distance to museums. Helpful staff for recommendations. Less than 1 mile to most of Amsterdam locations

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pcorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your to-the-point description of the hotel. We think and hope that it is useful for other travellers. We hope to be able to welcome you again. Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have been in Amsterdam several time and usually either rent an apartment or stay in some type of Canal House. Due to travelling at a very busy time of year for Amsterdam (June) had to do some digging to find a hotel for the dates I needed. The Amsterdam American has a good location (very busy traffic circle) near all of the major museums and a quick tram ride to everything else. When we checked in the staff was very professional and asked if I would mind taking a handicapped accessible room. The room was very spacious, had a terrace and overlooked the fountains. Very nice though the furnishings were a bit worn. The price though was very reasonable for this type of hotel and in this location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ihgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review. We are honoured that you deemed our hotel the right choice for an Amsterdam visit. We hope that you will choose us again in the nearby future! With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It is a very comfortable and wonderful hotel. Great breakfast restaurant, wonderfully central location. The best thing about the hotel is its Concierge. Very, very helpful, friendly, gracious and knowledgeable. Tip him well if you use his services because he deserves it. Internet is free but if you want speed and multiple devices pay to get the premium service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rnarisetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and your stay. It gives us great pleasure that we managed to provide you the service that you had hoped for. With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel has a great location to the nightlife scene around Leidseplein. The rooms are small
and the restaurant pricey. Staff seemed pleasant enough. Hotel was clean. But as far as the price of the rooms, your paying for location.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking Leidseplein square have great view, but noisy.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mauimarkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review. The less contemporary room type that you were accomodated in is up for renovation in the nearby future. We hope that you will visit us again next year to experience the results. With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#55 of 371 in Amsterdam
868 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#76 of 371 in Amsterdam
980 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#80 of 371 in Amsterdam
763 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#16 of 371 in Amsterdam
3,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $188 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American has a rich history. In 1882, the first hotel guests stayed at this unique location on Leidseplein. The current building dates from 1902 and is a wonderful example of Jugenstil. Right at the centre of this national monument is Cafe Americain, the hotspot where (hotel) guests and Amsterdam residents enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing