We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location along the canal close to restaurants & shopping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Ranked #74 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect location along the canal close to restaurants & shopping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great hotel. Quiet. Good staff. Large rooms, especially by European standards. Great location. Excellent restaurant. Walking distance to museums. Helpful staff for recommendations. Less than 1 mile to most of Amsterdam locations

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pcorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your to-the-point description of the hotel. We think and hope that it is useful for other travellers. We hope to be able to welcome you again. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,129
    1,174
    402
    141
    69
See reviews for
343
1,408
185
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have been in Amsterdam several time and usually either rent an apartment or stay in some type of Canal House. Due to travelling at a very busy time of year for Amsterdam (June) had to do some digging to find a hotel for the dates I needed. The Amsterdam American has a good location (very busy traffic circle) near all of the major museums and a quick tram ride to everything else. When we checked in the staff was very professional and asked if I would mind taking a handicapped accessible room. The room was very spacious, had a terrace and overlooked the fountains. Very nice though the furnishings were a bit worn. The price though was very reasonable for this type of hotel and in this location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ihgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review. We are honoured that you deemed our hotel the right choice for an Amsterdam visit. We hope that you will choose us again in the nearby future! With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
461 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

It is a very comfortable and wonderful hotel. Great breakfast restaurant, wonderfully central location. The best thing about the hotel is its Concierge. Very, very helpful, friendly, gracious and knowledgeable. Tip him well if you use his services because he deserves it. Internet is free but if you want speed and multiple devices pay to get the premium service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rnarisetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and your stay. It gives us great pleasure that we managed to provide you the service that you had hoped for. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel has a great location to the nightlife scene around Leidseplein. The rooms are small
and the restaurant pricey. Staff seemed pleasant enough. Hotel was clean. But as far as the price of the rooms, your paying for location.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking Leidseplein square have great view, but noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mauimarkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review. The less contemporary room type that you were accomodated in is up for renovation in the nearby future. We hope that you will visit us again next year to experience the results. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Very good location.. Close to city center and shopping areas.. Located in leidsplein square with lots of cafes, restaurant and night life.. Service is great.. Amazing breakfast buffet.. Authentic classic hotel with history in each corner :) helpful staff always smiling :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amrmahmoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay and your review. The team is glad that product and services where exactly what you had in mind. Hope to see you again. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We recently stayed in this hotel in 2 rooms for 3 nights. I requested canal view rooms but we got side road view rooms. We didn't make a fuss as we were happy with the hotel and location. However, as everyone else seems to have mentioned previously, there were no bathrobes in the rooms. When I asked at reception if they could arrange bathrobes I was greeted by an extremely sullen female with a bad attitude who told me she would 'sort it'....needless to say they never appeared! Why advertise bathrobes if you aren't going to supply them? Overall I found the hotel quite charming and the location was ideal but the reception staff need training in customer service! I am a Travel Agent and would I recommend this hotel to my clients?....would have to say 'not unless their service improves immensely and they live up to their 4 star rating'!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your visit and your review posting with constructive comments. Indeed it is ennoying when a promised service is not delivered. In your case the bathrobes. Our apologies for this ommission which, understandibly, leads to frustration. Needless to say that we shall continue to focus on service minded attitude and behaviour. In order to convince you that you made the right choice and will do so again. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We found the Amsterdam American Hotel to be perfect for our needs. It was clean, had a nice lobby and offered WI-FI free in the lobby and in the rooms. We ate a meal at their restaurant which was great. We passed on Brunch on Sunday because it was rather pricey for us since we don't eat large breakfasts. But, all in all, it was a great choice. It was an east walk to many fine museums and restaurants and it was easy to get a taxi when we needed one.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the hotel for a quieter experience. We did and got one. We had no pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naneki16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review. Good to know that the hotel suited your needs. We look forward to welcoming you again. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#57 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#60 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#41 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#52 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American has a rich history. In 1882, the first hotel guests stayed at this unique location on Leidseplein. The current building dates from 1902 and is a wonderful example of Jugenstil. Right at the centre of this national monument is Cafe Americain, the hotspot where (hotel) guests and Amsterdam residents enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing