We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location is perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Ranked #75 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Location is perfect”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Pros: location is perfect, 3 min walk away from the Vondelpark and close to the Leidse square and street. It's 10 min walking away from the museums (such as Rijsk and Van Gogh) and 10 min distant by tram/bus from both the Train Station and Airport.

Cons: breakfast and the cafe are very expensive! It is good, but still expensive. We had it the first day and ate out during the rest of the trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luiz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay and the review posting. Good to hear that you had a satisfactory stay and trip to Amsterdam. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,152
    1,190
    405
    144
    70
See reviews for
345
1,431
185
357
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great hotel location wise. A beautiful façade, the fountain in front helps buffer the noise from the trams. The lobby is very much out of character for such a great art deco building. The restaurant is magnificent, a great breakfast and dinner with theatre was good. The room I had faced onto the fountain. Third floor, with a quaint balcony. smallish with no character, but very comfortable.

The American Bar serves some wonderful cocktails, and no better place to indulge in some people watching.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the canal do not suffer from the noise of the trams.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and the posting of your review. We are glad you had a very pleasnat stay at our hotel. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
243 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

First impressions good. As recommended in another post we took the #197 bus which took us straight there ( although slow @ 40 mins - take a cab if you are in a hurry). Outside is gorgeous with the fountain and dining area.

Our room was spacious, although lacking in personality, couldn't fault it for comfort and amenities.We could hear everything on the corridor and were beside the lift - Room 606. It was a standard room, paid quite a high rate for it though. We had a slight view of the canal through our slanted windows.

We ate at the restaurant on the first night, they offer a good value theatre meal 27 euros for two courses all evening, food is pleasant enough and staff nice - except they tried to charge us for non theatre meal prices.

Surrounding area was a bit of a mix, within easy walking distance of the Rijksmuseum which was great, but many of the bars and restaurants close by seemed to be for the stag/hen crowd and advertised cheap drink which wasn't what we were expecting at all.

If we went back I'd probably try to stay somewhere which had an express bus to/from the airport or was closer to Central station just to cut back on travelling costs as I felt that whilst there was nothing wrong with it equally there was nothing special about the American that would make me rush back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joaniebinedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review posting. Except for the airport hotels, there is no direct transfer bus to the city. We can recommend the small Lovers hop-on/hop-off van. Their first stop is just in front of the hotel making it a direct transfer at a reasonable price.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

First I need to start by saying we had booked to stay at the Hampshire hotel,but on arrival were told they were fully booked and we were to be transferred to a 4 star hotel other side of city.
Ok,and a taxi was arranged and off we went. We had booked the hotel back in April so not sure why we didn't have a room.
On arrival we were allocated a double room....We had requested a twin room as my husband was recovering from an operation.This hotel said they didn't have twin rooms but upgraded us to a suite with an extra large bed and room for a single bed if required. All seemed ok and we had a lovely time in Amsterdam.
On departure the receptionist told us we owed city tax of over 26 euros , which we had no idea about and Travel Republic who we had booked with had also not mentioned it. The hotel could not tell us the rate of the tax and to what room this applied - The room we booked or the room we were given. Since coming home we have found out that city tax is 5% . Paying 26 euros on the price we originally paid makes the tax 14%.
We have sent emails to the hotel but have yet to receive an answer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayley27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank yo for your visit and your posting. We shall follow up on your remarks concerning the city tax. In Amsterdam it is 5,5% and rates are always excluding this city tax. Could you provide us your details in order for us to contact you?

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in the 1970's and loved the charm and service. We prepaid for 4 nights for a business and pleasure trip this April . We were never told that the hotel was under a large project that caused some of the windows in our suite to be covered. The room was immaculate and the service was good. But there is a problem - although there were several places to sit, only one upholstered chair had a light. This meant that my husband and I could not sit comfortably and read. Whoever designed the room did not take this into consideration. On the day of arrival, I fell outside of the hotel because the sidewalk was blocked by a sign and I had to step into the street and fell off the curb. Our business acquaintances recommended a hospital (outstanding care), and as soon as I was casted and told to go home for surgery (U.S.) I let the desk know that we would be leaving a day early. We were still charged for the room. I considered a fracture an extenuating circumstance, so after my surgery I called the hotel and was told via email that if I had fallen in the hotel they would waive the fee. In a second email I was told that if I had called the hotel directly to make reservations instead of using my 30 year travel agent, they would waive the fee. Lesson learned - call from the U.S. to make the reservation and fall inside the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pharmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your renewed visit after so many years. We are sorry to hear that you fell on the streets of Amsterdam. The fact that our cancellation policy was maintained was because this should be a typical case for your travel insurance. We shall research what caused the confusing communication concerning the booking process. Our apologies for this misunderstanding. We hope your injury has already healed.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed one night in July on short notice, arriving late and leaving early. This was the best value I found on short notice. The hotel is very modern (based on other reviews, possibly still mid-remodel?) - my room looked brand new and was immaculate, and the lobby was comfortable and trendy. The room was a little small, but this is Europe, not Kansas. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Wifi was free and fast. Location (Leidseplein) is excellent - walkable from centraal station if you aren't lugging too much stuff, or very easily accessible via trams that run literally every couple minutes. Although I stayed in the summer, this location would be absolutely perfect in winter - the ice skating rink is put right outside, the oliebollen (a kind of donut) stand is a stone's throw away, etc.

Room Tip: Since it sounds from the reviews that some rooms have not yet been remodeled, ask for a remodeled ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review posting. Indeed some rooms are up for renovation. we hope to welcome you back for a longer stay next time you visit Amsterdam. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Veneto, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

After MANY hours of searching for the perfect Amsterdam "neighborhood", I decided to roll the dice on this place. I was not disappointed. WOW! First, we could reach it easily and economically from the airport. The #197 from the airport dropped us off in front of the hotel for 4 euro PP after about a 25 minute ride. The ride length was not b/c of many stops, but bc the airport is quite a distance from the city center. This was the best way to reach Leidesplein (the hotel). Everything we wanted to see was walkable. We visited the fashion district, museum district, flower market, Anne Frank house, Red Light district, etc...all with the longest walk being about 20 minutes maximum walking. Also Hard Rock cafe and Holland Casino are 5 minute walk. The walks were great, though, bc this is how you see Amsterdam. Right outside the hotel were TONS of shops, restaurants, etc. Leidseplein is the HOT spot and center of everything! Our walks were filled with unique and fabulous sites but we really didn't have to go anywhere except outside the hotel! Cleanliness was a bigger priority over location and the rooms were immaculate. Yes, the hotel carpet and some hallway décor was a little outdated, but the room furniture/tvs, etc were great and the rooms were very clean. We did experience a little construction noise, but it wasn't terrible or too disruptive. I would have asked for a room on the other side of the hotel if I knew, though. I will certainly be visiting here again. Amsterdam is pricey, but we had a great time. The hotel helped make the experience. The fountain and café are so beautiful that walkerbys made it a casual stopping area. And by the way, no Hard European bed here. The bed was huge and just soft enough. Our room said at least a double, but we got a California king!

Room Tip: Call and ask about construction and a view. Don't use email. They responded to my email request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dilmar0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodolf_J_W, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review. The last scaffolding has been removed and further renovatiosn are back of house. We hope to welcome you again soon. With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#59 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#71 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#46 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#52 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American has a rich history. In 1882, the first hotel guests stayed at this unique location on Leidseplein. The current building dates from 1902 and is a wonderful example of Jugenstil. Right at the centre of this national monument is Cafe Americain, the hotspot where (hotel) guests and Amsterdam residents enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing