We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
American Hotel Amsterdam
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Aitana(Amsterdam)
$254
$196
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
citizenM Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel The Exchange(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$211
$179
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$153
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$224
$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$120
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$159
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$140
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Volkshotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$114
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,428)
Filter reviews
3,428 results
Traveler rating
1,361
1,358
459
163
87
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,361
1,358
459
163
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationhampshire hotelbalcony overlooking the canalcanal tourbeautiful hotelmini barbars and restaurantsflower marketvan gogh museummuseum quartertram stopcentral locationdam squareleidsepleinamericaincityconcierge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,845 - 1,850 of 3,428 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Perfect location right next to the diamond museum, stunning hotel if you like plush interiors, art nouveau and a great cocktail bar it's one for you. Our room had a balcony overlooking the canal and was a big size.
Eating wise the menu was slightly limited and quite overpriced but it's so close to a great square with restaurants and bars that we wanted to get out.
Really would recommend this hotel if you're looking for something a bit special.

Room Tip: ask for a canal view room
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American-Management, Manager at American Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review posting. We are happy that you had an excellent stay. With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is the second time we stay in the american hotel. I have to say I regretted. The first time we had canal views and a balcony. This time was a small and creaky room. The noise on the floors were very loud and I can even hear our neighbors' floor. The carpet is old, the bathroom needs to be updated and the internet is veryyy slow. The housekeeper did an excellent job and the front desk people were grumpy.
The hotel is well located close to everything. Theare trams that take you to central sration 1 2 and 5 in 7 minutes, next time I will check hotels around this neighborhood

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slavica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American-Management, Manager at American Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and review posting. Carpet and internet are topics that we are working on currently. Some floors can indeed be squeeky. That is almost unavoidable in a 110-year old monumental building, What should be avoided is non-smiling staff, it has our direct attention. We can guarantee balcony/canal view rooms at a fixed fee. We hope you will consider us after all for a future occaison having read this reply. With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located within easy walk of the museums and Leidse Square which is a great buzzy area of restaurants.

The journal from Central Station was very simple with most of the trams stopping at Leidse Square (just round the corner).

The reception area looks fairly new however the room that we were in was very tired, all of the floorboards creaked (very loudly) and there was an inch and a half space at the bottom of the bathroom door.

Would we stay there again? I'm not sure as it wasn't the cheapest place but we'd had a good recommendation from another friend. I would definitely investigate other places before returning.

Room Tip: We asked for a room at the hotel which meant that we were kept away from any late night noise from Leidse Square, following some other reviews I'd read it was worth it.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeighHappyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American-Management, Manager at American Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review. Please indicate your prefrences for a future stay so we can facilitate you better. The same as we managed this time with your room allocation. With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Perfect location right on Leidseplein ,I loved every minute of my stay , a room with a balcony overlooking the beautiful canal , just soaked up the atmosphere of the place it has real character , the Art Deco it was like been taken back to another time the place was alive , loved the Theatre Restaurant great food pleasant staff , the hotel is not perfect but that's why I loved it so much I felt part of the furniture i fitted in as I'm not perfect either . This place is an old European Hotel with an awful lot of history and the place breathes it , worth the admission fee what ever it is per night , just booked it again Aug 3 to 17 2013 .

Room Tip: Get a room with a Balcony overlooking the canal .
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American-Management, Manager at American Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your review posting. Nice to know that you appreciate the character of the hotel and it's history. We look forward to welcome you back in August.

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Good location, about half an hour walk from the Train Station or a few minutes on the tram. Right on the Leidesplein so plenty of bars and restaurants (and coffee shops). Nice cocktails - but pricey at about 13 euros - and the hotel was clean and tidy. Rooms are fine - nothing fancy - but exactly what you need for a couple of nights in Amsterdam. Recptionists are smart and polite,

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American-Management, Manager at American Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay and your review posting. We hope to see you again soon.

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews